We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Book In Advance
5
All photos (5)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good11%
  • Average11%
  • Poor22%
  • Terrible11%
21 Oct 2015
“Interesting”
2 Jul 2015
“Charming Castle”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
17°
11°
Jul
17°
11°
Aug
16°
Sep
Contact
Rosscahill, Ireland
Website
+353 91 550 218
Ways to Experience Ross Castle
from US$47.70
More Info
from US$14.30
More Info
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
1
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
3
1
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 21 October 2015

This was not one of the most impressive castles we visited, however it was worth the visit. It is clean and well maintained. Many interesting stories of by gone history of castle, and its owners make for interesting reading. Surrounding grounds are beautiful. Swans and...More

Thank whack4
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

For a castle ruin, this was well worth the fee for the tour. It was a fascinating castle with a tour guide that was so informative. Even my husband, who isn't a great fan of castle touring, enjoyed Ross Castle. My only regret is I'm...More

Thank Kathy L
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We drove by this attraction several times and decided to stop in on one of our last days in Galway. Unfortunately, when we went to the door, there was no one there to give us a tour. However, on our way back to the car,...More

Thank C M
Reviewed 22 November 2012

what was promissed was not available and staff totally ignored attempts to contact them about problems.More

1  Thank 1-Retired_traveler
rossestate, Manager at Ross Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

I find it remarkable that this gentleman, after the litany of complaints posted, finds the property “Beautiful” and the rooms “Gorgeous”. But I find it mystifying that when he came in for “Tea and Tour” which we offer to our guests that he made no...More

Reviewed 23 July 2011

The other reviews talk about the hotel, my review is about the attraction--The Ross Castle. Well, partly. Actually, we didn't get to tour the castle though I wish we would have. We visited with a tour group and came to the castle to take the...More

1  Thank ljgordon
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed in the two cottages and the main house with our large group of 20. Our overall impression is the grounds are magnificent and well kept, with the exception of the tennis court which had so much moss on it it was dangerous to...More

1  Thank advisorgal1
rossestate, Owner at Ross Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Maggie, My husband joins me in offering our sincere regret that all was not to your satisfaction when visiting our property. I had thought you understood that "self catering" meant cooking, cleaning, and providing everything for yourself. Of course it would get messy if...More

Reviewed 10 February 2008

We had a magical time at Ross. It was a unique occasion for all the family (40 members) to get together under one roof in a very special environment. The property was awesome - they had done an incredible job on it. Elizabeth, her daughter...More

1  Thank bobmahoney
Reviewed 15 November 2006

To be honest, we followed the signs from the road, as a detour on our trip between Aughnanure Castle and Kylemore Abbey. It wasn't on the national historic sites map, but we thought we might luck into another grand old castle or ruins. We came...More

5  Thank mcgervey
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ross Castle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines