We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waverley Excursions

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Lovely day out

Been on the waverley paddle steamer twice now, first from largs to tighnabruaich then largs to... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2018
kim-ber-ley5288
,
Irvine, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Last Seagoing Paddle Steamer in the World!

So don't expect it to be like a Caribbean Cruise! We went from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight. It... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2018
Ashsaw
,
Surrey, United Kingdom
Read all 802 reviews
467
All photos (467)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good21%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“engine room”(107 reviews)
“paddle steamer”(157 reviews)
“steamers”(81 reviews)
About
Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world. Offering Day, Afternoon and Evening Cruises from a port near you! Enjoy unrivalled access to Britain's Coasts, Rivers and Islands.Magnificently restored with towering funnels, timber decks...more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
50 Pacific Quay | Glasgow Science Centre, Govan, Glasgow G51 1EA, Scotland
Website
+44 141 243 2224
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Glasgow
from US$156.68
More Info
from US$293.78
More Info
from US$317.28
More Info
from US$40.48
More Info
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
364
173
85
56
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
364
173
85
56
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room paddle steamer steamers bristol channel tower pier dining saloon ailsa craig firth of clyde beautiful vessel day cruise set sail sea conditions steam ship loch fyne isle of arran lovely trip the upper deck
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

Been on the waverley paddle steamer twice now, first from largs to tighnabruaich then largs to tarbet. It was a lovely sailing but a little chilly. Food on board is quite pricey so i would suggest taking a packed lunch and a blanket if you...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank kim-ber-ley5288
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

We had another great trip out on the Waverley, starting from Tower Pier in London. After stopping at Gravesend, during the trip down the river Thames, we decided to get off at Southend for a couple of pints. You get a couple of hours here,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Carper-Mark
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks for your 5 star review! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable trip aboard Waverley for a cruise from London Tower Pier to visit Southend. We are also pleased to note that this is your 3rd trip aboard Waverley! We thank...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018

The Waverley is a very interesting Paddle Steamer but the excitement of travelling abroad this vessel, is lost because they take too many passengers to make the trip pleasurable. If it is a dry day, there is the possibility of some of the many passengers...More

Date of experience: September 2018
8  Thank Christine C
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Paddle Steamer Waverley. Waverley has a seating capacity of over 860. You don’t advise the date you travelled, therefore we cannot confirm the exact number of passengers who travelled on this particular date. Due to the inclement...More

Reviewed 2 November 2018

So don't expect it to be like a Caribbean Cruise! We went from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight. It was supposed to dock in Yarmouth but couldn't because of the tide - which was a disappointment for those in the queue on the pier...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Ashsaw
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a 4 star experience on board Waverley. We note that you took advantage of the Senior Citizen Special offer of Buy One ticket and get One Half Price. This is a popular excursion...More

Reviewed 25 October 2018

Beautifull relaxing boat trip,as it was the last trip of the season we returned to the pier to a piper playing.lovely touch,an enjoyable afternoon..More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank AG32013
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a beautiful and relaxing trip aboard Waverley. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and we are pleased to note you had a enjoyable afternoon aboard the last seagoing Paddle Steamer in the...More

Reviewed 23 October 2018

BE WARNED! We originally booked for September 2017 to travel on a Yarmouth IW to Swanage trip, but the day before the visit due to the weather they advised this trip was a no-go and instead changed it to Portsmouth Harbour. We live 4 miles...More

Date of experience: September 2018
8  Thank Michaela W
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel aboard Waverley this year due to weather conditions. We note that you booked a trip in 2017 which was amended due to weather conditions. All Waverley’s sailings are subject to...More

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Beware, this is a fair weather excursion only. The ship only has enough seating for half of the passengers indoors and half the passengers being outside on deck. If it is raining the only choice for half of the passengers is to get wet outdoors,...More

Date of experience: October 2018
10  Thank Byron H
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your trip aboard Waverley did not meet your expectations. Waverley has a seating capacity of over 860. Due to the inclement weather on the day you travelled, we are aware that when the rain started...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Absolutely terrible. Save your hard earned money and spend it on something else. They Took our money and wont refund us although they cancelled the trip twice now for 2 Years running! Rude staff! Rude customer service. Changed embarkation point without letting us know. Left...More

Date of experience: October 2018
10  Thank CaptainFishcake
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel aboard Waverley due to weather conditions. We note that you booked a trip in 2017 which was amended due to weather conditions. Coaches were arranged from Southend for the short...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

Although weather was terrible, very windy and wet - we had a great time. Commentary while we sailed was really interesting. Engine room was amazing. Home made soup was tasty and coffee and cakes were nice. All the staff were so helpful. The guy in...More

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank NorthStar820633
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks for your 5 star review of your trip aboard Waverley. We appreciate your positive feedback on the commentary, engine room, Catering facilities and the crew serving on board. We thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you aboard again for...More

Reviewed 11 October 2018

If you check my profile, you will note that most of my reviews are positive. I am really sad having to write a negative review, but it is with regret I have no option. This company refuses to refund us nearly £300 after they cancelled...More

Date of experience: September 2018
13  Thank Peter G
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel aboard Waverley due to weather conditions. We note that you booked a trip in 2017 which was amended due to weather conditions. Coaches were arranged from Southend for the short...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 95 nearby hotels
Village Hotel Glasgow
3,759 reviews
.22 miles away
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
2,450 reviews
.28 miles away
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
2,653 reviews
.34 miles away
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1,115 reviews
.51 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,747 nearby restaurants
La Rotunda Casa Italiana
827 reviews
.50 miles away
Crown Plaza Glasgow
353 reviews
.34 miles away
GoGrill
47 reviews
.51 miles away
Big Feed Street Food Social
47 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 831 nearby attractions
The Clydeside Distillery
359 reviews
.48 miles away
Ibrox Stadium
707 reviews
.59 miles away
Glasgow Science Centre
2,420 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ElizabethL2199
7 February 2019|
Answer
Response from AG32013 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Elizabeth.did not see any dogs on board the Waverley,you could ring there office and ask them,sorry not to be able to help, best wishes Anne.
0
Votes
Una D
12 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from buckfast39 | Reviewed this property |
ALLOW ABOUT £0 TO £40 each depending on length of trip. The best value one is probably to Tarbert in Argyle of Brodick on Arran, Fares should be avaible mid February.
0
Votes
CaptainFishcake
26 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from CaptainFishcake | Reviewed this property |
I will set up a FB page or email I thought about approaching Fake Britain or Watchdog How can they get away with this Safety is paramount!
2
Votes