We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre

Grand Canal Quay, Dublin D2, Ireland
+353 1 868 0148
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic night at Waterways Ireland on Culture Night

We had a marvellous time here on Culture night. We found the staff amazingly friendly and... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2014
Una H
Great walking tour with Joseph Lynch at Waterways Ireland

The Grand Canal Dock walking tour during Heritage Week was absolutely excellent. Guide Joseph Lynch... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2014
Christine071
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Read all 20 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Waterways Ireland owns a multipurpose space in the Dublin Docklands, which operates as a Visitor Centre, and Events Space. Applicants may wish to consider using the venue for exhibitions, displays, launches or press calls.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible20%
26 Sep 2014
“Fantastic night at Waterways Ireland on Culture Night”
7 Sep 2014
“Great walking tour with Joseph Lynch at Waterways Ireland”
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
Grand Canal Quay, Dublin D2, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 1 868 0148
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Dublin
from US$52.50
More Info
from US$29.80
More Info
from US$69.20
More Info
from US$39.07
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2014

We had a marvellous time here on Culture night. We found the staff amazingly friendly and quick-witted and genuinely interested in talking about the role of Waterways Ireland and the History of Waterways in the whole of Ireland. We got a walking tour of the...More

1  Thank Una H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

The Grand Canal Dock walking tour during Heritage Week was absolutely excellent. Guide Joseph Lynch was passionate about the waterways of Ireland, knowledgeable, informative, funny, and didn't mind my many questions. He also had planned the tour extremely well so that each stop had the...More

1  Thank Christine071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

today myself and a few friends took the tour of the grand canal with a great tour guide called Joseph ,he was excellent friendly and so informative, i would highly recommend this tour ot anyone, also the center itself is well worth a visit

1  Thank Cora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent walking tour led by very knowledgeable, welcoming enthusiastic staff. The Docklands, where much of Dublin and Ireland's history converge, is on display in old canal locks and a tour of an old canal boat. The area is now also a window into the future,...More

Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Marc thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We do appreciate the feedback! WI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great walk 'n talk tour of Dublin's fascinating Dockland area by this company. Tour guide (Joseph) very friendly and an absolute mine of information - he went from history, engineering, geography, to leprosy and stories about the people who shaped this part of Dublin. All...More

Thank GeraldineM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Geraldine, thank you so much for taking the time to review out tour. I will be sure to let Joseph know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a gem. Walking on quiet streets.. No buskers, no traffic ! Interesting guides who showed maps and photos of this area.the three locks at the entrance to the grand canal basin are wonderful engineering feats. Misery hill has such history. This was so...More

2  Thank Chenonceau14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Chenonceau14 thank you for such a positive recommendation. Its great to get such good feedback, when we have worked hard to improved our tours. I will make sure the guides get the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Took a group of students on a very well structured trip. It was very appropriate with great links to the curriculum. Very impressed with the two tour guides who were extremely knowledgable and helpful even throwing in some Gaeilge. Children learnt a lot and was...More

Thank shoeaholic1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

That's great feedback which i will pass on to our Education Officer. We have worked to develop school tours specifically tailored to the curriculum for both Northern Ireland and Ireland. Delighted to know its effective and your pupils were engaged!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We took a third class on a school tour. Very enjoyable. Great tour guides and beautiful weather. Most of the time was spent outside learning about canals, rivers places of interest etc.

Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dorothy, I appreciate you taking the time to give feedback. We are developing our Education Programme further and will have other tours in place for next term - please keep us in mind for your next school trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

There are no markings on the building inviting people in, but the entrance is just past the Alto Vetro building (with a barber and The Art of Coffee at street level). We were the only ones inside, but it's a beautiful space on the water...More

Thank Jim_D42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We have a new range of tours for 2014 and are working hard to improve our profile. It did probably mean that you got more attention though - so that's a good thing! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Waterways was really bad trip there was nothing to do but listen to boring man talk about nothing that made no sense. Also its waste of tax payers money

Thank wayne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I am sorry you were disappointed with your trip. Over the winter 2013/2014 we reviewed and updated all our tours and a range of new experiences are now on offer. We would welcome you try out one of the new tours should you wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Dublin
Grand Canal Hotel
1,942 reviews
.11 miles away
Schoolhouse Hotel
1,294 reviews
.13 miles away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
1,533 reviews
.28 miles away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
951 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Paulie's Pizza
511 reviews
.24 miles away
The Restaurant at The Schoolhouse
340 reviews
.14 miles away
Osteria Lucio
261 reviews
.05 miles away
il Valentino
248 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Bath Pub
10 reviews
.33 miles away
Bord Gais Energy Theatre
699 reviews
.34 miles away
Number Twenty Nine, ESB’s Georgian House Museum
349 reviews
.31 miles away
National Print Museum
58 reviews
.34 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit