We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hawth

The Hawth Theatre & Conference Complex Hawth Avenue, Crawley RH10 6YZ, England
+44 1293 553636
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
I can recommend a children's performance here

I took my 2 yr old grandson to see a production of The Gruffalo. . My grandson, aged 3 yrs really... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ceciliamorrison
,
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Disappointing doesn't begin to describe it,!!!

I can't fault the venue or the parking. Drinks extremely overpriced and the show (The Gruffalos... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lindy S
via mobile
Read all 196 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Hawth is one of the busiest arts venues in the south east. Open all year round the venue presents theatre, west end shows, dance, music, opera, comedy and more. The venue includes a 855 seat Theatre, a 146 seat Studio, a Curzon Cinema and Sway Dance Studio. In the Summer the venue also has a woodland amphitheatre and outdoor marquee in which to present entertainment. Disabled access and performances. Free car parking. Restaurant and bars. Also used for meetings, exhibitions and conferences.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“local theatre” (11 reviews)
“great theatre” (5 reviews)
“pre show” (5 reviews)
LOCATION
The Hawth Theatre & Conference Complex Hawth Avenue, Crawley RH10 6YZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1293 553636
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local theatre"
in 11 reviews
"great theatre"
in 5 reviews
"pre show"
in 5 reviews
"nice venue"
in 4 reviews
"main auditorium"
in 4 reviews
"front row"
in 3 reviews
"small theatre"
in 3 reviews
"moscow city"
in 2 reviews
"dance show"
in 2 reviews
"yesterday evening"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable evening"
in 2 reviews
"community events"
in 2 reviews
"level access"
in 2 reviews
"second half"
in 2 reviews
"london prices"
in 2 reviews
"plenty parking"
in 2 reviews
"rear stalls"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my 2 yr old grandson to see a production of The Gruffalo. . My grandson, aged 3 yrs really enjoyed it and he understood the story throughout. His face and attention span said it all. He was very comfortable sitting on a booster...More

Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHawth, General Manager at The Hawth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your review Cecilia, we're really pleased you (and especially your grandson!) enjoyed your visit to The Hawth and The Gruffalo and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can't fault the venue or the parking. Drinks extremely overpriced and the show (The Gruffalos child) seemed geared to entertain the adults rather than the children. The suspense was ruined by poorly timed annoying jokes and my son who is severely autistic had a...More

Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a show called Showtime. Ticket booking was straight forward and the view of the stage was good. The seats were a little uncomfortable after 2 hours. Pre show food was good and the atmosphere was good. Wouldn’t seek it out as a place to...More

Thank tommo_t1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decent bar downstairs but a limited lager & ale selection on draught, upstairs had no draught beers at all. We only had the one drink before the show and at the interval and there were plenty of staff available. Great show, super vocals at a...More

Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Ok we popped in to ask a couple of questions, you don't girl at desk was not only chatting to a friend but also quite rude. She didn't know anything we asked. I returned later spoke to a older lady much better ty xMore

Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHawth, Manager at The Hawth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

I'm very sorry that we didn't meet either your or our expectations on this occasion. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is disappointing that we let ourselves down and I have spoken to the Box Office manager regarding your comment. However I'm...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

First visit for several years although only live 20 minutes away. Nice modern Theatre with good size free carpark. Staff helpful and the show itself (Illegal Eagles ) was excellent. A good range of entertainment on offer. Will make an effort to see whats on...More

Thank 147ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

A good variety of shows and good views from everywhere in both the main auditorium and the studio. Their pantos are always the best in the area. Could do with a few more ladies loos and some of their shows are a bit pricey

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My partner and I are great tango fans so we jumped at the chance of buying a pair of tickets for "Tango Moderno" The show was frankly a complete waste of £54, to watch a troupe of youngsters prancing about the stage with poor quality...More

Thank richardwainwright50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Food has never been great here but last night surpassed terrible, chips were oven cooked far too many fish had the soggiest batter ever for the princely sum of 14.99 absolutely awful will never eat here again.

Thank beverlybondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Went here on Saturday evening and was surprised by the staffs response when entering the venue with a wheelchair. They panicked and made my friend feel awkward. We had called and booked a wheelchair seat with a career. Felt extremely unwanted and uncomfortable. Show was...More

1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Crawley
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
988 reviews
.23 miles away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2,922 reviews
.42 miles away
Grange Hotel
83 reviews
.71 miles away
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
543 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bengal Spices
227 reviews
.43 miles away
The Grill
125 reviews
.40 miles away
Kims Kitchen
29 reviews
.51 miles away
Marks and Spencer Cafe
33 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Crawley Memorial Gardens
113 reviews
.28 miles away
Gala Bingo Crawley
14 reviews
.49 miles away
County Mall Shopping Centre
13 reviews
.31 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sharie D
15 May 2018|
Answer
Response from TheHawth | Property representative |
Yes, all the stalls seats have a good view. People prefer the centre block generally and then its a personal preference depending on customer and the type of show.
0
Votes
Simon E
12 December 2017|
Answer
Response from TheHawth | Property representative |
Hi Simon, Children can sit in the restricted view seats. As these are discounted seats, this is the lowest price for both children and adults.
1
Vote
lei272017
11 December 2017|
Answer
Response from MiDiFr | Reviewed this property |
I am sure that you can't officially but no-one is likely to police this if you are discrete.
0
Votes