Al Hammam Traditional Baths

Al Hammam Traditional Baths

Al Hammam Traditional Baths
4.5
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Here at Al Hammam Traditional Baths we believe that happiness can be found in the smallest of things. It is our passion and our mission to transform your everyday routines into more meaningful experiences. Inspired by ancient routines from Asia we designed exclusive hammam & spa treatments with unique products that help you create a moment of peace and truly enjoy the moment.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Due to its proximity to the Acropolis, Plaka remains the area where the majority of foreign visitors stay and play. Its attractive features include small squares, some notable museums and the beautiful Mitropolis cathedral, as well as a host of places to stay, eat and drink. Its pedestrian zones make it a pleasant place to escape from the city’s notorious traffic. Adrianou and Kidathineon Streets contain a number of souvenir shops, offering classier items than you will find in the Flea Market. The most rewarding section to explore is the upper reaches towards the Acropolis itself, where many old stone houses with tiled roofs have survived. Up here you can find leafier corners and the odd quaint taverna with unobstructed views of the ancient rock.
How to get there
  • Akropoli • 5 min walk
  • Monastiraki • 7 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • GeezFamily
    Busselton, Australia60 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful and peaceful experience. Left feeling revitalised and relaxed. Perfect end to our Athens visit.
    Beautiful and relaxing way to end our adventure in Athens. Peaceful atmosphere and friendly service. The Al Hamman treatment was perfect. You may wear your bathers if you wish or there is disposable underwear available too. Thongs and towels are provided. The steam room is amazing and drinking water is provided. The scrub is fantastic. The bubble massage is so relaxing and a sensory experience not to be missed. The hair wash ended the session so lovely. Felt so revitalised afterwards.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 18 August 2023
  • Daria F
    4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Rejuvenation
    Wow! Loved every second, worth every penny! I never wanted to leave! We had the Sultana hammam and the deep hydration facial. Best facial ever and the hammam experience was so relaxing! True meaning of wellness!
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 September 2023
  • august01
    London, United Kingdom646 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful couples treatment experience
    Booked a couples treatment of time in the steam spa, then a wash and massage. Total cost was 189 euros for both of us. The whole experience was wonderful, and we would definitely recommend and return. We've never felt so clean! Flip flops and paper underwear were provided, along with toiletries and a private changing room for the two of us, and afterwards we were invited up to the rooftop for Turkish tea and delights. We loved the entire experience, and it felt so nice to have the heat and grime of the day scrubbed away. Hubby said it was the highlight of his entire holiday.
    Visited April 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 5 May 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles120 reviews
Excellent
85
Very good
15
Average
9
Poor
7
Terrible
4

Georgia K
Athens, Greece13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
I absolutely LOVED this experience!!!! Fantastic place just in the heart of Plaka, very polite and professional staff (all the girls were lovely!!)

The Hamam was gorgeous, the bath was just so refreshing, it really cleans you inside and out and the massage was amazing!!! After this experience, you go upstairs and they treat you with traditional tea and sweet loukoumi. The room has the most beautiful view of the Acropolis and the energy you get is really fascinating. The whole experience lasted for 3 hours and I couldn't get enough!! Make a gift to yourself and try this!

I left the place with the biggest smile! Thank you :)
Written 21 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Daria F
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Family
Wow! Loved every second, worth every penny! I never wanted to leave! We had the Sultana hammam and the deep hydration facial. Best facial ever and the hammam experience was so relaxing! True meaning of wellness!
Written 5 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GeezFamily
Busselton, Australia60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
Beautiful and relaxing way to end our adventure in Athens. Peaceful atmosphere and friendly service. The Al Hamman treatment was perfect. You may wear your bathers if you wish or there is disposable underwear available too. Thongs and towels are provided. The steam room is amazing and drinking water is provided. The scrub is fantastic. The bubble massage is so relaxing and a sensory experience not to be missed. The hair wash ended the session so lovely. Felt so revitalised afterwards.
Written 18 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elise B
87 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Couples
This was our first experience with a Turkish hamaam. We chose the couples with steam, scrub, and massage. The steam room was good for relaxing and clearing out sinuses after traveling. Then, Irene and another lovely therapist took us for a scrub and olive bubble massage. The crowning glory was the hair wash. It was amazing and I would absolutely do it again.
Written 20 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Christina J
London, UK6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2019 • Solo
It was my birthday and I decided to treat myself with hammam on my holiday. I chose procedure with hammam, exfoliation, clay body mask and head massage, that was 59 euros for just 60 mins- quite expensive but i thought it will be worth it because logically the more expensive it is the better it should be ( even though in my home country I have had 90 mins body massage in a 5 star hotel for even less than this price). Anyway I thought I would spoil myself for my birthday and go for it.

To start with, there was no changing room! I had to change in the tiny bathroom-there was no chair, or anything to sit down. Quite an uncomfortable beginning for such an expensive place!

