We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Caley Cruisers
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
118Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Deochandorris wrote a review Apr 2021
Montrose, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Have holidayed with Caley Cruisers each year for several years and they have been great. This year however we have been let down with a last minute cancellation by e mail for our booking in the second week in May. We were advised it was due to a licensing issue and cookers were needing to be changed. Surely all this could have been sorted out pre season even in these COViD times! Very disappointing. We have moved our booking to next year in the hope that the service returns to the standards previously provided rather than poorly planned maintenance resulting in cancellation of booking!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey R, Manager at Caley Cruisers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Deochandorris, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced. Due members of our staff having to self isolate we were unable to complete the necessary work on time to receive the required licenses. Our team worked extremely hard to try and catch up however we were just unable to make the deadlines. All the staff look forward to welcoming you on your new date. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Division Manager
Read more
Carl Bourne wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had two brilliant holidays with Caley Cruisers but have just had our late May/early June booking cancelled by email at too short notice to arrange an alternative. Only explanation was it was down to a technical licensing issue. Really disappointed, expected better.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey R, Manager at Caley Cruisers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CarlBourne, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced. Due members of our staff having to self isolate we were unable to complete the necessary work on time to receive the required licensing. Our team worked extremely hard to try and catch up however we were just unable to make the deadlines. We do still have limited availability this year, if you would like me to check dates for you please contact me on lindsey@caleycruisers.com. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome at some point in the future. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Division Manager
Read more
William B wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just spent a week on Eriskay 4 from 16th October to 23rd October. The handover and induction before the trip was excellent. Before arriving we had a number of questions, the staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the canal. The induction installed confidence being newbies from safety to manoeuvring the boat. The Eriskay was well equipped, comfortable and most important during this covid time extremely clean. The boat was spotless. The heating system is excellent on the boat especially if moored overnight at a power supply so you could leave it on overnight. It is worth noting to request extra duvet if travelling in winter months as it does get cold in the evening without power supply being available. The Canal itself is beautiful, you can make up your own iternary but this is what we did; We left Caley Cruisers at 1pm we then travelled to Fort Augustus where we spent an overnight. Fort Augustus is a lovely village with shops and restaurants and good walks for the dog. The second day we travelled to Fort William. Due to covid you need to be at Fort Augustus by 8am as this is the only time to get through the locks. We aimed to do the full trip in two days so that we could casually make our way back. The third day we left Fort William and spent a overnight at Laggan Avenue, beautiful stop with excellent walks. From Laggan Avenue we visited invergarry castle and spent an overnight at Kytra Lock. Another lovely location, quiet and surrounded by a beautiful landscape. From Kytra we went back onto Loch Ness spending an evening at Urquart Bay. To get into the village you need to walk beside a very busy A82 , the village itself had loads of amenities. Probably our least enjoyable place we moored up due to having limited walks for the dog. From Kytra we visited Foyers, a bit of a steep walk but rewarded with a beautiful waterfall and lovely cafe. Well worth a visit. It can get really choppy here so make sure fenders are out and boat is tied securely. We then spent an overnight at dochgarroch locks rather than returning to Caley Cruisers. Overall the caledonian canal is beautiful ensure to take a camera as they are a picture at every turn. The lock keepers were extremely helpful and friendly. They are there to do a job and keep people safe as you travel through the canal so if they advice you to do something do it. I would say you probably need two reasonable fit people especially going through Fort Augustus. The locks themselves are very easy to maneouvre we were concerned but you learn and the lock keepers will keep you right. For us it took a bit of time to ensure the knot was correct when mooring overnight but it comes natural after the first couple of nights. The fuel cost is not added to the cost of the boat for us it was just over £100 pretty reasonable considering travelled around Loch Ness a few times. I would highly recommend Caley Cruisers the service we received was excellent have a great holiday. We have a wee video of the trip on YouTube if you want to see the boat and places we visited
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CaleyCruisers, Manager at Caley Cruisers
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Thank you very much for your great review, we’re so pleased you enjoyed your recent trip with us. Your detailed itinerary is fantastic and really helpful to anyone planning a holiday on the Caledonian Canal, October is a wonderful time to explore the Glen and there are indeed plenty of nice walks to enjoy. The perfect reflections and vibrant colours of the trees are particularly stunning in the Autumn months. It’s so nice to know the team on the canal were helpful too, it always makes such a difference. We look forward to watching your YouTube film and to maybe seeing you again sometime. Best wishes from everyone at Caley.
Read more
Gordon M wrote a review Oct 2020
Thurso14 contributions11 helpful votes
We had a fantastic week on the Strathspey vessel in mid September and highly recommend Caley Cruisers. We shall certainly be hiring a Caley Cruisers vessel again. The service and information which we received from Caley was excellent. We found the lock-keepers very helpful and friendly and we fully appreciated that they were working under quite a bit of pressure as their numbers have been cut this year due to Covid and they are being very flexible and working between various locks each day. Our vessel was spotless and extremely well laid out and kitted-out with everything that we needed and we were given an excellent demonstration of the vessel prior to starting off. Full marks to Caley Cruisers and the lock keepers and we look forward to returning in the future.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CaleyCruisers, Manager at Caley Cruisers
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your recent trip with us on Strathspey. It’s great to know the lock keepers were friendly and helpful along the way, it’s been a very challenging time for everyone recently and we’ve all had to adapt to new ways of working so it’s nice to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Best wishes from everyone at Caley.
Read more
janetodd47 LP wrote a review Oct 2020
Selkirk, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
Just returned from a brilliant trip on the Caledonian Canal. We were really impressed with Caley Cruisers and would thoroughly recommend them. They were so friendly and professional, from the initial booking all the way through to handing our lovely cruiser back at the end of the week.....our every need was met The information and safety videos provided beforehand were very helpful and reassuring, particularly as some of us were enthusiastic novices!! Even the additional precautions due to coronovirus were well communicated and again, reassuring. Our boat was stunning, fitted out to a high standard and the contents carefully thought out to ensure a pleasurable time. We were able to cook several meals on board for the four of us with no difficulty. Ample storage space too! We were very lucky with the weather......only one full day of rain.....and even that didn't spoil our trip. The scenery was beautiful and you get an entirely different perspective on water. We had been a little bit nervous about going through the various locks but every lock keeper we met was friendly and more than willing to assist when needed and give tips to help the 'locking process' An unforgettable experience!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CaleyCruisers, Manager at Caley Cruisers
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your very kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your trip with us on Kintail IV. It’s been a very difficult time for everyone recently, adapting to a new way of doing things, so it’s always nice to know when our customers are happy with the changes we’ve had to make. It’s lovely having some sunshine too and delighted the lock keepers were helpful along the way. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Best wishes from everyone at Caley.
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Inverness
from US$25.80
More Info
from US$86.02
More Info
from US$93.18
More Info
from US$74.55
More Info