The Hepworth Wakefield
The Hepworth Wakefield
4
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The Hepworth Wakefield is Yorkshire's award-winning gallery designed by David Chipperfield Architects which opened to the public in May 2011. The UK's largest purpose-built gallery in over 50 years, we celebrate the achievements of one of Britain's most significant sculptors, Barbara Hepworth, in the city in which she was born and raised. As well as the Hepworth Family Gift, a unique collection of Hepworth's working models gifted to Wakefield through the Art Fund, the gallery also holds the collection of the former Wakefield Art Gallery. Alongside collection displays, we also present a regularly changing programme of contemporary exhibitions by world-renowned artists as well as offering award-winning family and learning activities for all ages, a cafe bar and shop - a perfect day out for all the family. Admission charges apply. Free for Members, Wakefield District residents and children aged 18 and under.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Chris M
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Another bad parking experience.
    My issue, like so many others, is with the use of the car park and the managing company Parking Eye Ltd. I went to pay for our parking on arrival but as I entered the registration number on the machine keypad the screen went blank and I could not see the complete sequence. The machine requested my fee which I duly paid but no ticket came out of the machine which I took to be the norm. I assumed as this was an ANPR system the ticket was not a requirement. However, ten days later I received a demand for £100.00 for a 'breach of conditions' which I sent back on appeal. I was required by Parking Eye Ltd to prove that I had not breached their conditions, which of course, is an utter impossibility. They did however conclude that it was a major input error on my part and made me an offer of a £20.00 fine instead of the normal reduced £40.00. This offer means that you cannot pursue your case for an unfair charge/fine through the parking appeal body POPLA, meaning that Parking Eye net the £20.00 regardless of the state of their equipment and the fact that I paid the full parking charge. Beware, the odds are against you in these places, and these so called reduced charges are a trap to enable the company to extract money from the unwary.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear you had trouble using the car park but glad to see you have resolved this with Parking Eye. I hope enjoyed your visit with us and come back to visit us again soon. Listed on our website are other car parks nearby if you wish to use them for your next visit, Wakefield is also very connected by rail and the free city bus runs regularly to Doncaster Road. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
    Written 14 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 22 July 2023
  • Nevswim
    Rochdale, United Kingdom737 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Go if you like modern art
    Difficult to find initially. Wakefield one way system is a nightmare for visitors. We were meeting our Granddaughter who lives in Wakefield. Car parking was £4.00, but I hate those terrible machines that you need to put your reg in. The keypad is so worn you cannot see the lettering. No Cash so be warned....card or app. The building itself is better than the art in my philistine opinion. Pricey unless you live in Wakefield...(free) 2 pensioners £10 each, 2 coffees £6.30 and eventually 3 sandwiches £17.50. Tip ask for tap water...free. Staff very friendly. The views from the windows of the Calder and garden were good.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear you had trouble getting around Wakefield, if you have trouble with parking on any future visit then please come inside to our Welcome Desk and they will be more than happy to help you pay for parking with cash or card payment. We are very proud of our building and I am happy to hear you liked it. The exhibitions change regularly so keep an eye out on what we have coming up, you might find other exhibitions that you prefer. As we are a charity all the ticket income we receive is used to support our ambitious exhibition, education and outreach programme all year round. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
    Written 14 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 22 July 2023
  • Mary P
    Dunfermline, United Kingdom51 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    World class
    It is a world class gallery!The beautiful modern architecture sits among red brick converted mills on the river surrounded by riverboats and trees. The site has been made even more stunning by wonderful planting in the grounds surrounding it. Of course Hepworth is an iconic sculptor. She works at different scales and brings out the essence of the materials she works with with consummate skill. The exhibition of ceramics took my breath away and the knowledgeable guide answered every question. The food is great. Go see for yourself! Worth the challenge of finding it!!
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for your support. You might wish to join us as a member you can enjoy exclusive benefits that bring you closer to the gallery, including invitations to the exclusive openings of our new exhibitions and discount in our Café, take a look on our website under 'Support us' for more information. We look forward to your next visit!
    Written 14 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 29 July 2023
  • Kaitch
    Manchester, United Kingdom10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A Great Day Out
    My daughter really enjoyed the kids activities, which are wonderful for younger children, though everyone can enjoy working with clay. I particularly admired the ceramics gallery, with works by both new and established craftspeople. The prototypes of Hepworth’s larger commission pieces are also stunning.
    Many thanks for coming to visit The Hepworth Wakefield. We have activities for children on every day of the school holidays and every weekend and Bank Holiday too so always something to explore and participate in. I'm pleased to hear that you found inspiration in the galleries too. We change our exhibitions throughout the year so always something new to see. Thanks for your support and we hope to see you again soon!
    Written 16 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 31 August 2023
  • Sue N
    London, United Kingdom69 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The joy of Hepworth Wakefield !
