Authentic Scandinavia
Authentic Scandinavia
5
Sightseeing ToursScenic Railroads
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Authentic Scandinavia is based in Oslo, Norway and has been offering both guided and self-guided tours and experiences since 2008. We like to call ourselves specialists since we only sell what we know well. We always aim to give our travellers professional and personal service to help realize their holiday dream in Scandinavia.
Oslo, Norway

Awards
Travellers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travellers talk about
(9 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles169 reviews
Excellent
153
Very good
11
Average
1
Poor
2
Terrible
2

Renae S
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
I planned this trip for years before actually booking it. There was not a single glitch in our travels. Every hotel, every method of transportation, every museum tour had our reservations and was fabulous. All the hotels were beautiful rooms, friendly, centrally located by rail or bus stations and explicit directions how to get to each hotel or activity. Authentic Scandinavia could not have been more helpful in booking, answering questions & helping us get our travel documents. They truly made my vacation more than I even dreamed. There are not enough great words of praise and appreciation for Authentic Scandinavia. If you are planning a trip, I can't recommend them enough. Add on St Petersburg to your trip. It was one of my favorite places!
Written 2 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear 601renaes, thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour and are satisfied with the services provided! :) Best of wishes from Zsofia and the rest of the Authentic Scandinavia team!
Written 4 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jupa10
Chicago, IL21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Family
Wanted to see a good portion of Norway in a short period of time and found that Authentic Scandinavia had a great selection of very detailed and diverse itineraries to choose from that didn't break the bank. We chose the “Fjords & Hurtigruten” itinerary which took us to the 3 major cities over the course of 9 days with a variety of excursions along the way. They were super easy to book through and they did all the hard work to make the trip as seamless and smooth as possible. My parents and I enjoyed the trip and felt we left Norway having seen a great portion of the country through amazing experiences.
Things I would have done differently on my end now that the trip is over. This was my first cruise experience and was concerned about how I would fair on the hurtigruten portion of the trip. It ended up being my favorite part and i would love to do another trip up the whole coast and over to Svalbard. I also would have picked an itinerary that had more nature and less city. This itinerary had essentially 2 full days in Oslo, which was my least favorite part of the trip (though still very fun, just a different vibe).

Things I wish Authentic Scandinavia would take into consideration when planning trips:
While most of the trip was flawless and I really had no real complaints, I do feel there is always room for critique. As we were a traveling group of 3, me being a singleton and my parents being a couple, we did request 2 rooms in all hotels and obviously 3 seats for all transportation. The rooms were never really an issue and when it was it was often just the hotel not having rooms near each other available. The train tickets though were my only irk. We had 3 seat assigned train rides, only one of them were we seated truly together. The other two there was two sitting together with the third in a row behind. As we were traveling as a family, it would have been nice to be seated together, but again, this was not a crisis and honestly at least we were in the same area. It just seemed like something that they may have overlooked. Granted they knew we were three adults but I did often think what if it was 2 adults and a younger child, would they have been seated together? Perhaps it was also a similar thing to the hotels, where maybe there simply were not seats available that fit these needs. Regardless, though that would have made this a truly perfect trip, it is hardly a complaint and more of a suggestion that I’m sure they already take into consideration!
If I return to Norway, or venture to Sweden, Finland or Denmark in the future I will for sure be using Authentic Scandinavia to plan my trip and I will be looking for companies similar to it for future travel elsewhere!
Written 22 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Jupa10, thank you very much for your detailed review; we always appreciate receiving feedback so that we can continue to improve our services. We are also truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your Fjords & Hurtigruten tour and that you are mostly satisfied with the services provided! With regards to your comments about the hotel rooms and train tickets I would like to provide some additional information. If a booking includes more than one room or multiple seats on a train, they are always booked together so that the suppliers are informed that you are travelling together. Most times the hotel rooms are located close to each other, but this cannot always be guaranteed (especially not if the rooms are in different categories (e.g. triple, double or single room in the same booking). I would recommend asking for rooms close by when checking in as well. We will however send a reminder to the hotels we work with to keep this in mind. As for the trains the seats are assigned automatically by the train companies' booking system based on "best available seats" for the number of travellers in each booking at the time of booking. There is also very few seats in each compartment where 3-4 persons can sit together around a table; most seats are two and two seats in two rows. The advantage of train travel is however that you can move more around by swapping seats and perhaps sitting together in the restaurant train should this be free. We hope to hear from you should you wish to return to any of our locations - we are planning to add the cruise along the coast of Norway to Svalbard in the near future. Once again, thank you very much for booking your trip with us. All the best of wishes from the Authentic Scandinavia team!
Written 23 July 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve T
Stalbridge, UK21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Couples
We have wanted to see the West coast of Norway for awhile, we approached Authentic Scandinavia after coming across a link through Visit Norway, with less than 4 weeks notice we booked a bespoke two week break. Nicole with the booking team managed to book us into hotels, on train, boats and buses for our journeys.
Planning was first rate, AS even dealt with a mishap with baggage movement very promptly (the out of hours number is manned and works well).
The breakfasts in each hotel was outstanding catering exceptionally well for dietary needs, something that we worried about when talking about this trip.
The time spent in each location enabled us to see more of the sights and wonders.
Staying in a remote mountain hotel at the top of a valley, taking the train down to Flam ( our scheduled train was cancelled on the morning, so we were squeezed onto the next one which spoilt this experience). Boat journey out of the fjord with stunning sights.
Bergen is a great city with lots to do and see, fantastic restaurants all surrounded by mountains and fjords.
The road journey by bus to Stavanger is broken with two ferry rides so you can get up move about, good cafe facilities on board.
Stavanger another great city, with a trip to Pulpit rock, a hard hike if you are not used to walking and climbing steps (5 hour round trip for us) we also walked out to the Swords in the rock which is out of town.
We took the train to Kristiansand for our final part, a coastal town in the south, bustling with holiday makers and plenty to see and do.

