We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlisle Racecourse

Is this your business?
Features Animals
Durdar Road, Carlisle CA3 0AQ, England
+44 1228 554700
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great day out!

We spent the full at Carlisle Racecourse and it was a great day out for all. Following a day of... read more

Reviewed yesterday
LeeDSimo
,
Wigan, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent views of the course

This was a very enjoyable day out with lots of places to watch the races from. Reasonable prices... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
gr0bs0n1
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
Read all 111 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
In recent years Carlisle Racecourse has fast become one of the premier attractions in the region, with the extensive redevelopment of existing facilities and the introduction of various others, PLUS, a significant increase in race day visitors and not forgetting its convenient location, extensive free parking and 250 acres of parkland! Carlisle Racecourse really is the perfect venue for any event, however large or small.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“race course” (13 reviews)
“parade ring” (4 reviews)
“race goers” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Durdar Road, Carlisle CA3 0AQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1228 554700
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We spent the full at Carlisle Racecourse and it was a great day out for all. Following a day of successful betting the stage opened in the middle of the racecourse and we were treated to an evening of live music by singer Jess Glynne....More

Thank LeeDSimo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a very enjoyable day out with lots of places to watch the races from. Reasonable prices for food but the timing of the buses back to town were a bit disappointing. There was a good atmosphere with young and old made welcome.

Thank gr0bs0n1
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I liked it a lot. There are plenty of places to get up high above the ground near the winning post to see the action. The parade ring is close by and the surrounding countryside looked lovely. We went for an August evening meeting and...More

Thank garstonian
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My very first visit to a racecourse. Very enjoyable experience, and I came back ahead. Excellent facilities

Thank 190brianp
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable time. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed the night at the races with the added bonus of nice weather. Awful traffic on the way to the course meant we missed the 1st race. This event was very busy and queues for bars and toilets were very long. We were both...More

Thank saralittle85
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Went to Carlisle racecourse yesterday,not a bad day out except for the overpriced food. The Lakeland lamb hotpot was nothing more than pieces of lamb in gravy ( Nothing like hotpot) . The chip 'butties' were the worst I've ever had (not very good chips...More

Thank Kath C
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We have visited Carlisle Race Course previously but the same problems still remain. . We booked the punters package in advance to save queuing and make it easier for us to get a drink and some lunch as they provide vouchers in advance. We approached...More

Thank Jacklin5460
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The facilities on the track have not improved over the last 20 years , focus has been taken away from the racing and turned to corporate functions and wedding events.

Thank Dez S
Reviewed 29 May 2017

You won't be going to Carlisle for top class racing, although a few decent NH horses might be seen here. Prices are attractive, and viewing areas are pretty good. Food is OK, but service can be slow and a bit disorganised at times. Parking is...More

Thank Paul S
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Was a good day eventually, the queue to get in was ridiculous, the organisation at the turnstiles was chaotic to say the least which was the main cause of the horrendous queue, never been in one as long.

Thank fatcontroller2
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Old Hall Cafe
109 reviews
1.18 miles away
The Nosey Cow Inn
52 reviews
1.49 miles away
Fontana's Fish & Chips
67 reviews
1.81 miles away
Gatehouse Cafe
27 reviews
1.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Eden Rock
105 reviews
1.72 miles away
Aztec Soft Play
126 reviews
1.91 miles away
Vue Cinema
130 reviews
2.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BrigadierGerard
17 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Lordcoverdale | Reviewed this property |
I did see dogs there. usual rules apply. on a lease and keep away from the paddock/ring. website or a call to the course should confirm.
0
Votes