    The entire experience was a delight starting off in beautiful sculpture garden where the designer Lizzie told us about her vision for this stunning space and it’s impact particularly during Covid . What a star are is ! Inside the galleries the staff were informative, enthusiastic and cheerful. Shop and cafe added more value but what shone through was the genius of Barbara Hepworth and her legacy reflected in additional ceramics and art by young talented women . Loved every minute !
    Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the temporary exhibitions alongside the stunning permanent collection of Barbara Hepworth works. We change the temporary exhibitions throughout the year so do call in to see us again sometime soon.
    Written 14 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 9 October 2023
  • julie D
    14 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    WOW!
    Having visited and loved Barbara Hepworth’s beautiful place in St Ives we decided to visit this gallery in Wakefield on the way home from visiting the Dales. The building itself is a stunner, surrounded by water and a gorgeous garden…the exhibition is outstanding and, particularly if you’re a Hepworth fan, you will enjoy a couple of hours here! Fabulous cafe and shop with very helpful and happy assistants!! Yes, the car park, although very convenient, is a pain but is independent of the Hepworth….keep your receipts!
    Thanks for taking the time to come and visit us at The Hepworth Wakefield. Many people make the journey to us after visiting the beautiful St Ives and I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.
    Written 14 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 12 October 2023
  • J&JJ
    Wakefield, United Kingdom5 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    More seating please
    This was our second visit since the opening and as we are residents of Wakefield we are going to keep an eye on the changing of the exhibitions and visit again. We would have given a score of 4 out of 5 if there had been more seating in the galleries. Being able to take our time, take a seat and read about the exhibits is what we enjoy and as far as we are concerned is what visiting an art gallery is about. This enhances the experience and helps you understand and appreciate what is on show. So please put more seating in the galleries and we may increase our rating to a four after our next visit.
    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your visit. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and have been to us a few times as local residents. We have just opened our new exhibitions by Kim Lim and Andrew Cranston and these do feature a few more benches in the galleries. You are always welcome to take one of our portable chairs around with you on your visit too and these can be found at the top of the stairs/near the lift just before you enter gallery one. We hope to see you again soon.
    Written 28 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 24 November 2023
  • Usuallyaboutfood
    90 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Always a good choice.
    Have visited probably a dozen times and it’s always a pleasure. The galleries are well set out and the staff are professional and friendly. The garden is lovely. We don’t always eat there but when do - like today - the food has always been very good . Can tell the produce is quality. Slightly pricey though ( a £13 board gave 1/2 sausage roll ,a slice of cheese and a slice of ham plus bread and pickle ). Coffee is excellent. And it’s all spotlessly clean.
    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor with us and enjoy the rotation of exhibitions throughout the year. If you haven't thought about it already you may benefit from a membership with us, feel free to ask about it when you next visit.
    Written 16 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 13 December 2023
  • Jools
    Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom7 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Another victim of the carpark scam.
    Another victim of the carpark stitch up. The app wouldn’t confirm/work so went to the machine, entered reg number and paid via card. It printed what I thought was a ticket, didn’t check, put it in my window. Had another lovely visit to the amazing gallery, ate in the coffee shop and spent in the gift shop. Total was £88+ Few days later got a parking ticket notice. Checked the “ticket” and it actually said “void transaction”. I appealed the charge and told I wasn’t successful. Lovely galleys, visited several times, driving from just outside Blackpool specifically to visit. I won’t be returning due to the parking scam unless the penalty is waved. More than happy to pay £4 and support the gallery but feel very aggrieved. Please Hepworth, get a different company to manage your carpark, this is now affecting you and your visitor numbers. Look how many complaints on here alone.
    Firstly, I'm pleased to hear that you had a good visit to the gallery and enjoyed the visit around the exhibitions. With regards to the parking ticket it is important that you check the ticket when it comes out of the machine as this will both include the information of the time of your visit and will also print your full reg number as inputted into the machine. We may be able to help when parking notices are first issued so are more than happy to look at them before they reach any potential appeal stage.
    Written 16 May 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 4 March 2024
  • Vlillik
    Solihull, United Kingdom129 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Stunning Sculpture
    I’m a huge fan of B H’s work and have looked forward to visiting this gallery! Upstairs is fabulous and you can sit and look and draw for as long as you wish. Outside is a wonderfully designed garden, soft with colours and textures. There’s a small cafe downstairs with plenty of seating. The only downside was the unfriendly staff on the entrance desk. Parking is metered over the road.
    Hi, thanks for your kind review and taking the time to come to visit us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the building and exhibitions and hope you found inspiration on your visit. Please be assured that we share feedback with all departments to see where we can improve in future. We hope to see you again in the future.
    Written 16 May 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 8 March 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,319 reviews
Excellent
694
Very good
351
Average
146
Poor
70
Terrible
58

