We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke's St Andrews

Craigtoun, St Andrews KY16 8NS, Scotland
+44 1334 474371
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic experience...excellent golf lesson

A group of my girlfriends and I spent a wonderful Saturday afternoon at The dukes Course in St... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
scottishtravellers2
,
scotland
Disappointing day out

No complaints about the condition of the course, given the time of year. We played using Scottish... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mike B
via mobile
Read all 129 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Duke's, owned and managed by the Old Course Hotel, is a lush, heathland golf course perched on the hillside just a few minutes from the hotel. Noted in Golf World's Top 100 Courses in the Scotland, this championship 18-hole course has magnificent greens, beautiful fairways, a fleet of electric golf buggies and five tees on every hole, making it most appealing to golfers of all abilities. Don't forget to visit The Duke's Clubhouse, a popular and relaxed dining venue with stunning views of St Andrews and beyond. The award-winning Duke’s Clubhouse offers a hearty selection of traditional food to warm the cockles of any weary golfer’s heart - tune in to the post-golfing analysis over a pint of beer or head on to the deck and catch a few rays of sun with a gin and tonic in hand.
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pro shop” (12 reviews)
“golf course” (15 reviews)
LOCATION
Craigtoun, St Andrews KY16 8NS, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1334 474371

Similar Things to Do in St Andrews

Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

A group of my girlfriends and I spent a wonderful Saturday afternoon at The dukes Course in St Andrews. We were driven there and back from The Old Course Hotel in the courtesy mini bus. There were 7 ladies who and we had arranged a...More

Thank scottishtravellers2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No complaints about the condition of the course, given the time of year. We played using Scottish Golf Show vouchers, after numerous unsuccessful attempts to book earlier in the year. However, buggy hire is a rip-off, given the £40 charge and the requirement to remain...More

Thank Mike B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not true this place. The club swindled us. Without our permission, the "club" changed our tee time from mid-day to late afternoon. Since we were prepaid, and it was too late to go elsewhere, we were at the mercy of the "club." Since we...More

Thank Pegtrav
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent course and in great condition for November. Greens are really fast. Staff were friendly. Great day out.

Thank cb_no3
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Played here last week on the Bunkered deal, thanks to trip advisor we were aware of the extra packages that needed to be purchased but wary of the food given recent reviews. We shouldn’t have been. On arrival staff were great, pointed out the extras...More

Thank Steven R
Reviewed 14 October 2017

If the last couple of reviews are to go off believe me they don't know nothing about golf.The course was in excellent condition considering it's been hammered with rain over the last couple of weeks.great location,great clubhouse,bacon sarnies were great and the coffee was hot...More

Thank Joanne B
Reviewed 28 September 2017

As a group we have used the Bunkered vouchers on many courses in Scotland. On Tuesday we visited the Dukes course in St Andrews and like other reviews recently we very disappointed with the deal we received. We had been warned by other golfers and...More

4  Thank Barmy69
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Course was in very poor condition when I played. Very wet and covered in sand on the fairways and greens and also quite untidy which is suprising in mid September The New course which we played the previous day was in perfect condition. Play that...More

Thank Alan S
Lee S, Director of Golf at The Duke's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Alan S, Thank you for your honest feedback on your experiences at The Duke's. I completely agree, that the course was very damp for a day or two after the very poor weather we had earlier this month. Unlike links golf courses, the earthy...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

We took advantage of the Bunkered Magazine offer of "Play The Dukes for £10", which we thought was a great deal. We arrived and as well as our £10 we had to take one of the additional compulsory packages which was a surprise. To be...More

Thank Catriona R
Lee S, Director of Golf at The Duke's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Catriona R, Thank you for leaving such valuable feedback on this site. I was very disappointed with the care you received and the quality of food provided. This type of thing is very unusual and so I have already invited our F&B Manager to...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Lovely location poor food and unhelpful staff arrived with a deal from bunkered mag have did various great golf clubs paid for a package that included range balls at the time of paying they new it would be closed for the four of us the...More

Thank johnmac072
Lee S, Director of Golf at The Duke's St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear johnmac072, Thank you for leaving such valuable feedback on this site. I was pleased you enjoyed the location and course, but I was very disappointed with the care you received. This type of feedback is most uncommon and so I will certainly be addressing...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Playfair's Restaurant
825 reviews
.44 miles away
Balgove Larder
1,129 reviews
.47 miles away
The Seafood Ristorante
1,114 reviews
.44 miles away
The Jigger Inn
328 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Swilcan Bridge
592 reviews
.19 miles away
St Andrews West Sands Beach
542 reviews
.32 miles away
British Golf Museum
284 reviews
.37 miles away
St Andrews Aquarium
430 reviews
.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Duke's St Andrews staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit