We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferry Meadows Country Park

Ham Lane, Peterborough PE2 5UU, England
+44 1733 234193
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Afternoon Delight

Having lived in the area for over 35 years we have enjoyed this area with our children and now our... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Ajanesteel
,
Peterborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely place for a picnic

This is a very pleasant place to visit with the family for summer picnics or walks in the other... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jessica H
Read all 1,335 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
There is something for everybody at Ferry Meadows. Imagine somewhere beautiful, safe and unspoilt where you can walk, cycle, play, horse-ride, ride a train, go fishing, exercise the dog, jog, push the buggy and explore endless meadows, lakes and woodland all less than three miles from Peterborough's busy city centre. We also offer three play areas catering for different ages and an events programme throughout the year with lots of activities for children. If all of this isn't enough to keep you entertained the Visitor Centre stocks a wide range of toys and games along with gifts, souvenirs and sweet treats. After all this activity you can relax at one of our cafes, find a nice spot for a picnic or fire up on one of our barbecue stands. New for 2014: On 11 April Lakeside at Ferry Meadows will open its doors to Park visitors. Lakeside provides a hub for activity and relaxation within Ferry Meadows as the home for Nene Outdoors, a new watersports and outdoor activity venture and Lakeside Kitchen & Bar, a contemporary dining and function venue. A new and exciting play area is set to open in early April. Aimed at younger children the new Otter playground will provide an exciting play space to explore and enjoy.
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Ham Lane, Peterborough PE2 5UU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1733 234193
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water sports"
in 67 reviews
"watersports centre"
in 24 reviews
"caravan club site"
in 34 reviews
"children's play areas"
in 28 reviews
"dog walking"
in 37 reviews
"lakeside cafe"
in 18 reviews
"fresh air"
in 38 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 43 reviews
"bird watching"
in 23 reviews
"mini train"
in 17 reviews
"small train"
in 14 reviews
"all ages"
in 78 reviews
"feed the ducks"
in 20 reviews
"open space"
in 20 reviews
"lovely place"
in 55 reviews
"nice walk"
in 23 reviews
"lots of space"
in 14 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Having lived in the area for over 35 years we have enjoyed this area with our children and now our grandchild. Plenty of open areas to play games along with several play areas. Benches are sprinkled along the walk ways. A small train runs on...More

Thank Ajanesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very pleasant place to visit with the family for summer picnics or walks in the other seasons. Along by the Staunch off Oundle Rd nearer in to town there are also some lovely walks with bird watching possibilities

Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review and so pleased you love coming to the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

So lucky to have this on our doorstep. Don't like the parking charges though. Cafe at watercenter could be decorated at a higher level but to be able to sit outside when the weather is nice is great. Food acceptable.

Thank beenplaces0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review and glad you love coming to the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If Peterborough were a crown, then this would definitely be the jewel. Left in trust to the people, this is park is appreciated and used by the people in diverse ways. From the high energy ‘Park Run’ on Saturdays to quiet observation in bird hides...More

Thank Ivanobsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your wonderful review and so glad you enjoy coming to Ferry Meadows. You're right - there is something for everyone here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ferry meadows is a lovely place to visit. Lovely walks. Playgrounds for the kids. Cafe. Boat rides. Little train to ride. Lots of fun to be had.

Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you in the Park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love Ferry Meadows campsite, but the wardens the wardens OMG they need a personality transplant. They are rude, bad tempered, lack personal skills and should be removed by the Caravan and Motorhome Club without hesitation.More

Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and what a shame you had such a bad experience at the caravan park. Unfortunately the Ferry Meadows caravan park is run independently from Ferry Meadows Country Park itself and is just one of our tenants. I can pass general...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely day out with our new baby and again had a lovely time together. Lots of people doing the same thing enjoying the sun and relaxing. We had a cup of tea at the cafe next to the playground and very nice...More

4  Thank BiGNaT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review and glad you had a lovely time in the Park despite your experience of the cafe toilets. Unfortunately, the cafe is run independently to Ferry Meadows Country Park itself and so they are just one of our tenants. This means that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place, been there four times, each of the last three years, the staff have transformed this overgrown site in the last 18 months.always there to help.Never had issue with staff, sounds in other comments as some people don't like being told what to do,...More

Thank Alwyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review and so glad you enjoyed being in the Park and noticed all the hard work that is going on by our rangers to improve and develop the Park. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely camp site, clean, well maintained, lots of trees and small areas, giving it a wonderful feel. Toilet block was large and clean. Ferry Meadows country park and the Nene Valley Railway further are alos big plus points for the campsite My...More

1  Thank nceccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Information and Communications at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. The caravan park is run independently to Ferry Meadows Country Park itself and so they are just our tenants. All I can do is pass your thoughts on. Hope you enjoyed being in Ferry Meadows anyway, regardless of your experience...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel nearby and went for a walk, lots to see and do here but as others have said you will be bitten but it’s the time of year and not the fault of park.

1  Thank gerry131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Peterborough
Premier Inn Peterborough (Ferry Meadows) Hotel
382 reviews
.53 miles away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
659 reviews
.82 miles away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
896 reviews
1.15 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
447 reviews
1.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Windmill
631 reviews
.89 miles away
Woodman
398 reviews
.77 miles away
Granary Beefeater
657 reviews
.51 miles away
Lakeside Kitchen and Bar
127 reviews
.44 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Nene Park Park
11 reviews
.14 miles away
The Captain's Folly
18 reviews
.07 miles away
Nene Outdoors
11 reviews
.45 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tinacunnington
15 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from NPTrust | Property representative |
Hi. We don't advise that dogs swim in the lake as we can't be sure what is in the lake. We do occasionally get blue/green algae in the lake which is toxic for dogs. Obviously if your dog goes into the lake then it is at your... More
0
Votes
mickkaren1231
28 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from G H | Reviewed this property |
I’ve not had this issue if it happened I suggest you take a photo of the machine ! I don’t see how this could happen because you pay when you leave as it’s recorded by camera entering and leaving the main car park !
1
Vote
Diana B
20 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from G H | Reviewed this property |
No but you have to pay for parking I believe if you take a car in
0
Votes