Becky K
Holmfirth, UK7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
I visited The Hepworth on Sunday 23rd May with my husband and two children. We used to visit the gallery frequently before lockdown restrictions were imposed and were really looking forward to returning - it's always been one of the best free indoor attractions in the local area - the building is interesting to explore, the artwork is wonderful, and we've enjoyed taking part in free art workshops with the kids.

Unfortunately when we arrived, we were informed that entrance to the gallery, which used to be free, would now cost £12 per adult. I had checked the website before our visit and nowhere did it state that entry was no longer free. In fact, the banner at the top of the website even said "Free Entry". We would never have chosen to visit a gallery that cost £24 to enter when visiting with two small children (I'm sure parents will appreciate, kids' attention span when visiting an art gallery is unlikely to justify paying an entrance fee).

We ended up just going to the cafe instead. We had already paid £5 for parking by this point and couldn't justify paying £24 for something that used to be free. It's extremely sad that this is another example of the arts becoming more and more inaccessible to the public. I imagine this price point will put a lot of visitors off.

Oh and I've just checked - the banner saying "Free Entry" has gone, but it is still not clear on the website that the £12 entrance fee is for the whole gallery. The wording suggests the entrance fee is for the Barbara Hepworth: Art and Life exhibition. It needs to be MUCH clearer that visitors won't be able to access any of the gallery (apart from the cafe, shop and garden) without paying £12 per adult.
Written 26 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We were really pleased to finally reopen last Friday with our 10th anniversary exhibition, Barbara Hepworth: Art & Life. This is the largest exhibition of Barbara Hepworth's work since the artist's death in 1975. Contemporary artists Tacita Dean and Veronica Ryan have also been commissioned to create new works are presented within the exhibition. This is the first time an artist's exhibition has taken over the whole gallery so our admission charges do apply to the whole gallery. There are lots of different ways that people can support us and gain access to exhibitions. At just £60 our joint membership presents great value and gives you free admission to exhibitions as many times as you like as well as discounts in cafe and shop. Admission is free for children aged 16 and under, and Wakefield District residents. We also offer free explore and draw bags for children to use in the galleries which are quarantined and thoroughly cleaned between use. As a charity all of the income we generate from ticket sales, the cafe and the shop is used to support our exhibition, learning and event programmes.
Written 27 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DWMcload
Manchester, UK50 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
We had an hour in Wakefield with my son and I saw the most interesting thing to visit in this town is this museum and the bridges over the river. I saw there is a playground outside and with a long day travelling that would give great opportunities for my son to do physical activities and enjoy himself. But more than half of the playground was closed down with fences, so we found it pretty small and boring. We later went into the building for a few minutes, but no 5 years old will enjoy this kind of arts.
Written 3 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your brief visit to Wakefield. We always welcome families and offer a variety of activities to engage children, including free Explore and Draw Stations in the galleries and free family activities throughout the year. The play area next to the gallery is owned and managed by Wakefield Council so unfortunately it is outside our control. I will forward your comments on to them.
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

