We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Hen

15 Patrick Street, Limerick, Ireland
+353 61 279 604
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great Food - poor service

Have eaten here a number of times and the tables are never cleared after eating. Have sat with... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Aisling N
via mobile
So surprised... great spot

I’m saying so surprised because from outside The Red Hen looks like a tiny bar... it’s really big... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Eire72
,
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
via mobile
Read all 45 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good42%
  • Average6%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“great bar” (5 reviews)
“chicken wings” (3 reviews)
“great spot” (4 reviews)
LOCATION
15 Patrick Street, Limerick, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 61 279 604
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Limerick
from US$32.10
More Info
from US$46.40
More Info
from US$29.70
More Info
from US$46.40
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great bar"
in 5 reviews
"chicken wings"
in 3 reviews
"great spot"
in 4 reviews
"lovely atmosphere"
in 2 reviews
"rugby"
in 2 reviews
"pub"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have eaten here a number of times and the tables are never cleared after eating. Have sat with dirty plates for an hour + more than three times. Ended up clearing my own table. Food is delicious .More

Thank Aisling N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedHen, Owner at The Red Hen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Aisling, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all criticism, positive or negative as we hope to learn from both. I am sorry you had a bad experience and would hope the next time you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m saying so surprised because from outside The Red Hen looks like a tiny bar... it’s really big inside on a few floors, super cosy with an endless imagination in the decor. Very clean toilets and impression in general . We parked at the shopping...More

Thank Eire72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Tasty pub food with good portions. Great service and good location. Decent menu. Try the chicken gojons, best I've ever had! Prices were good too.

Thank DonnamjCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Fun atmosphere and good music on the playlist. Extensive gin menu, with lots of options. Great place to spend a few hours.

Thank limerick_lady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Visited with my partner and son and was blown away with how amazing the food tastes. All homemade with fresh ingredients. The chicken curry is to die for and the burger was fantastic. Will definitely return and highly recommend.

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Yet another great bar in Limerick. The decor is lovely. Friendly staff. Really nice drinks. Fun place to spend a few hours.

Thank lelfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Good music, a lot of possibilities to take a seat, an area for smokers and a good atmosphere! Don't miss this when you stay in Limerick!

Thank reefsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Funky decor, delicious food, good beer. The service is friendly, but it does seem to be a bit of an afterthought. Once we were waited on and our food was delivered, no one came back to check on us. We had to ask for our...More

Thank suzannegMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

As above Lovely people and food. Easy access - Very important . Great and lively place. Strongly recommended

Thank AnnN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

My husband and I came here while waiting for our room to be ready at the hotel. They were just switching over from breakfast to lunch and we were exhausted. We were served quickly and the food was good. I especially recommend the seafood chowder....More

Thank Ari2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Limerick
The Boutique Hotel
381 reviews
.06 miles away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
623 reviews
.14 miles away
The Savoy Hotel
1,282 reviews
.18 miles away
The George Limerick
1,628 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Chez le Fab
153 reviews
.05 miles away
The Tap House
9 reviews
.06 miles away
papaz bistro
141 reviews
.05 miles away
Hook & Ladder
648 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hunt Museum
608 reviews
.12 miles away
Limerick Museum
38 reviews
.13 miles away
Saint Michael's Church
12 reviews
.06 miles away
Market Quarter
7 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Hen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit