We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Waverley Excursions

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 50 Pacific Quay | Glasgow Science Centre, Govan, Glasgow G51 1EA, Scotland
Phone Number: 0141 204 4400
Website
Sunday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world. Offering Day,...

Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world. Offering Day, Afternoon and Evening Cruises from a port near you! Enjoy unrivalled access to Britain's Coasts, Rivers and Islands.Magnificently restored with towering funnels, timber decks, gleaming varnish and brass. See and hear the mighty engines - they will provide a whiff of nostalgia for some but are sure to impress all!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 569 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 273
    Excellent
  • 123
    Very good
  • 58
    Average
  • 41
    Poor
  • 71
    Terrible
Enjoyable Trip

Enjoyable trip from a bygone era on the Waverley from Largs to Rothesay. The boat and its exposed engine are very interesting. Facilities basic and it did break down before... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 October 2016
McJameos
,
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 566: English reviews
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How could you fail to enjoy the nostalgia of taking a trip on the worlds last sea going Paddle Steamer . A trip on this ship comes highly recommended and although she operates in somewhat onerous circumstances she never fails to please young and old alike . Now in her 70th Year of which 40 have been in Preservation she... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank graemealexander2016
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for playing your part in preserving Waverley for future generations to enjoy. We appreciate your recommendation to others to take a trip on Waverley and look forward to welcoming you on board in 2017, when Waverley will mark the 70th anniversary of her first sailing in 1947. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

The steamer was booked to leave Whistable at 17:15 hours, however, we were very disappointed to find that we had to leave the steamer at approximately 18:50 hours. We had booked a fish and chip meal for the both of us at 18:30 hours in the restaurant. Unfortunately, it was cold and the fish was very below standard, even if... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank Alison C
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise for the delay in making announcements on this day. Due to the late running of the ship that evening passengers were advised via announcements they could disembark at Southend and return to London by train, which they would be reimbursed for and many chose this option. We are... More 

Surrey, U.K.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

We too were on the ill-fated trip to Whitstable from Tower Pier a couple of weeks ago. Like other reviewers we loved the Waverley itself and the first half of the trip was a fantastic experience that in itself would merit 5 stars. The visit to Whitstable was lovely though somewhat short - I am not sure why the boat... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Beachhut45
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise for the delay in making announcements on this day. Due to the late running of the ship that evening passengers were advised via announcements on the return journey they could disembark at Southend and return to London by train, which they would be reimbursed for and many chose... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

I took my 7 year old nephew on this trip and paid full price for him. On the outgoing trip the comfortable undercover seating was vastly overcrowded and there was only one person serving drinks/coffees so the queue was at least 15 people deep for the first leg. On the return journey we were delayed for three hours because of... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank tericollins
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Unfortunately resources were stretched during our peak season and it took longer than average to respond to all customer feedback. We truly apologise for this and trust you have now received your response. We are sorry the trip did not meet your expectations and that it was too busy for... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Great trip to Whitstable and would have scored excellent without engine problem. OK it is ahold boat and things happen. With the practice they have with breakdowns one would think the trick is to keep passengers informed. No tannoy for over an hour. Only when it was too late were we told arrival at London would be after last train... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Mark H
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise for the delay in making announcements on this day. Due to the late running of the ship that evening passengers were advised via announcements on the return journey they could disembark at Southend and return to London by train, which they would be reimbursed for and many chose... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Enjoyable trip from a bygone era on the Waverley from Largs to Rothesay. The boat and its exposed engine are very interesting. Facilities basic and it did break down before arriving in Largs meaning the timetable was changed. However we were told this before we go on board and at the end of the day it’s a 70 year old... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank McJameos
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable trip aboard Waverley and found the ship and engines interesting. Thank you for playing your part in preserving Waverley for future generations to enjoy. We hope to welcome you aboard Waverley again in the future. More 

Brentwood, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Yes- overcrowded, surly staff, cold and unreliable ... ... But! I was spellbound by the steam engine, captivated by the spirit of adventure and completely smitten by how 'out of place' this mode of travel seems in a modern age . We took our two small children to see their nana in Whitstable . What started out as barely time... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5WW
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your nostalgic trip and time at Whitstable. Thank you for playing your part in preserving Waverley for future generations to enjoy. We hope to welcome you aboard Waverley again in the future. More 

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Joined Waverley at Gravesend. 7th Oct, on arrival ship had a full deck of passengers who had come up from Southend, sitting was very limited, decks were crowded if it had rained it would have been impossible to accommodate any more down below. Then when seeking a meal found restaurant closed with a sign stating reserved for group. Asked how... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank FrankA09
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I can confirm there were 712 passengers on board on this date and there is seating located throughout the ship for 925 passengers. The dining saloon can get very busy and all passengers do receive an email in advance with information on how you can make a table reservation and... More 

Bracknell Englan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

We did a coach trip to pick the ship up at London tower bridge. Far too many people on the ship. It felt uncomfortably full and the weather was bad so everyone sat inside and not enough seats, I hope there were enough life jackets. Didn't hear any safety announcements. Lunch was very crowded, not at all a special experience.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Rencat22
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you do not state which date you travelled I am unable to confirm how many passengers were on board. I can confirm there are life jackets for all passengers and seating located throughout the ship for 925 passengers. We are sorry to note your disappointment and that the sailing... More 

Greatstone-on-Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Brust my bubble. When You use a wheelchair not all areas are accessible I am happy with that. In this case prior to booking I viewed website, reviews, ships information and plans etc, at great length and great care to help me, to help myself to board this vintage ship. Waiting in the queue with my family in my standard... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Elizabeth J
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are truly sorry to note you were not able to take the trip and the miscommunication regarding this. Unfortunately the pier you were boarding from is not suitable for our wider gangway and we have now updated our website to reflect this. Any unused tickets have to be returned... More 

Travellers who viewed Waverley Excursions also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Waverley Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Waverley Excursions and other visitors
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Excursions staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?