When I was called into the massage room I was really disappointed again to see there was another girl having massage there right next to my bed- even though I had especially asked in the caunter if I will be alone in the massage room (as it is totally expected for this price) and they said "Yes" !!! I have had many massages in different studios and I never had to share a massage room with another person. Can you imagine how uncomfortable that it especially when you are naked and you expect a private room, as you are promised!

The "full" exfoliation of the body was not exactly full- a lot of parts of my body such as my feet, neck and face were not paid attention to. When I was put clay on my body i had to stay in the room but i couldnt, because it was so hot that my head started spinning and I needed to exit the hammam and spend the time in the cold corridor.

But that is not all! The same night I woke up with a terrible body itching, When I went to the bathroom I saw my whole body was covered by red spots, especially my thights, which looked terrible, I had to call my doctor back at home next day and he told me that clay can cause irritation to sensitive skin. Something that I was never warned about. I went to the studio and told them about this. They kept claiming it is an allergy from the food that I have eaten after the massage!! That was ridiculous because I didnt have something that I had never eaten before neither I had any food allergies in my life, They advised me to go the farmacy and buy some allergy cream, trying to ignore my problem. I think it is their job to warn people that this kind of mask is not for all types of skins or at least offer some kind of help for your problem, instead of rejecting the real reason behind it.
Even though I am better now my skin is still itchy after 5 days. Can you imagine how that feels when you are on a foreighn country, trying to enjoy your holiday!? Don't repeat my mistake!
Written 1 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are very sorry about you allergic reaction concerning the face cream which is for all type skin ,as we fully explain to you. All others you mention is because you didn’t get you money back !! That means my money back or bad critic to TripAdvisor ,this is all about and this no good at all.
Written 12 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SeattleTravelGrl
Malibu, CA26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2018 • Friends
Traveling with my husband and 2 friends we happened by Al Hamman while out and about. We popped in to see if they could accommodate us all at the same time and got lucky that they could.

What a relaxing experience. The staff was lovely, the massage perfect and the tea on the outdoor terrace simply lovely.

Our friend had the soap massage and could not stop talking about it!
Written 23 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MelanyMis
Amsterdam, The Netherlands30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2019 • Solo
This little Hamamam is a charming establishment and located in the bustling Plaka. I did the bath and basic scrub and I loved it!Even though I didn’t have a reservation, the staff was very accomodating. Annika did my scrub and she was lovely and professional. At the end they served tea and Turkish delight on a terrace with a view on the acropolis!
Written 10 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

helsybobsmith
London, UK22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2019 • Solo
This place is gorgeous. The minute you step foot in the door the atmosphere is friendly and relaxing. For 146€/£130 I had the Guzellik. Over 2 hours of Hammam, bubble massage, exfoliation, hair treatment, sports massage and facial. The staff were fantastic and respectful. To top it off, there are facilities for you to shower and blow dry your hair before having tea on the rooftop. Go in the evening and you have tea at sunset in the middle of the old town of Plaka. Worth the money and would highly recommend.
Written 1 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ctahoe
Raleigh, NC12 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Couples
We were very excited to have our appointment request confirmed during our honeymoon in Athens for the Konstandis & Evelyn Private Hammam for 2hr 30'-269€, including:
Private Hammam 30΄, Body Exfoliation 15΄, Olive Shop Bubble Massage 15΄Hair Wash. Aromatic Couples Massage 60΄ In The Room, Hammam Foot Ritual 30’

The facilities were clean and beautiful. The private Hammam area was great.

BUT.....
I have not experienced a Turkish bath before so have nothing to compare it to; however we were doing a couples experience so I could see what the other person was doing to my husband. The person working on me kept looking over at her as if she wasn’t sure what to do. This was a bit distracting during this relaxation mode.

We also didn’t get the Hammam 30’ foot ritual which we were looking forward to after several days of sight seeing

The massage was pretty terrible. The same people who bathed us were doing the massages. I’ve had regular massage work for several years now and there was a lack of systematic educated/trained movement that put us in awkward and uncomfortable positions. It was less than relaxing- and I ended up keeping my eyes open. The other masseuse started laughing mid massage (she apologized but we later were wondering was so funny).

Everyone was nice as was the atmosphere.... but if you are looking for the massage part of this deal I would PASS. Very disappointing especially after the money we spent- it sets a high bar!
Written 2 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CFW
England, UK22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Solo
Very enjoyable. I had the Al Hammam treatment with steam room, exfoliation, bubbles massage and hair wash. Unhurried and beautifully done and followed by tea and sweets on the rooftop in the sunshine. Highly recommended.
Written 16 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 91
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

AL HAMMAM TRADITIONAL BATHS (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Athens HotelsAthens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Athens
All things to do in Athens
Day Trips in Athens
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire