We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Pollok House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Pollok Country Park 2060 Pollokshaws Road | 2060 Pollokshaws Road, Glasgow G43 1AT, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 141 616 6410
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 247 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 99
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 36
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Good Visit

Nice surroundings. Gardens would be nice in full bloom. Be aware that although the national trust has this open for tours the upper floor is closed to the public. As it was... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
B C
,
Calgary, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were visiting Pollok park (2 adults, 3 children who were 5 and under) and Pollok House was the only place available for lunch. Overall, for the adults, the soup and sandwich was very tasty, however the service was very poor. It took a long time to be served, longer for the meal to come, the wrong soup was brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
Karen C, Manager at Pollok House, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the café at Pollok House. I am disappointed to hear that you did not receive good customer service and I will raise this with the Catering team. Would you be able to send me an email with the date of your visit so I am able to talk to... More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Pollok Park on probably the last and best autumnal weekend when tree colours were at their best. The fallen leaves made a great treat for kids and the photographic opportunities were endless. We finished off with a meal in the restaurant which was excellent and a visit to the gift shop. Unfortunately we didn't mange to see round... More 

Helpful?
Thank william m
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice surroundings. Gardens would be nice in full bloom. Be aware that although the national trust has this open for tours the upper floor is closed to the public. As it was explained to us by the tour operator that the upper floor is reserved for the private owner when they visit. As is the case in many places found... More 

Helpful?
Thank B C
Johnson City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
596 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Will have to return here for a proper inside visit as there was a Chinese/Scottish wedding going on when I visited !!

Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The parkland is beautiful.... The house inside looks slightly sad. The lighting needs to be seriously improved to show things off to their best. One or two rooms were unlit and drab. The dust was piling up in places too. Central too lights do nothing for rooms. The guides were helpful and friendly. The place itself needs some TLC... It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Austin L
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

We loved this place even though they are renovating it right now and it was not open. We still walked around the property and explored the gardens and trails. Even said hello to the Clydesdale horses in the stables. :)

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

We're National Trust members so it was another house to visit for free but I'm not sure I would of paid the entry fee if I was not a member. The house was nice from the outside and we could walk around the grounds for free. We went in the house and it smelled heavily of stew or soup which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Love this place. Frozen in time. Great day for the whole family to enjoy. Educational for younger children with a vision into the past.

Helpful?
Thank k80swn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

After a nice walk in pollock park in very wet weather ; We had a nice lunch . Soup and sandwiches and tart . All very reasonable . They were able to cope with making me a skinny latte which not all traditional cafes do . Staff were friendly and efficient despite the place being full.

Helpful?
Thank Saiedp
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

Pollock House is in a beautifully setting. At the time of our visit the house was clad in scaffolding due to extensive repairs due to be finished later this year. This meant that some parts of the building were out of bounds and some views from windows were blocked or obscured by the scaffolding. This isn't the reason for saying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bridstow

Travellers who viewed Pollok House also viewed

 

Been to Pollok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pollok House and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pollok House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?