We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Nice day

Visited with my daughter for the luxury spa day. We picked this over an overnight stay as it seemed... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Em0234
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Absolute blissful spa experience and overnight stay.

Another visit to Stobo castle where it hasn’t failed to disappoint. We were made to feel very... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
SuziePAP
,
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 503 reviews
322
All photos (322)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good16%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“my mum”(41 reviews)
“dining room”(28 reviews)
“relaxation room”(27 reviews)
About
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world.
Contact
Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Website
+44 1721 725300
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
358
84
37
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
358
84
37
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy mumdining roomrelaxation roombreakfast and lunchspecial mentionstobo castleon arrivalbirthday treatcocktail barfull body massagean overnight stayreception staffafternoon teahigh standardnothing is too much troublefood was amazingsteam room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with my daughter for the luxury spa day. We picked this over an overnight stay as it seemed better value for money. Was all a bit busy when we arrived and we weren't sure what to do but soon found our bearings. We spent...More

Thank Em0234
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very balanced review - I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us on the whole. I do apologise for the various lapses in standards that may have compromised the overall enjoyment of your day...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another visit to Stobo castle where it hasn’t failed to disappoint. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and the taking of your bags to your room is always a lovely touch that makes you start to relax instantly. We had such a...More

Thank SuziePAP
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fabulous review - it really gives our staff a huge boost to read such positive feedback. I was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights with another four friends for a special birthday. Amazing from start to finish. We were met at reception by Theresa who our friends had met on previous visits. We had the most relaxing two days. Food was amazing and we had...More

Thank iloveittravel
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Delighted to hear we matched, or indeed exceeded, your expectations! Thanks so much for joining us to celebrate your special occasion and look forward to the pleasure of your company again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I was treated to the luxury spa day to enjoy with my mum for my 21st birthday. We chose the full body massages and french facials as our treatments. When we arrived we were greeted and shown to the changing rooms, taken for a small...More

3  Thank Chelsea M
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your Stobo experience on Tripadvisor. I cannot apologise enough for the lapse in standards with regard to your first treatment - this will be fully investigated by our Spa Manager and appropriate action taken, I'm...More

Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

I emailed the link on Stobo’s website following a very poor spa day experience, did not get a response for days, eventually wrote poor review here and miraculously received a response ( on here, not to my original mail) that day! The response did not...More

Thank lee-ann060
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Guest, As you correctly state, a full response was sent via Tripadvisor, along with an apology for the delay in getting back to you. I can also confirm that you have been supplied with the email address for the Managing Director.

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My dad treated my mum, sister and I to an overnight stay with treatments at Stobo Castle as part of my sisters 40th birthday. My sister has always wanted to visit Stobo as she has a love of all things spa and where better to...More

Thank McErlaneGang
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very balanced review of your recent stay at Stobo. From the outset, I would like to apologise for the lapse in our usual high standards of service that compromised the enjoyment of your visit. Your comments have been passed...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love this spa , excellent service and beautiful place with large well decorated rooms and up to date ! Very clean and staff are fantastic! Treatments are great and food choice had a good variety! The cocktail bar is a new addition and we...More

Thank Joanne M
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very positive review. I was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your most recent visit however, I certainly take your point about the gratuity scheme. It is advertised as a maximum of £25 per account and...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Wow, what can I say. From our arrival at 9am on 2/4 to leaving at 5 pm our full day spa experience was 1 st class. My daughter had given me a voucher as a Xmas present and i can now say it's one of...More

Thank TheEdinburghers
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest, Huge thanks for posting such a fantastic review of your recent Spa Day - it really gives our staff such a boost to read such positive feedback! Delighted to hear your thinking in terms of a return visit - see you again soon!...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Stobo Castle - thank you for the excellent service! I stayed for 2 nights. The spa treatments were a much needed pampering session and loved the facilities on offer - defnitely recommend the aromatic steam room, hot tub and aquafit class. The staff were professional...More

Thank Amy L
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for posting such a positive review of your short break at Stobo. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed all the facilities on offer - inside and outside - and I'm particularly grateful for your high...More

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent facilities, staff and food make visits to Stobo wonderful from moment of arrival to sad departure time. Morning Spa with 3 course meal is highly recommended.More

Thank Emma M
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Guest, Many thanks for recommending the "Morning Chill Out" - we've recently upgraded the one course buffet lunch in the Coffee Shop included in this package to a full three course lunch in the Dining Room at no extra cost and it's proving really...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SuzyPower
29 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SuziePAP | Reviewed this property |
I usually take two as I like a choice but there is a machine in the pool changing rooms where you can wring out your swimsuit and then it’ll dry overnight in your room if you only wanted to take one. Swimsuit, bikini or... More
1
Vote
mrandmrsr84
7 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Angelica H | Reviewed this property |
My husband and I went for a half day and he was very relaxed. Yes, there are more women but it never felt awkward Hope that helps! :)
0
Votes
Emma T
4 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from annmustarde | Reviewed this property |
I'm very sorry, I don't actually have the information you requested. But I would highly recommend Stobo Castle to anyone! Hope you have an excellent time there.
0
Votes