We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tromso Friluftsenter

#10 of 79 Tours in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Kvaloyvagveien 667, Tromso, Norway
Phone Number:
+47 907 51 583
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.59*
and up
Northern Lights Chase Including Possible Bonfire Experience from Tromso
More Info
US$144.95*
and up
Orca and Humpback Whale Safari with Marine Biologist in a Zodiac from Tromso
More Info
US$132.27*
and up
5-Hour Guided Snowshoe Hill Hike on the Whale Island in Tromso

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 455 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 316
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Fun Whale Safari

We were recommended this tour by a Northern Lights tour company and it was great! Had a fun time going out on the water observing killer whales in their natural habitat. We went... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
JonahTray
,
Adelaide, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendly and helpful staff. The RIBs made a good, stable impression. Found both orcas and humpback whales very quickly. Would have wished the whales come nearer to our boat, thou. Unfortunately I did not even really see the promised biologist.

Helpful?
Thank Nostradamus A
Trine R, Manager at Tromso Friluftsenter, responded to this review

Dear .. im so supriced- are you sure you have been on our tour?? our marine biologist is talking and having a 40 min lecture on the buss out to the boats, he tells about the whales, history, how to see them, expectation, studies, identification etc etc.. You couldnt have missed him! On the boat the guiding stops because that... More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were recommended this tour by a Northern Lights tour company and it was great! Had a fun time going out on the water observing killer whales in their natural habitat. We went on a RIB boat so it was a lot more closer to nature. Our guide gave us a lot of information about the killer whales and also... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonahTray
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We took the whale watching safari on Biskop Hvoslef. We were picked up from Tromso and drove to another quieter harbour about 30 mins away. On the journey, our Marine Biologist Pierre told us about the whales, why they were there, how they'd evolved and some other interesting facts as well as how to spot them. The trip itself was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shani R
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Amazing trip! Always a pleasure going out to see the whales with you guys. You are very respectful to the whales, give a lot of useful information and made us feel welcome. Thank you guys! /Josefine, Lena and Ronny. Sweden

Helpful?
Thank Josefine Joss K
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We travelled with a full minibuss on a chase trip to find clear weather to the south of Tromso. This meant that we had to find a spot away from the usual base the company uses. Our guide, Knut, was very nice, professional, and did a very good job in creating a good atmosphere. The sky was very clear, however... More 

Helpful?
Thank 787Oistein
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The tour in itself was good but we chose this package because they promised to take portraits and upload them to Facebook. Our northern lights chase was 4th January and still as of the 15th the photos haven't been uploaded in full and the company is very dismissive when asked where the photos are. This is pretty poor given it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe J
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our guide on the bus was a marine biologist, Sam, and he gave us interesting information about the whales during our ride to the boats. This background information added to the enjoyment of the experience as we knew more about the whales and their habitat before going onto the water. On arrival we were given floatation suits before going on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate85105
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Our tour guide is very nice and prettty, she told stories of trolls and the eating contest with the trolls and the legends of tromso mountains. But we didnt see the northern lights at all, no even a shade of green in the sky. The trip should have been cancelled, they knew that it will be cloudy. We have no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hero Jun L
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our Northern Lights chase which we booked months before arriving was cancelled about 30 minutes before we were due to go because of bad weather. We of course were very disappointed but it was understandable. I asked if it was possible if we could go the next evening but I knew Tromso Friluftsenter were fully booked and being the Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Moreton-in-marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

An earlier start than the other whalers so you get more time on the water to do what you're paying for -watching whales. Very warm and good cold-weather kit, clean and not smelly like some I've worn! Confidence-inspiring guides and, above all, whales to see. I can honestly say I've now seen more whales in Norway than reindeer after today's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lightaholic

Travellers who viewed Tromso Friluftsenter also viewed

 

Been to Tromso Friluftsenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tromso Friluftsenter and other visitors
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Tromso Friluftsenter staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?