We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Born to taste

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
More
About Born to taste
Apart from offering fabulous tastings on a boat through the beautiful historic canals of Amsterdam, we also offer a selection of great cooking classes for all skill levels and private dinners in the chefs own home, too. Nothing beats a tour conducted by a local award-winning professional chef with a broad knowledge of the Amsterdam food scene, the products, and all of the amazing culinary history
Read more
Tours and Tickets by Born to taste
13Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Deepthy wrote a review 16 Jun
1 contribution
Just experienced an online wine tasting with born to taste and would absolutely recommend it! The wine arrived in a very nice and stable packaging and the guide did a fantastic job explaining the different wines, the origins and the mistakes we usually do using wine to cook / drink! She brought such positive energy and made sure everyone learned something from the session as she answered every question with a lot of patience and joy. Definitely enjoyed the experience and would like to do it in person whenever I am in Amsterdam :)
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Eliane M, Owner at Born to taste
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a great pleasure to have hosted the online wine tasting class for you and your group. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the online wine tasting class and hope to welcome you in person when you visit Amsterdam in the future. Kind regards, Eliane
Read more
Esty d wrote a review Apr 2021
20 contributions49 helpful votes
Three of us gathered in Chef Eliane’s kitchen for a cooking lesson- it was way more than that. While learning to make a vegetarian curry from scratch we learned how to use our utensils properly and how to lay out our ingredients ahead of time. Dessert was lemon meringue pie (our request), also from scratch- after cooking we got to share our dishes accompanied by a selection of Dutch wines. This was a super learning experience as well as a warm and cozy gathering in celebration of our accomplishments- Chef Eliane, thank you!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Eliane M, Owner at Born to taste
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your cooking class. It was a pleasure to have welcomed you and your party to our popular culinary activity. Looking forward to seeing you again next time. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Read more
Tijmen N wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We enjoyed a great evening with Eliane, with a personal cooking class for 2 people in her house setting. The food was great, as was the wine and the company. We truly recommend this evening for couples or larger groups, can't think of any cooking class setting in a more intimate experience.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Eliane M, Owner at Born to taste
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with other travelers. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your cooking class. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to welcome you back for another culinary experience next time you are in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Read more
MMoranski wrote a review Nov 2019
Stamford, Connecticut35 contributions23 helpful votes
The food was absolutely delicious. Fresh ingredients perfectly prepared. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. It is clear that this dining table is the heart of this home. It was a pleasure to meet Chef Eliane and discuss her insights into food and culture. If you find yourself in Amsterdam, I highly recommend you schedule a dinner with Chef Eliane of Born To Taste.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eliane M, Owner at Born to taste
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the food and ambiance at our chef's table. Hope to welcome you back next time you visit Amsterdam. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Read more
Ipermestra wrote a review Oct 2019
Kobe, Japan18 contributions51 helpful votes
We scheduled this event in the morning of the same day. The organizer called us a few hours later to say that TripAdvisor shouldn’t have accepted our reservation for that evening because she was already fully booked. She’d go ahead and cancel our reservations, she told me...but she never did, and six weeks later when we got our cc statement we double-checked and saw that it remained uncancelled. This seems unprofessional, to put it mildly. Caveat emptor!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Eliane M, Owner at Born to taste
Responded 6 Oct 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for, your feedback. I am very surprised to read your review because I did not only cancel your booking through the Tripadvisor supplier dashboard but I also called and spoke to a Tripadvisor agent to make sure the cancelation would be made and a full refund given if you would not be able to make it another day. The reservation came in at around 15.00 hrs. for a 19.00 hrs. dinner reservation. Since we are not a regular restaurant but a private dining chef’s table, we can only accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. We work with many booking platforms, so chances are the dining room is going to be sold out on such short notice. We did not go ahead and accept your booking as you said we did, on the contrary, we called you right away to inform you that there has been an error in the system. When a client makes a payment, we as suppliers do not have any access to the payment process as businesses get paid 4-6 weeks after the event has taken place. We are not able to refund the payment if we have not received the money yet. It is therefore very regrettable that you judge us on a cancellation and payment system that we have no or hardly any influence on by calling us unprofessional and warning other clients against us. Only yesterday we received a refund request through TripAdvisor which of course we approved immediately. E. Muskus Owner/manager
Read more
Previous
12