We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scotline Tours

Open today: 07:30 - 17:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Thoroughly enjoyable

Spent the day touring The Trossachs and beyond,reaching Inverness and return to Edinburgh Our guide... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wileyfox2627
,
Callander, United Kingdom
via mobile
Long day on the bus!

We wanted to see the Scottish Highlands and knew this would be a long day. Our coach driver Ian... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nova888
,
Sunapee, New Hampshire
via mobile
Read all 260 reviews
160
All photos (160)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good18%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“urquhart castle”(19 reviews)
“loch ness”(93 reviews)
“glen coe”(14 reviews)
About
Scotline Tours invites you to have an unforgettable experience discovering a country full of fascinating history, culture and legends. Our Award Winning tours will take you through some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, accompanied by...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 07:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
87 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Old Town
Website
+44 131 557 0162
Call
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
114
36
26
19
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
114
36
26
19
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews urquhart castle loch ness glen coe tour guide boat cruise food stops smaller bus booked this tour perfect weather long tour hour trip scottish music interesting stories scottish countryside excellent driver wealth of knowledge entire tour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent the day touring The Trossachs and beyond,reaching Inverness and return to Edinburgh Our guide for the day was Peter and his font of Scottish history knowledge didn't disappoint.We start with a visit to Kilmahog and the home of Hamish Dubh,Honey and baby Hazel the...More

Thank wileyfox2627
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Loch Ness tour and Peter’s wide knowledge about Scotland's history and culture so much. Thanks also for the clear description of the different stops. We are glad you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to see the Scottish Highlands and knew this would be a long day. Our coach driver Ian was such a great guy. He was so knowledgeable about Scottish history and geography and tried to stop at extra sites. We paid extra to see...More

Thank Nova888
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that Ian took good care of you throughout they day and you found him helpful and welcoming. He is a great guide so we appreciate your nice words about him. We would love to schedule more stops and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took 3 day tour on September 3rd from Edinburgh. Ian was our driver and tour guide on first day. When he stopped for breakfast at one restaurant, I went to toilet and then to coffee shop. Suddenly realised left my wallet hanging on toilet...More

Thank Tpete10
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much about your nice feedback. We are very happy Ian helped you solve the problem with your mobile phone and you could enjoy the tour after getting it back. We really appreciate you highlight how attentive and thoughtful Ian is. We hope...More

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This was the worst tour we did in our holiday. The stops were one worst than the other. There wasn't much to do in any of them. Only a restaurant and a giftshop. To visit the castle you also have to pay extra (keep in...More

Thank Marcos C
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Loch Ness tour. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour. Given your perceived poor experience we are surprised to not have heard from you directly. Our first stop allows the chance to...More

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We didn’t stop in all the stops advertised. To see the castle, you had to pay extra, if not, you could not even leave the bus to take a picture. The ones that paid extra (19 pounds), could see the castle and do the cruise....More

3  Thank Safari813316
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your review and sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour. Unfortunately due to lack of space we are unable to park at Urquhart Castle, the coach parking spaces here being reserved for other groups. The alternative stop offers an easy...More

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Well, if this is what you consider getting to know something, you will like the tour. Considering it was not that expensive (44£ per adult), it wasn’t so bad. Our guide, Peter, who was also the bus driver, kept telling a lot about Scotland’s history,...More

1  Thank Carol_Fal
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour. Taking into account the distance to Loch Ness from our start point, Edinburgh, the tour has to last 12 hours if passengers want to spend some time...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018

This is a long tour on a bus (12 hours), but they pack in a LOT!!! Pay for the extra for the Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness tour. We really enjoyed those extra excursions. Peter was our tour guide. He was a walking encyclopedia! From...More

1  Thank Alisa C
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, Alisa. We're delighted you enjoyed the tour so much and found Peter welcoming and knowledgeable. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

I loved everything about this tour. It was 12 hours all but still was disappointed when it finished. Peter our tour guide was a mobile Wikipedia...historian. I loved listening to all of his stories about this beautiful land. Great sense of humour. Breaktaking sceneries. Very...More

Thank hodijoon
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you very much for your nice words. We are very happy to hear that Peter made your day and you enjoyed his deep knowledge about Scotland so much. We look forward to welcoming you on any other tour on future occasions!

Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We did a trip to Lindisfarne, Bamburgh and Alnwick Castle. We chose Scotline because they seemed to be the only ones who went to Bamburgh. Couldn't fault it. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave a great history of not just the tour's stops but...More

Thank hawkridge1
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a nice review. We're delighted you enjoyed the tour so much and found our guide Andrew welcoming and knowledgeable. We'll certainly pass on your comments to Andrew and let him know how much you...More

Reviewed 21 July 2018

We booked a day tour and it was great! The driver was the typical funny Scottish guy we had hoped for and he told us so many stories about Scotland that it never got boring while we were on the bus. I am glad we...More

Thank Liesi M
ScotlineTours, Manager at Scotline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you very much for your nice feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Scottish humour of our guide and you had a great day. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 nearby hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
1,829 reviews
.05 miles away
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
4,784 reviews
.05 miles away
The Inn on the Mile
1,378 reviews
.06 miles away
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
1,233 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,774 nearby restaurants
Hewat's on the Mile
359 reviews
.03 miles away
La Garrigue
1,059 reviews
.06 miles away
The World's End
2,213 reviews
.06 miles away
The Royal Mile Tavern
1,241 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,266 nearby attractions
Museum of Childhood
1,112 reviews
.01 miles away
John Knox House Museum
198 reviews
.04 miles away
Scottish Storytelling Centre
89 reviews
.04 miles away
Urbane Art Gallery
10 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Denise G
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Aileen G | Reviewed this property |
We stayed in an apartment for a week so that is not within my experience. There are Premier Inns and Travelodges in Edinburgh as well as other more expensive places. Try the VisitScotland website.
1
Vote