We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yates's Darlington - CLOSED

30 Skinnergate, Darlington DL3 7NR, England
+44 1325 481500
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Disapointed

Tried here on Sunday, bar staff miserable and uninterested. There was a party of four adults and 6... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2017
sanddancer106
,
South Shields, United Kingdom
via mobile
Won't go again

I have been to Yates many times. It has also suited what I have wanted. A variety of drinks for... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2016
Kimmington72
,
Darlington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Amazing food and drink at affordable prices! New management, better service!
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good15%
  • Average0%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible35%
21 Aug 2017
“Disapointed”
3 Nov 2016
“Won't go again”
LOCATION
30 Skinnergate, Darlington DL3 7NR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1325 481500
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Tried here on Sunday, bar staff miserable and uninterested. There was a party of four adults and 6 kids. Meals where cold, portion sizes where all mainly kids meal sizes!. Never seen such a small piece of pie! I asked for fish and chips and...More

Thank sanddancer106
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

I have been to Yates many times. It has also suited what I have wanted. A variety of drinks for different tastes. Simple plain food. I won't be attending ever again and will do my utmost to ensure no-one I know visits. Yates have been...More

Thank Kimmington72
Dan D, General Manager at Yates's Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear Kimminton72, We share your concerns with the group that attended Darlington on the 5th, and I would like to add we did in fact close the venue on this date until the group had left. We were named by the group as a meeting...More

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Not overly impressive. Despite being empty, my wife was stood at the bar alone for around 2 minutes before anyone arrived. The member of staff spotted her, but carried on wiping her cutlery! Maybe she should have concentrated on wiping the table which was ridiculously...More

Thank Tim J
Dan D, General Manager at Yates's Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear Tim J, I'm sorry to read of your poor previous experience, and sincerely apologises for the poor standard the venue was in on that day. As the new manager, I am working hard with the team to address concerns raised, such as your own,...More

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Yes it is a bit tired looking but it is what it is, it's really good value for money. Two meals for £6.95. A pint of carlsberg £1.95 you can't argue with that. There are better places to eat and drink but nothing cheaper than...More

Thank Bryan C
Dan D, General Manager at Yates's Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear Bryan C, We agree we offer great value for money! We're looking forward to a facelift in the new year that should see us all sparkly and new again. We hope you'll join us again soon! Kind Regards, Dan

Reviewed 25 May 2016

This place is disgusting!! We had been there a few times for breakfast and it wasnt great great but the place across the road was full so we made do. The third time we went there the eggs were underdone there was just clear slime...More

Thank monicabarker00
Dan D, General Manager at Yates's Darlington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear monicabarker00, I'm sorry to hear of your poor experience back in May, and I would like to sincerely apologise. Having recently taken over here at Yates, I am working hard with the team to rectify issues such as these, so your feedback is invaluable...More

Reviewed 6 March 2016

Left Wetherspoon's opposite prior to this visit, from bad to unbelievable, dirty grubby seating well passed its worst . Staff look as though they have no motivation and who can blame them Believe the Manager should pass all of the comments on Trip Advisor to...More

Thank Audilad
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We decided to go to Yate’s opposed to Whetherspoons (even though they are opposite each other) because having being there before, I was incredibly impressed with the food and the value. However, walking in on this visit I felt like all of that saving customers...More

2  Thank Daryl T
Management response:Responded 16 December 2015

Hello Daryl, I am sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with us at Yates Darlington. I'd just like to clear up a few points from your review. We aware that the decor isn't the best, unfortunately we are not entitled to a...More

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Actually well past its best. I really don't know why this place still opens as even on a weekend it closes before 9pm and my brother has found flies in his found twice though he was given a refund. Also they advertise drinks they don't...More

3  Thank Laureninedew
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Dirty unwelcoming place with expensive drink even when nobody in.. staff need a good wash aswell as the pub its self.... and never open after 10pm even most weekends (says it all)

Thank michael1975darlingto
Reviewed 15 May 2015

My partner and me went here for lunch last week and the food was nice so we decided to go back today 15/05/15. My partner ordered our meals, a coke for him and a latte for me from the man serving. About 15 minutes later...More

Thank Shauna R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bridgewater Arms
230 reviews
.06 miles away
Al Forno (Darlington)
917 reviews
.09 miles away
The Old Yard Tapas Bar
304 reviews
.05 miles away
The Keys
435 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Head of Steam - Darlington Railway Museum
228 reviews
.71 miles away
Darlington Hippodrome
204 reviews
.42 miles away
South Park
86 reviews
.53 miles away
Darlington Train Station
88 reviews
.54 miles away