We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

City Sightseeing Copenhagen

Neighbourhood:
Indre By (Inner City)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: Ved Stranden 26, Copenhagen 1202, Denmark
Phone Number: +45 32 96 30 00
Website
Today
09:30 - 18:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 18:30
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

City Sightseeing - the world's leading sightseeing concept in open-top bus...

City Sightseeing - the world's leading sightseeing concept in open-top bus - is of course also to be found in Copenhagen. The tours are guided in up to 8 languages ​​that you choose via the audio system.

With up to 3 routes and 21 stops you can hop on and off as much as you like and exactly the 'Hop on hop off' the idea is that you decide what you want to take a closer look at and perhaps indulge in - and entirely at your own pace. The stops along the routes are by all the best sights and attractions that Copenhagen has to offer.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.02*
and up
City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
US$30.56*
and up
Copenhagen Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 205 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 41
    Poor
  • 40
    Terrible
Useful link to cruise terminal

We were spending a day in Copenhagen between cruises so found this bus a useful way of firstly relocating to the city centre and secondly of getting an idea of the city format. We... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 August 2016
Mark B
,
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

So we went to the main ticket office and asked for an all bus lines and boat ticket so that we could see multiple areas of the city. Was issued ticket with no comments. It all seemed a bit chaotic but eventually bus turned up (we knew they'd be a wait) and once on the bus we started to enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenny h
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear jenny h, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve. I'm sorry to hear you were not informed that our All Lines tickets are only for the weekends, but you can still use the Best Offer ticket to enjoye the Mermaid route and the Hop On Hop Off boat for 48 hours... More 

New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016

We took this tour in June, picking up the bus from the cruise terminal. I have limited mobility so this was going to be the perfect way to see the city. When we got on the bus, nobody told us that we would have to get off and change buses halfway through the tour. In fact, we had been told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bet410
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear bet410, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve. On cruiseship days, the buses do get a bit crowed, which is not an excuse for the overcrowded buses, but simply an explanation that there is such an influx in people in Copenhagen that sometimes our capacity cannot keep up. I do not... More 

ZURICH
Level Contributor
212 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

What nobody tells you is that these "hop on" busses run only every 45 minutes. Usually there where two busses of the other company pass by which run every 20 minutes! Despite running so infrequent they don't even stick to the schedule. Absolutly unsuitable for hop on hop off.... As they run so infrequent the busses are very cramped as... More 

Helpful?
Thank JIMMYDEFARGO
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear JIMMYDEFARGO, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve. I'm sorry to hear you found the frequency too long. We try our best to run steadily and frequent, however, during our winter season, we do have a longer frequency time. Nevertheless, I hope you had a wonderful time in the city Best... More 

California
Level Contributor
316 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Our ship was docked at the Ocean Quay, about a twenty minute ride outside of central Copenhagen. We were very impressed the bus company was waiting for us when we disembarked on a cruise turn around day. They drove us into town with commentary in all the languages usually provided to their regular routes Once in town their first stop... More 

Helpful?
Thank DERtravels
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear DERtravels, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your hop on hop off buses and our shuttle service to and from the Ocean Quay. I hope you had a wonderful time in Copenhagen Best regards, Josefine More 

Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

What a joke. We hopped on a bus but could not hop off as the driver did not stop at any sights. He just drove from our pick up to his end of shift stop. We had to then change buses. Don't get on a Gray Line bus if George is the driver as you will not see anything.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggy1953
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Ziggy1953, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback so we can continue to improve. I don't know what happened in you case since the bus didn't stop, but I will take this to the people in charge and figure it out. I nevertheless, hope you had a wonderful time in Copenhagen Best regards, Josefine More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

I always use the City Sightseeing Brand in any city that they operate in. Have used them in Lisbon, Prague, Berlin, Brussels, Athens, Barcelona and now Copenhagen. It is a well known brand and normally of high quality. However, did notice on the Copenhagen buses, that there was a difference dependent on how old the bus was. The first bus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas19Ed
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear douglaslogan1941, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your hop on hop off tour around Copenhagen with our City Sightseeing buses. It will take your idea to the people responsible for this. I hope you had a wonderful time in the city and that we will see you back soon Best regards, Josefine More 

Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We were spending a day in Copenhagen between cruises so found this bus a useful way of firstly relocating to the city centre and secondly of getting an idea of the city format. We found the headphone narration vaguely interesting although the quality of sound wasn't ideal. The city centre is small enough that once we had completed a lap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your Hop on Hop off bus around Copenhagen, as well as the shuttle service to the Cruise Terminal. I hope you had a wonderful day in Copenhagen Best regards, Josefine More 

Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We took this tour when we stopped off in Copenhagen on a cruise. The bus came right to the cruise terminal which was great as otherwise it would have been quite a walk!! The tour was good and took us to the places we wanted to see. They also offered a shuttle bus back to the cruise terminal but you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Victoria B, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your Hop on Hop off bus around Copenhagen as well as the pick up from the cruise terminal. I hope you had a wonderful time in the city Best regards, Josefine More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We took a Green Bus Tour in Kopenhagen - Marmeid Tour. It was very very bad. There was no place to seat, because buses are very infrequent. The headphones were not working in many places! What did we pay for?!

Helpful?
1 Thank MariaCyprianae
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear MariaCyprianae, Thank you for your review, we apprecieate your feedback so we can continue to improve. I'm sorry to hear you did not have a great experience, we do our best to run frequently and steady and provide the best possible service for our guests. I nonetheless hope you had a great time in Copenhagen Best regards, Josefine More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

2 couples from Australia, wishing we had read all the other reviews and not bothered with a 48 hour ticket. Many a Random stop to be made to change to another bus, old damaged buses with announcements that didn't work. Then final trip just left stranded and told to leave the bus as service had ended. Had we been told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linvale
Josefine N, Marketing Coordinator at City Sightseeing Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Linvale, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve. I'm sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. We do our best to run steadily and frequently, and I do not know what happened in your case, but some times factors occur which we cannot control, such as... More 

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Copenhagen also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Sightseeing Copenhagen and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore, Maryland

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from City Sightseeing Copenhagen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighbourhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighbourhood