We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Special Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 101 Reykjavik | Old Harbour, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
+354 560 8800
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Hunting the northern lights from the ocean is an amazing experience;...

Hunting the northern lights from the ocean is an amazing experience; sailing away from the coastline of Reykjavik, seeing the aurora borealis on the North-Atlantic Ocean with beautiful mountains and the city lights in the background is something you won't forget. Free pick-up, warm overalls and free hot drinks are provided. This tour is highly dependent on correct weather conditions and therefore we reserve the right to cancel if the circumstances are not favorable.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$103.91*
and up
Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik
More Info
US$70.80*
and up
Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik
More Info
US$141.60*
and up
Sea-Fishing Tour from Reykjavik

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 288 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 145
    Excellent
  • 79
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Northern Lights Boat Tour

We were in Iceland the week of March 13, 2017. Our Northern Lights Tour was booked as part of a package with IcelandAir for Tuesday night. Due to poor weather conditions the tour... read more

Reviewed 24 March 2017
Mimi S
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

My son purchased this trip for us as part of our Iceland experience. We were originally scheduled to depart Saturday night but the weather was inclement, so we re-scheduled for Monday night; there was no issue or hassle involved in re-scheduling. The boat had just left port when we turned around to pick up a passenger who was late in... More 

Helpful?
Thank mccabefrancisj
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and were able to see the northern lights at sea. Whenever the conditions do not look good for the lights we cancel the tour and offer everyone the chance to reschedule for another day. We are glad that this option worked... More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing tour last night we were so lucky the northern lights were amazing so clear and beautiful. Jonathan our guide was brilliant telling us all about the lights how they appear what causes it and the beliefs people had about the lights

Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and were able to see the northern lights! We will pass along the compliments to our guide, Jonathan. We post photos from our tours on our Facebook page, Special Tours Iceland, so make sure to check there if you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We were in Iceland the week of March 13, 2017. Our Northern Lights Tour was booked as part of a package with IcelandAir for Tuesday night. Due to poor weather conditions the tour was rescheduled and we finally went out on Thursday. Out tour guide, Jonathan, was excellent. A nice feature was that special tours provided full body winter jackets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mimi S
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. Whenever the conditions do not look favorable for the northern lights we cancel the tour and offer everyone the chance to reschedule for another evening. We also definitely recommend wearing the thermal overalls on the boats as it can get quite... More 

Guilderland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The tour was cancelled the first 2 nights but the Special Tours staff made it very easy to reschedule. Luckily the tour went out on our 3rd and final night. Though the Aurora forecast score was rated at '0' earlier in the day we were very fortunate to see the Northern Lights. My only complaint was the second guide, Etienne,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adria37
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and were able to see the northern lights. We look carefully at the forecast each evening and if there is not a chance to see the lights then we cancel the tour. We will pass along the compliments to our reception... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The tour was cancelled due to clouds on our booked date, but we rescheduled for the next evening. What a lovely experience we had. The suits provided were really warm and there was plenty of space up on deck. The guide was informative and offered to take photos with the lights which were duly posted on their FB page the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary K
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and were able to see the northern lights! Whenever the conditions do not look favorable for the lights we cancel the tour and offer everyone the chance to reschedule for another date. We are glad that this option worked for you!... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Other people on our trip were concerned about taking the boat ride to see the Northern Lights because they thought the boat would be too crowded and cold, but it was so nice! We sat inside almost the whole time and only went out into the cold when the lights showed up so we could take pictures. The boat went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay F
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your tour with us and were able to see the lights out at sea. Our boats have a maximum number of passengers that are allowed on and we never go over that limit, so there is always plenty of space on board. It's lovely to hear... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Special Tours made our trip to Iceland unforgettable. We did the whale watching and aurora tour and had amazing luck with both. Nature does what she does on her own time, but in this case, her and our timelines aligned! On the whale watching tour we saw white-beaked dolphins, a humpback whale, and a pod of orcas which is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Audra L
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both of your tours, and that they were both successful! The tour with the Orcas was especially exciting for our crew and guide, Jonathan. We don't normally see them in the bay so this was a special treat for us! We look... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This tour was INCREDIBLE! I took the tour March 10th after having it cancelled the night before due to unfavorable weather. It was extremely easy to move it to the next night (the 10th). I forget the guide's name but he was very personable and kept the crowd entertained while being patient for the nothern lights. He taught us some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela Y
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and were able to see the lights at sea with us. Whenever we have to cancel a tour we always offer our passengers the chance to reschedule for another day, and we are happy that this option worked out for you!... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Thanks to all the crew for an amazing trip to see the Northern Lights. Jonathan our guide was easy to listen too and his talk was a mixture of facts and folklore but also gave us time just to enjoy the breathtaking beauty in silence too.

Helpful?
Thank hargent32
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and were able to see the lights at sea on your tour. We will be certain to pass the compliments along to Jonathan as well. We just started our Instagram competition again so if you have some good photos... More 

Coventry,UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Went on boat tour 16th march. Straight away our guide Jonathan said oh it's a good night. After putting on a jump suit shall i say and battling to get it on we stood on top deck. So after seeing a series of clouds our tour guide informed us that infact this was the northern lights. He remained excited throughout... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindsey v
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey, thank you for taking the time to review our tour. The Northern Lights vary in brightness and color every day and we can never control when they will show or how bright they will be. This is why we always offer the chance to try again for free if there were no sightings. Our guide Jonathan is very... More 

Travellers who viewed Special Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Special Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Special Tours and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Special Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?