We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whales of Iceland

1,234 Reviews

Whales of Iceland

1,234 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Reykjavik
Whales Of Iceland Admission Ticket
US$26.36 per adult
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
US$36.71 per adult
Popular: Booked by 3,453 travellers!
Whales of Iceland from Land and Sea
US$99.11 per adult
Popular: Booked by 125 travellers!
Reykjavík City Private Tour
US$248.00 per adult
The Golden Circle and City Sightseeing
US$80.00 per adult
Reykjavik Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
US$31.81 per adult
Popular: Booked by 160 travellers!
See more
Full view
Location
Contact
Fiskislod 23, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Get to know the area
Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik
Day Trips

Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik

1,396 reviews
On this Northern Lights tour, travel outside Reykjavik with a guide who knows the area’s dark country roads. Relax on a coach bus as you head to the best viewing spots, hearing about the science of this unique natural phenomenon and its related Icelandic folklore. You also get great photography advice, and if for some reason you don’t see the lights, you can take another trip for free.
US$62.41 per adult
1,234Reviews5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 386
  • 422
  • 247
  • 103
  • 76
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jimmy M wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Great museum and thought-provoking film. Only downside was that rhere seems to be some weird high pitched fan noise coming from the ventilation system that gave me a headache - ironic given the content of the film was about ocean noise!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from WhalesofIceland, Front Office Manager at Whales of Iceland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for this feedback, and we apologize for the very late reply - we have been working with a shortened staff and restricted opening hours due to COVID-19. We're very sorry to hear that the fan gave you a headache - one of the fans was slightly damaged at the top of the ceiling, but we had someone come out late last year to sort it out. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the exhibition and the film :) Kind regards, Whales of Iceland
Read more
LS3 wrote a review Aug 2020
10 contributions22 helpful votes
The place is very small and there’s not much to see. My children and I were very disappointed. The most important thing we came to see was the VR experience and it was closed. Nothing on the website stated it wouldn’t be open, and they still charged full price even though their top attraction is closed. There are many more exciting things to see and do in Reykjavik besides this place. You’d be much better off going to Perlan or a swimming pool than here.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from WhalesofIceland, Front Office Manager at Whales of Iceland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for this feedback, and we apologize for the very late reply - we have been working with a shortened staff and restricted opening hours due to COVID-19. The VR glasses have been temporarily removed due to COVID and hygiene, but this should have been made clear before your visit. We have also put a temporary stop to our live-guided tours, and over the past several months have been working out the best way to ensure that customers have a good experience at the exhibition while still following all health and safety measures. We would like to offer you a partial refund for your visit, and again apologize for the disappointment caused by the VR glasses being removed. Please send us an email to info@whalesoficeland.is with your booking reference and information and we can sort out the refund for you. Kind regards, Whales of Iceland
Read more
SaraRafaelle wrote a review Aug 2020
Pardubice, Czech Republic109 contributions4 helpful votes
Real size models of whales. Audio guides available, interactive parts of exhibition. We really enjoyed this unique experience.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from WhalesofIceland101, Front Office Manager at Whales of Iceland
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Whales of Iceland and everything that our exhibition has to offer. We wish you a pleasant stay in Iceland, Kind regards, Whales of Iceland Staff
Read more
r0bindv wrote a review Aug 2020
Eindhoven, The Netherlands58 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing models of whales, if you are an animal lover this is a must see. Informative signs everywhere and a guided audio tour. a room which plays amazing footage of the animal and interactive displays as well as a small restaurant. The place is not very large, but if you take in all the information and watch everything you can spend a good time inside there. Some whales seemed a little exaggerated in scale, but this added to the wow factor.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from WhalesofIceland101, Front Office Manager at Whales of Iceland
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition. All of our whale models are to-scale, with the exception of the blue whale. The blue whale could actually be about 5m longer, but we had to keep it 'small' enough to fit in the exhibition! It is truly amazing to see just how big the cetaceans are in comparison to ourselves :) Thank you for coming to Whales of Iceland, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland. Kind regards, Whales of Iceland Team
Read more
Improindy wrote a review Jul 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark306 contributions77 helpful votes
Great display of all the Icelandic whales. They were well done and the Signs and the audio guide was very good (but why none in Danish?) For us it was extra interesting because, We went on a whale safari the Day after. So to get some knowledge about the humpback and minke whales before band, was super useful.
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from WhalesofIceland101, Front Office Manager at Whales of Iceland
Responded 31 Jul 2020
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition, and your whale watching tour with our friends in the harbour. We currently have 13 languages and are constantly working on adding new languages - Danish and Dutch are next on our list. Thank you for visiting, and we hope that you enjoyed your trip to Iceland! Kind regards, Whales of Iceland
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Whales of Iceland