A.P.W
Barnsley, UK471 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Couples
This is quite an expensive experience, firstly £5 to park this gets you a full day but in my opinion this is way too long. £12 entry fee, per adult, concessions for N.H.S and O.A.P. We started off in the cafe, not a good decision ! £19.50 for 2 small Luke warm coffee’s 1 chicken sandwich which was very poor mostly greasy leg meat a pile of soggy leaves on the side, the small brownie was quite nice … but waited ages for the drinks, definitely not worth the price or the wait. The garden was okay, few seating areas, the exhibitions were okay… probably us that just didn’t appreciate this kind of art? as it seem to get very good reviews on T.A. and lots of visitors. We have been meaning to go there since it opened as we live fairly close, I’m glad we went but not in a rush to return.
Written 21 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi. Thanks for leaving your review and for visiting. Your feedback will be passed on to all the relevant teams. Our exhibitions change all year round so we hope you return again in the future.
Written 28 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

482SarahB
Manchester, UK8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
Our last visit 2 weeks ago was the first time we've returned to the hepworth since before covid times. We used to visit regularly and since we were so made up with our return visit to Yorkshire sculpture park the week previous, we thought it would be nice to return here too...
£5 to park, wouldn't be too bad if you could spend all day here but our visit never lasts more than a couple of hours. We thought since entry to the gallery was free it was worth the charge. When we arrived we were sickened to find it is now £12 per adult. Having already committed to parking we thought it must at least mean some great new exhibitions were awaiting us. The majority of the exhibitions were the same as what we saw on our last visit before covid times, some 3 or 4 years ago. We went from room to room hoping for something we hadn't seen here before.
The cafe used to be a highlight of this place. The interesting menu has been replaced with mediocre selection of sandwiches, of which only 3 were available on the day we visited. The space feels lifeless and as far removed from a high quality exhibition space as you can imagine. The shop was equally disappointing. The hepworth branded merchandise dominates the retail offering.
The whole visit took less than an hour. It took 45 minutes to drive there, and the same back. I emailed the hepworth immediately after our visit to request a refund on our admission given our anger and disappointment, but in keeping with the rest of the experience they declined our request.
We wont be returning.
Written 25 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your visit. We are very proud of our current exhibition 'Barbara Hepworth: Art & Life' which takes over all ten galleries and was opened last year. The exhibition is the largest since the artists death with many pieces on loan. Our exhibition schedule this year also features work from Sheila Hicks, Jade Fadojutimi and Hannah Starkey so I can assure that our curatorial team work hard all year round to bring some amazing work to Wakefield. We sincerely hope at some point you consider returning to visit us again but in the meantime thanks again for providing your feedback which I will share with all the relevant departments.
Written 30 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PaulfromLondon1960
London35 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
The gallery itself is an interesting piece of architecture. The current Hepworth exhibition however does not sustain itself over the whole gallery...perhaps not helped by the current restrictions making a visit a bit less pleasurable. Also the gallery has some over-zealous (perhaps even officious) staff regarding mask wearing. One perhaps for a more mixed exhibition...
Written 30 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for your feedback. At the time of your visit the use of face coverings was mandatory so staff were asking visitors to wear a face covering if it wasn't obvious that they were exempt from doing so. Now that restrictions have been relaxed we are continuing to ask visitors to wear face coverings to protect themselves and others. There is more information about our current Covid response on our website.
Written 24 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BINARYGORGON
CUMBRIA10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
The Hepworth is worth visiting for it's permanent exhibitions.
At the moment though they have an exhibition on celebrating Bill Brandt/Henry Moore which is till May. This was really worth visiting and well worth the admission price.
One more thing if having refreshments in the cafe I heartily recommend the rhubarb scone.
Written 11 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MaccTraveller99
Macclesfield6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Whilst the collection of Brandt prints is excellent, the viewing of them is ruined by the dreadful Perspex cases that many are enclosed within, and by the dreadful lighting arrangements.

