We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Granite House

74 High Street, Fort William PH33 6AD, Scotland
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Marvellous service

I ordered some lovely artificial flowers online but on delivery one was missing . I called the shop... read more

Reviewed 13 May 2018
Margaret M
,
Isle of Scalpay, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great selection, poor service

Very happy with what I purchased from this shop. However whilst being served the lady at the till... read more

Reviewed 16 November 2017
Kate S
Read all 23 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
13 May 2018
“Marvellous service”
27 Aug 2017
“Used to be better”
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
74 High Street, Fort William PH33 6AD, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

I ordered some lovely artificial flowers online but on delivery one was missing . I called the shop and got the lovely sales assistant I had ordered from who was extremely apologetic , she posted out the missing stem which I received the next day...More

Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thanks for the great review !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Very happy with what I purchased from this shop. However whilst being served the lady at the till continued a conversation with a colleague from afar, while her colleague moved around the shop, and only stopped when her colleague disappeared back upstairs. The lady serving...More

Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Hi Kate I'm sorry to hear that our service was not up to our usual standards at the time of your visit. We do try to be customer focused, but it does sound like you were not getting the attention that every customer is right...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

This is my first time reviewing a shop, so I don't really know the criteria. We came here last Sunday and it wasn't too busy. Unfortunately, upstairs was closed for some reason. We bought some oven gloves which cost us £24. The staff were friendly....More

1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for your kind review, and apologies for not having the whole shop open that day. We had a slight staffing crisis !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

My wife and I have visited the Granite House and made numerous purchases for ourselves and friends, however on the 22/08/17 I decided to visit the shop and look for a present for my wife whose birthday was the next day (23/08/17). I purchased a...More

Thank Derek160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

It's never good to upset a customer, but in our defence, our stance of not taking returns on any type of pierced jewellery, as stated on our receipts, is a universal policy adopted by jewellery sellers nationwide. Most customers will take this as reassuring that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Always enjoy having a look round for that special gift staff a helpful and pleasant well done no lift to get up stairs but staff will bring things down for you

1  Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

amazing shop and tourist shop takes a while to go round the shop and the shop assistants very helpful and friendly

1  Thank Davey-R-G-1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks Davey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We went into the Granite House to get an engraving done quickly. The engraver went out of his way to oblige and the cost was very reasonable. All staff were pleasant. Impressive service!

1  Thank look27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

This shop has it all for any tourist to Fortwilliam including great t-shirts and accessories for those who have completed the West Highland Way or climbed Ben Nevis. Quality jewellery, bags and homewares make it a lovely place to get a special treat or gift...More

1  Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Went into Town by Taxi from Caledonian Hotel, Visited The Granite House First, We Go in There every time we are in Fort William, They Have some Gorgeous Gifts at Reasonable Prices Well Worth A Visit.

1  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giftmonger, Owner at The Granite House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks for the great review Margaret !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited this shop over the weekend after seeing an item of interest in the window and we're glad we went in. This shop is crammed full of everything you can imagine from toys to travel and candles to clothes. Downstairs there...More

2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
621 reviews
.04 miles away
Ossian's Hotel
144 reviews
.06 miles away
Highland Hotel
568 reviews
.10 miles away
Imperial Hotel
810 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Geographer
175 reviews
.01 miles away
Crannog Seafood Restaurant
2,260 reviews
.08 miles away
Garrison West
242 reviews
.08 miles away
Macari's Fish and Chip Shop
207 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
West Highland Museum
846 reviews
.09 miles away
Jacobite Steam Train
3,129 reviews
.34 miles away
Saint Andrew's Church
93 reviews
.18 miles away
Fort William VisitScotland iCentre
175 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Granite House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit