We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Archaeologous

#422 of 846 Tours in Athens
Athens, Greece
More
About Archaeologous
Archaeologous, (Tour Specialist in Athens) offers private, guided half and full day tours plus multi-day tour assistance. We are experienced, caring and reliable. *We operate in 9 ports in Greece and Turkey and give you discounts for 'multiple port bookings'.
Read more

Archaeologous
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
8Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
CCtiger258 wrote a review Nov 2015
MA79 contributions16 helpful votes
We scheduled a tour with this company to be a day tour of Athens. The compnay provided Rina as our tour guide. We visited many sites and had a wonderful experience . Rina along with our driver kept us at ease and were well coordinated througout the tour . We had a combination of professional overview and time to explore on our own. Including time for lunch in Plaka . Most interesting waas our tour of the museum . Rina was able to expedite our tickets and our admission at every stop. i would defenitely use this company again.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Archaeologous-Athens, Guest Relations Manager at Archaeologous
Responded 19 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking your time to send us praise about your wonderful private Archaeologous guide, Rina. It means a lot to our guides to hear what was thought about their efforts such as you said, expediting your tickets, exploring and making the history come alive at the museums etc. And, of course, we love to hear great things about our services here at the home office. We'll look forward to being able to show your around Greece and/or Turkey the next time you visit again.
Read more
Mansi B wrote a review Sep 2014
Boston, Massachusetts8 contributions6 helpful votes
One of the reasons I picked this tour was cause when I read the reviews I also saw reviews for people who had elderly members who needed special help. Well I am glad my grandparents decided that morning not to join us because it would have been difficult. The bus was parked so far from the meeting point. The guide was always in a rush. Right away she told me we would have to skip something on the tour cause it can not all be done in 4 hours. The website guides us through picking items that make up the 4 hours. No big deal, we skipped Pyrgos which I had only picked because the website said I could add another item. But what I was very upset about was 1) no one was allowed to stay in the bus if they did not want to walk ( as my uncle wanted to but was told no). 2) She did not want to let us off the bus at the black sand beach and when we convinced her she did not want us to walk on the beach because she did not want the bus to get dirty with the black pebbles. Really? I did not think I was signing up to see the black sand beach from a distance. The guide and driver had major attitude problems. Some people did go on the beach and she was crazy about them having to wipe their feet on a towel before entering the bus, even though she loved to rush us the rest of the tour. The wine tasting was very quick and short.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from Robyn W, Guest Relations Manager at Archaeologous
Responded 26 Apr 2015
I feel bad that your feelings about your trip were so unlike our normal customers experiences. We contacted the driver/tour guide involved and took appropriate actions so that this never happens again. Your guide has never received a complaint before, but we take our visitors reports very seriously and so questioned her on each and every one of your details. We are grateful for you speaking up and letting us look over anything that the guides/drivers can improve. However, she remembers a very nice tip for that day's tour so there is a difference of perceptions here. Just FYI., Having to do with the bus location: 'all' tour buses have to park in the same place which is about a 5 minute walk from the only place the visitors can be met- which is in the town (with no traffic allowed). No one is allowed to stay on the buses, as the drivers have to move the vehicles and leave them locked. Apparently there 'was' a towel for everyone to wipe their feet, as usual to keep the vehicles as new and clean as possible for everyone.
Read more
Peggy S wrote a review Nov 2013
Valencia, California, United States9 contributions
My husband and I booked a day trip to Delphi through Archaeologous Private Tours, and it turned out to be a most wonderful journey. Every step from the ease of booking the trip, the fair pricing, the journey to and from Delphi on board the extremely comfortable bus, the in-depth knowledge and courtesy of our guide, the rest stops and marvelous restaurant lunch (included in the ticket price!) were all top quality. The tour of the ruins of Delphi was fascinating, including the Temple of Apollo (where the Oracle issued her predictions) and the slave name wall where Greek slaves had their names carved after receiving their freedom. My grandfather immigrated to the U.S. from the region of Argos, and our guide very graciously pointed out a placard inscribed with "Kings of Argos." One of many terrific memories I was able to return home with and share with my family. Just remember to wear comfortable walking shoes as the terrain is hilly and the paths, though well marked, are not paved. Still, I would not have missed it for anything. Hugged our guide when back in Athens, and can't wait to see what Archaeologous Private Tours can arrange for us next. They truly are the very best for private tours around Greece and Turkey!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from Archaeologous-Athens, Public Relations Manager at Archaeologous
Responded 11 Dec 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Archaeologous and your Archaeologous private guide. It's truly a pleasure to see compliments in writing as we can refer back to them unlike spoken compliments. So thank you. We remember you and your husband and the joy and wonderment you both exuded which makes it fun for us. We're glad we could help make your time in Greece a great memory for you. Looking forward to sharing more Greece with you in the future.
Read more
Augustin S wrote a review Oct 2013
Palm Springs, California31 contributions14 helpful votes
Spent three days in Athens and do not have enough superlatives to describe the outstanding private tours provided by Archaeologous.com. The owners of the company are extremely knowledgeable and professional, and go to whatever length necessary to provide you with the right tour for you. My wife and I received a personal tour of the Parthenon from a guide well-steeped in Greek history, as well as a tour of the New Acropolis Museum. Very fascinating and informative, and didn't feel like part of a herd receiving "standard" patter. We were scheduled to take the 1-day bus tour from Athens to Mycenae-Epidaurus-Nafplion, but a strike by Greek workers prevented that. Instead we were able to get literally a last-minute deal on a day-trip to Delphi, which proved to be special on its own. A very comfortable (though 2-1/2 hour long each way) bus ride from Athens through scenic Greek countryside and mountains to the legendary region where ancient Greeks and Romans sought counsel from the mystical Oracle of Delphi. Tour included the preserved ruins of Delphi temples and sanctuary, the museum, and lunch at a nearby scenic village. Even though we were part of a group of 30, we were still able to ask and receive answers to unscripted questions from our most courteous and very informative guide. Plus we had time to separate from the group and view items more interesting to us. A wonderful tour for anyone interested in discovering the facts buried within the legends of Greek history and mythology. If it had not been for Archaeologous.com our time in Athens would have been far less enjoyable and well spent than it was. For anyone visiting Greece or Turkey, you would be a fool it you did not use their incomparable services to discover all the magnificent sights available in the region.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from Archaeologous-Athens, Public Relations Manager at Archaeologous
Responded 11 Dec 2013
We here at Archaeologous, from office staff, to guides, to the owners 'all' love to hear 'superlatives". Thanks for your kind words. We have learned after many years in the business to think fast and have a Plan 'B' in place still providing great tours. A friend once told me "Life is all about how one handles plan "B' . Hope to assist you and your friends again.
Read more
AFpatata wrote a review Aug 2013
Québec2 contributions2 helpful votes
In my experience there 2 types of guides: one type knows everything there is to know (maybe even passionate about it) and is able to transmit this knowledge (and maybe passion) into the people he is guiding, the other type know everything there is to know and just delivers it almost mechanically (never ending lists of facts and figures) Unfortunately, when you book a tour, you never know if you will have one type of tour guide or the other. For the one day tour we did in Athens we had the second type. Given the high price of the tour I mistankenly believed that we were guarantees to have the first type. So I was not really happy with the tour. The organisation was great though: we booked everything online, the response time for our emails was really really short and they could accommodate our demands in a very short time. So I would highly recommend this service ... if you manage to get a good guide!!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from Robyn W, Public Relations Manager at Archaeologous
Responded 26 May 2015
Thank you for your feedback. You, our Archaeologous clients are our eyes and ears on the ground. We appreciate your praise of our organizational qualities. We are known for our fast response times and ability to customize to your wishes. Very sorry you got a guide that was not to your liking. Be assured that your letter was read to ALL the guides we use as a great reminder to them all. Thank you for posting.
Read more
Previous
12