Leeds Castle

Leeds Castle, Maidstone: Hours, Address, Leeds Castle Reviews: 4.5/5

Leeds Castle
4.5
Historic Sites • Points of Interest & Landmarks • Castles
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Considered one of the most romantic castles in England, this historic site was originally the stately home of the Saxon royal family during the reign of Ethelbert IV in 856-860.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Leeds Castle
Popular mentions

4.5
4,884 reviews
Excellent
2,922
Very good
1,268
Average
356
Poor
162
Terrible
176

Samim S
London, UK3 contributions
Perfect Location
Jul 2021
What a way perfect location to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. From start to finish all the staff were so accommodating and treating us like royalty. From the ground staff to security each and everyone were professional and respectable.
Our room in the Maiden Tower, was exceptionally beautiful overlooking the Castle and the Moat, was truly breathtakingly special. Room was prepared to the highest standard and cleanliness was second to non.
Lovely touches, with shampoo, lotion, hand wash which smelt divine. Towels, nightgowns and slippers all provided.
To top it off we had access to the beautiful grounds the day we checked in and the day we checked out. Plus access to the grounds after the grounds were closed to the members of public, this is definitely to take advantage off. To top it off in the evening when the castle lights up it certainly a view that will stick with me.
Thank you all for making our stay one of our best memories, we will be back!
Written 16 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chloe S
1 contribution
Not what it used to be
Jul 2021 • Friends
It’s a tough to write because I have loved Leeds castle for so long having grown up in the area and been a regular visitor for over 10 years.
I can I imagine new visitors are still impressed because visually it really is still wonderful. Even though there hasn’t been a single update inside the castle in years..literally nothing new to see. In 10 years. I still come hoping things will improve but sadly everytime I’ve come it’s gotten worse 😫
So this it’s what’s driven me to leave this review:

The food and drink. Costa has gone..in my opinion an error. Unless you want to eat a full sit down meal (regardless of covid) you are unwelcome in the restaurant.

For a sandwich or tea and cake it’s take away and find a bench. (They are NEVER free..even at 1pm on a drizzly Thursday they are all full)

I say “cake” it’s plastic packaged muffins or chocolate twist for £2.50. As for the coffee...one size (about the same as a small in Costa) and it’s £3.

Bottle of water is £2..sandwich in a box that you have to walk off with £4.50.

The restaurant used to do pots of tea and scones and jam or their lovely laminating cakes were ideal for an afternoon at Leeds castle. They had big tables of fresh cakes that were just excellent.

It really is so disappointing. I know times are hard but charging that much for tiny coffees and plastic wrapped cakes with little choice to sit outside on benches (if you can) is a far cry for the Leeds castle I used to know.

Hopefully this isn’t permanent and the restaurant will change its menu once restrictions ease?

Just my opinion as a lately- repeatedly disappointed regular.
Written 15 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sharon M
8 contributions
A day to remember 5*
Jul 2021
I had very high hopes about our visit and I was not disappointed . Like many others I had seen Leeds Castle on TV shows and longed to see the castle for myself. Parking was easy. A lovely walk to the castle and then my dreams became reality , the castle looks like a painting set within water .... Breath taking!
Plenty of lavatories and places to drink and eat (maybe there could be more vegan/vegetarian options !)
The castle is very interesting and we learnt much about it's history . The staff that we chatted to were very well informed and helpful, one volunteer Pat who was on the gate of the castle was so friendly and helpful .
We were even able to take a piece of history home with us, a little dog made with the silk wall covering from the Yellow Drawing Room... We can look our little dog Danny (named after one of Lady Baillie’s dogs) and remember our wonderful day.
Written 12 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

A Midlife Adventure
Dursley, UK764 contributions
Had to visit this famously romantic looking castle
Jul 2021
Seen so many times on photos and pictures of English castles it fell into my must see list.
We arrived at opening time and directed to park by a friendly smiling gentleman. Entry was fairly painless and the toilets here are handy if you've had a longish journey. All very clean and covid friendly. You need to take a photo of the map of the grounds as there didn't seem to be any paper copies available but this seems to be fairly prevalent at the moment under covid conditions.

Its a lovely pleasant walk through the grounds to reach the castle. BE WARNED -You do have to book a time slot to get inside which we did straight away and had to wait 45 minutes. We utilised this time to get a few photos of the moat and castle from the outside and to explore one of the gardens down by the lake. We also noticed a member of the falconry team and so we were able to find out from her that the displays run at 1.30 and 3 pm daily.