Really pleased with the quality of the tour package and the expertise of Authentic Scandinavia team, we will definitely use them again for more tours around the region.
Written 15 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Steve T, thank you very much for your review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and are satisfied with the services provided! We look forward to welcoming you back to Scandinavia :-) All the best of wishes from Trude and the Authentic Scandinavia team
Written 27 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

niksk001
Philadelphia, PA773 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019
AS is not a proper tour company, but rather a ticket distributor and/or booking company. We have had all kind of issues when working with AS, including but not limited to poor communications, incomplete details and IT support (avoid using the Tripfuser platform). To be fair, you get what you paid for. Actualy, it would have been a lot less expensive if we booked all the train/ferry tickets and hotels ourselves. Consider other travel agencies or do bookings yoursef (if you can).
Written 22 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear niksk001, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We pride ourselves in choosing only the most reliable suppliers, and in putting the services together to create dream vacations for travellers from all over the world. It is therefore regrettable that you felt you were dealing with a ticket distributor or booking company. I notice that you mention the Tripfuser platform in your review; this is a fairly new travel platform that we started to offer tours through in 2019. We do have a good cooperation with them, but we also see that it can be a challenge sometimes when we are not responsible for the entire booking process as we are when offering tours through our own website. This is something that we have to take into consideration when evaluating our future cooperation. I would love to receive additional details from you, so please do not hesitate to send an email to info@authentic-scandinavia.com All the best of wishes from Trude and the Authentic Scandinavia team
Written 7 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aileen Kavanagh
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Solo
I recently booked the short 3 night cruise and stay in Tromso with authentic Scandinavia. I was a solo traveller, doing a cruise for the first time. The service was excellent. When i initally booked the trip, they promptly offered me a trip outline that met my selected dates and let me do all of the activities I asked about.

After booking, They sent the documents to me in a timely manner, within the timelines they set. This included a full, detailed itinerary of my trip that told where exactly I needed to go to do activities, meet boats etc. They also sent documents with a lot of details I normally have to research myself about travelling in Northern Norway and all of these took off a lot of the pressure and anxiety I would normally feel when travelling and doing a new experience.

I enjoyed my first cruise experience and visiting Tromso for the first time.

I am very happy and impressed with my experience with Authentic Scandinavia and will happily recommend them to family and friends in the future, and use them again in the future.
Written 13 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Aileen, thank you very much for your review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and are satisfied with the services provided! We hope to hear from you should you return to our part of the world at a later date :-) All the best of wishes from Trude and the Authentic Scandinavia team
Written 24 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kate B
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
We had an amazing time in Norway. Thanks to Authentic Scandinavia. We don’t normally book organised holidays but this is just what we wanted, all the train tickets, hotels and the buses were all sorted for you, you just had to turn up on time I’m being in the right place at the right time but that’s all explained very clearly in the itinerary.

We did the Bergen to Oslo train trip and it was stunning. There was one part of our journey that had to be changed due to the weather, but we got instant communication for Authentic Scandinavia and it was sorted straightaway. I needed to get in contact regarding our boat trip and that too was sorted straight away, it gave us peace of mind. If you needed anything there was always a really quick response.

The hotels were great, centrally located, and very near train stations. Their communication was excellent, always quick and polite.
I wouldn’t hesitate to book with this company again.

Thanks again, AS!
Written 21 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Kate B, thank you very much for your review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Oslo, the fjords and Bergen, and that you are satisfied with the services provided! We hope to hear from you should you ever return to any of our destinations :-) All the best of wishes from the Authentic Scandinavia team!
Written 27 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tracey C
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
We booked the Scandinavian Capitals & Fjords self-guided tour through Authentic Scandinavia and everything went seamlessly. We also booked extra nights accommodation to give us more time in some of the cities.

Travelled by train, boat, bus and ferry and were provided with detailed instructions on where to go, what time to be there and specific instructions as to how to get to our hotels, train stations and ferry docks.

So great to have someone else coordinate the hotels and transport between the three countries, but then be on our own to tour each city at our leisure. Thank you Authentic Scandinavia, we had a blast.
Written 27 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear N587KOtraceyc, thank you for your review! We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and are satisfied with the services provided. This inspires us a lot in our work :-) All the best of wishes from Trude and the Authentic Scandinavia team
Written 4 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patti I
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023
We took the Golden Route trip arranged by Authentic Scandinavia in July 2023. It was a wonderfully scenic experience. Traveled by trains, buses, ferries, and cruise ship. All connections were well planned and easily managed with backpacks and rolling carry-on luggage. We liked that the major planning was done for us. Accommodations were convenient, comfortable, clean and provided amazing breakfast buffets. We liked that we had the freedom to customize our time in each destination and options to modify the trip. We liked that we were not part of a large group moving around museums or attractions on a set schedule. We had a detailed itinerary provided by Authentic Scandinavia prior to departure which was adequate. They were responsive prior to departure by email and provided 24 hour support/contact numbers for use during the trip which we did not need.
Written 2 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Patti, thank you very much for your review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Norway, and that you are satisfied with services provided! It has been important to us from the very start to give our travellers the option to customize the itineraries by adding nights, experiences and selecting the preferred tour category. We are therefore very happy to hear that you enjoyed the flexibility this gives you :-) We hope to hear from you should you decide to return to any of our destinations at a later date. All the best of wishes from the entire Authentic Scandinavia team
Written 24 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Family
My husband and I booked the Northern Lights Ice Hotel Break package for our trip to Kiruna. It was overall a really great experience. The trip itself was amazing, and the combination of tours and activities felt appropriate for the amount of time. Nothing felt too rushed and it’s a great way to experience and the arctic. Authentic Scandinavia made the booking seamless, they were very easy to get in contact with, and kept up us to date with itinerary or last minute travel changes. The only negative was that the final itinerary that they send out with information about each stop and activity needs to be updated. We were told that we could rent snowshoes or cross country skis from the ICEHOTEL, but upon arriving we were informed that they no longer offer that option, so we had to change our plans slightly while we were there.
Otherwise it was a great experience, I would recommend booking through AS because it’s an easy all in one package and they organize everything for you.
Written 18 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Rebecca, thank you very much for your review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the ICEHOTEL and Abisko, and that you are satisfied with the services provided. We apologise for the error in our our travel documentation with regards to the information about the possibility of renting snowshoes and cross country skis! Regretfully we have not been informed about this change and will make sure to amend this information straight away. We hope to hear from you should you return to any of our destinations in the Nordics :-) All the best of wishes from the Authentic Scandinavia team!
Written 21 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lor G
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
We did the "Norwegian Fjords & Northern Lights" tour starting in Oslo, in December. We added an extra night in Bergen and Tromso. The itinerary that Authentic Scandinavia put together for this trip was amazing and we saw stunning parts of Norway. They were very responsive to any queries and we also booked the Northern Lights mini bus tour through them. Only slight criticism is that it was dark by the time with did the railway from Myrdal to Flam so we didn't get to see the view. Would've been happier to leave Oslo earlier to get more daylight during the travel. Otherwise a truly spectacular trip!
Written 3 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Lor, thank you very much for your review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and are satisfied with the services provided! When travelling during winter it gets dark rather early in Norway, but as far as possible we always book the highlights during daylight hours. However, on some dates during the festive season there are unfortunately no morning trains from Oslo to Myrdal. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return at a later date, perhaps in the Summer next time. All the best of wishes from Trude and the Authentic Scandinavia team
Written 9 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 161

AUTHENTIC SCANDINAVIA (Oslo) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

All Oslo HotelsOslo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Oslo
All things to do in Oslo
Amusement Parks in Oslo
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire