We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elding Adventure at Sea

Features Animals
Open Now: 08:00 - 21:00
Open today: 08:00 - 21:00
Book In Advance
Tours from Elding Adventure at Sea tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
728
All photos (728)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“minke whales”(258 reviews)
“whale watching”(367 reviews)
“sea sickness”(123 reviews)
About
Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 21:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Aegisgardur 5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Website
+354 519 5000
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Elding Adventure at Sea
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$289.00
More Info
Reviews (2,201)
Filter reviews
1,902 results
Traveller rating
1,083
491
174
84
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,083
491
174
84
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minke whales whale watching sea sickness white beaked dolphins sea birds killer whales harbour porpoise warm suits whale meat pod of dolphins their natural habitat great trip boat trip top deck marine life ticket office northern lights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,902 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Friendly crew and a very passionate knowledgeable guide made the whole experience very enjoyable, spotting a minke whale and loads of dolphins was a fantastic bonus.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Phil L
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It was a great experience! Very cold/ windy and patience needed, but when those lights appear it is magical! The team kept giving us information and facts in a fun and interactive way. Not suggested for people who suffer from seasickness.

Thank VCC27
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear VCC27, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you enjoyed the experience with our lovely crew. All the best, The Elding team

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We booked the 1300 sailing on the same day, mid-morning. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. The website’s also good - you can review the success rate of previous tours and make your own decision as well as take their advice. Many...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Emma_Andy100
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Emma_Andy100, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our services and for sharing your experience with future travellers. We're glad you enjoyed the tour, views and wildlife spotted during your day out and thank you for the comprehensive review and recommendations....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When you're dealing with mother nature there's no guarantee that you're going to see what you have set your heart on seeing. In the case of Iceland there's a large percentage of people who have come specially to see Whales or The Northern Lights. Elding...More

Thank jayr9092019
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear jayr9092019, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you understand the nature factor of the tours and pleased to see that you enjoyed our services. All the best, The Elding team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Negatives first - they really need to have a cut off point for deciding about trips or not. We were booked for a 13.00 trip on a Tuesday and it was listed as pending all the way up until 11 in the morning, and we...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank iheartvegan
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear iheartvegan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travellers by writing this comprehensive review. Glad you enjoyed our services, nature and wildlife of the bay! All the best, The Elding team

Reviewed 1 week ago

I really wasn’t expecting to see a lot of wildlife, but to watch the humpback whale was just amazing. Our guide was interesting and very knowledgable, and we had an excellent view and commentary on the whale’s antics without the feeling that we were disturbing...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Suzanne32014
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Suzanne32014, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're delighted to read your kind comments about your experience with us and glad you enjoyed our services! All the best, The Elding team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We’d booked with Elding in advance of our trip so it was slotted in amongst other excursions. So when it was cancelled due to poor weather conditions we had limited options for other slots. Elding were really accommodating in moving our spot - then moving...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank rebeccat15
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear rebeccat15, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you were able to reschedule after the tour had been cancelled in the days before due to unfavourable weather. Glad you understand the wildlife factor of the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did the Whale watching tour from Reykjavik old harbour in freezing Arctic conditions but were soon warmed up by the exhilarating sights of a whale surfacing along side the boat and a pod of dolphins playfully jumping in and out of the sea in...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank John E
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John E, Thank YOU for taking the time to rate and review our services! We're pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of the tour. Many thanks for the kind comments! All the best, The Elding team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend decided to go and try our luck to see some whales. Booking was easy with Elding and walked past their kiosk to get tickets and 100m walk or less to the boat. Boat had different levels to be and you could...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank antstern
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear antstern, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you enjoyed the white-beaked dolphins and other wildlife spotted on the tour. Pleased to see you return! All the best, The Elding team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did whale watching tour on a boat departing from the harbour downtown Reykjavik, and it really worth it! I definitely suggest this tour, if you would like to take a chance to see whales and these beautiful cetacean. Despite is not possible to guarantee...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TheRobertOne
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TheRobertOne, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and for sharing your experience with future travellers. We're glad to see you enjoyed the views and services provided onboard. We also highly appreciate your understanding of the wildlife factor of...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 55 nearby hotels
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
2,575 reviews
.04 miles away
Reykjavik Marina Residence
38 reviews
.07 miles away
Exeter Hotel by Keahotels
86 reviews
.10 miles away
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
359 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 577 nearby restaurants
Forrettabarinn
1,250 reviews
.06 miles away
Reykjavik Rost
155 reviews
.04 miles away
Hofnin
1,156 reviews
.05 miles away
The Steak House
860 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 757 nearby attractions
Reykjavik Viking Adventure
19 reviews
.00 miles away
Volcano House
1,651 reviews
.11 miles away
Ambassador
6 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
robalveston
17 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea | Property representative |
Dear robalveston, Thank you for your question and for taking the time to share your concerns regarding the ongoing whaling at our shores. It is evident that whaling and whale watching can't co-exist. Elding is among the... More
2
Votes
ajmolloy100
12 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea | Property representative |
Dear ajmolloy100, Thank you for your question! We recommend wearing good sturdy shoes (hiking shoes or similar - no heels if possible), hat, gloves and a warm jacket. We do have overalls and blankets you can borrow... More
0
Votes
Bundiloi
31 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea | Property representative |
Dear Bundiloi, Thank you for your question! Turbulent seas are more often than not caused by high wind speed, so it is not really possible to say that it is more rough in March than other months of the year as the weather... More
0
Votes