The castle itself is pretty much fully open and there are information placards throughout explaining the history and restoration. Due to timings it isn't overly busy inside which meant there was time to get photos throughout. A really interesting tour.

After the castle we chose to retracer steps back to where the boat departs on the lake as there are picnic tables here where we were able to eat our pre prepared lunch. We then utilised the boat (at £1 a person) to get ourselves back over the other side to finish the gardens. Following the one way system we then made our way to the falconry centre where we were able to view the birds sitting outside on their perches. They seem to be well looked after and there was information regarding tethering, moulting etc
After the falconry display we made our way back to the exit.

Overall a very enjoyable day and there is so much for families to do and see that I've not even touched on.
Written 10 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

medot
Essex England233 contributions
excellent day out
Jun 2021
We had a weekend break away to Maidstone and decided to visit Leeds castle. This was EXCELLENT value at £28 per adult but this gives unlimited access for a year. we actually went on the saturday and returned on the sunday!

Due to covid i had to prebook my entry to the grounds and also to the castle but that wasnt an issue. There is ample free parking. We arrived about 11am both days which meant we got a parking space fairly near to the main entrance.

There is now a one way system around the grounds. it was well signposted and plenty of staff on duty reminding you which way to go!

both the grounds and castle are fabulous. The maze obvioulsy isnt the same, at the moment, with a one way system but at least they have tried! The falconry area and display was faultless and we saw this both days. we also paid to do the crazy golf and thought that great value at £2 each. we also did the boat trip one way for £1...again well worth splashing out on. There are various childrens play areas which appeared popular.

All in all a great day out and we will definately be going again.
Written 28 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your fantastic review, see you again soon.
Written 9 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

englishlady_12
Mesa, AZ181 contributions
A good day out, better if it is sunny
Jun 2021
We were pleasantly surprised by how interesting the castle was. The staff were very well informed and the castle seemed to be quite comfortable even though it was huge.
The grounds were superb, especially the moat around the castle. They were particularly nice on the approach to the castle.
We walked around the formal gardens , they were good. But we found ourselves on an unnecessary long walk around that area, directed by arrows which seemed to take us away from the gardens themselves.
The walk back from the castle at the end of the trip was too long, a bus kept driving past us, I wondered why it didn't stop to offer us a lift. I have arthritis and was quite tired after a long afternoon walking
Written 27 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. Next time you visit do ask about the free mobility bus to help with travel across the estate.
Written 9 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

amoroc
nottingham, england38 contributions
Fabulous stay at Leeds castle
May 2021 • Couples
Wonderful two night stay in the Kennedy Room. We met Alice on reception on our arrival and she couldn’t have been kore helpful friendly and kind We had breakfast both mornings and dinner on one night at the Castle View restaurant which was lovely on all fronts a special mention for Ola in the restaurant who was just delightful. The Segway tour and the birds of prey demonstration were fantastic. Such a magical place full of wonderful staff I would highly recommend visiting and staying here. Thank you everyone
Written 25 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
So pleased you had a wonderful stay, thank you for your review.
Written 9 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Teresa M
Maidstone, UK1 contribution
Bird of Prey Centre
Jun 2021 • Couples
Myself and my husband visited on Monday, it was a wet day and we went to the bird of prey centre for the 1.30 display hoping that it would go ahead. There was not many there and the weather was not great however we were treated to a fantastic experience to have a bird fly to us and to see baby owls. To hold a bird was an amazing thing to be able to do, and the volunteer Angie was very knowledgable and friendly when we asked her questions and she showed us how to hold out our arms. I can not thank the bird of prey centre staff enough for making sure our walk up to the centre was worthwhile even in the rain, it made our day!
Written 23 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. Our Birds of Prey are certainly very popular!
Written 9 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Docwra10
Saffron Walden, UK60 contributions
Mini break at the castle
May 2021 • Couples
Couple of nights at weir cottage in the grounds. Comfortable accommodation with good private parking. Great base to explore from- went to Canterbury and Whitstable for lunch.
Written 23 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review!
Written 9 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

braithwaite12
Northampton, UK781 contributions
Disappointing
May 2021
Disappointed that as a blue badge holder I was not advised that transport from parking to the castle was available, especially as on my visit it was a rainy day. I found the castle compared to many other similar UK attractions disappointing in the quality and variety of the interiors and decor.
Written 21 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
We are sorry to hear that your visit was disappointing. A free mobility bus is available from the ticket office area to near the front of the Castle, we apologise if you were not informed of this.
Written 9 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,436
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leeds Castle

Leeds Castle is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 - 18:00
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Leeds Castle tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 23 Leeds Castle tours on Tripadvisor