Because the cases slope at an angle to the vertical, they catch the reflections of the overhead spotlights. Also when one stands directly in front of the prints, the shadow of one’s head from the lights is cast across most prints.

Additionally, for some of the prints, the reflection of the illuminated green emergency exit lights appears in the middle of the prints.

This is all dreadful and ruined the experience of being able to view this superb collection. Who thought of this arrangement, and why wasn’t it tested beforehand? Viewing predominantly black prints needs careful thought and appropriate lighting. Neither seem to have occurred.

Very unprofessional, and uncharacteristic, curating by the Hepworth.
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry to hear that you had a compromised experience of the temporary exhibition and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The Perspex cases in the Bill Brandt | Henry Moore exhibition were designed to highlight the materiality of the photographic medium, allowing us to show the works unframed and draw attention to the photographic prints as physical objects. We take great care in lighting our exhibitions however, due to the ceiling heights and lighting track placement in our galleries, it is unfortunately not possible to avoid reflections of spotlights or shadows of visitors completely when showing wall based works. The cases were angled to ensure that shadows were not cast over the prints by the seams of the Perspex, which would have fallen much lower if the cases hung parallel to the wall. The conservation needs of the photographs also mean that light exposure levels need to be kept very low, preventing us from introducing more light into the spaces. We will take this opportunity to review the lighting design to see whether any improvements can be made at this time. Thank you once again for taking the time to write and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Written 4 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joe D
Leeds, UK11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Family
My 15 year old daughter and I enjoyed the art work and the information about Barbara Hepworth’s life and work.
We took our time and spent around 2hrs in the gallery it was too cold and wet for the gardens.
Note it’s no longer free but at £12 for adults and children been free it felt like good value for the two of us. The car park is £5 regardless of how long you stay which I think is expensive when we were there 2hrs.
Written 3 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello. Many thanks for leaving a review. The galleries are a great place to visit on a gloomy day and fortunately the garden looks great in all the weather that Yorkshire sends our way too. We have just introduced lots of activities for families so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Written 1 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daphne M
Cardiff, UK240 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Couples
I have wanted to visit since discovering Barbara Hepworth’s Sculpture Garden in St Ives in Cornwall some years ago.. This year celebrates the 10th anniversary of the museum opening so was a perfect opportunity to visit given the extensive exhibition currently on show at the Hepworth Wakefield. What can I say? It was all that I hoped for and more. The museum is beautifully curated and the light is just perfect. Some of the exhibits moved me to tears. Her work is sublime. The galleries are set out in logical sequence so one is able to follow her life and the development of her work with interesting written materials and film footage on display to complement the sculptures. Additionally there is a small sculpture garden attached to the museum which is exquisitely planted and very enjoyable. The cafe on site offers delicious food and drinks for all tastes and of course there is the obligatory gift shop at the end.
Well worth a visit!
Written 7 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JaneF44
Leeds, UK12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
We went to the Hepworth for the long awaited Bill Brant/ Henry Moore exhibition.

The exhibition was fantastic - really interesting to learn more about Henry Moore as an artist, rather than a sculptor.

As we visited in these COVID times, we were a bit nervous - but I have to say that we didn't need to.

It is very well managed, and we had no issue at all. The exhibition is in a number of smaller rooms, and at no time did we have any concerns. There is clear route marked round, but plenty of space and time to stop and look at the exhibits. The staff are cleaning in between, so no worries about any shared surfaces. The toilets were very clean too.

So I think the Hepworth staff have done a great job to get it ready, and it was good to have a cultural fix again.

Go along and support them,
Written 17 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Visitor safety is our priority and we are thrilled that you felt safe and welcome during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the gallery soon!
Written 22 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,309
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE HEPWORTH WAKEFIELD (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Wakefield HotelsWakefield Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Wakefield
All things to do in Wakefield
Spas & Wellness in WakefieldAmusement Parks in WakefieldCasinos & Gambling in Wakefield
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire