We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scarborough Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Castle Rd, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
+44 1723 372451
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 16:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

BLUE BADGE PARKING ONLY IS AVAILABLE. OTHER PARKING PLEASE USE LOCAL PAY...

BLUE BADGE PARKING ONLY IS AVAILABLE. OTHER PARKING PLEASE USE LOCAL PAY & DISPLAY. Head through the imposing gatehouse and step into 3,000 years of history. Explore the castle headland with one of our experienced guides for FREE or embark on your own journey through history with one of our audio tours and gain a fascinating insight into its past, from Iron Age settlements, to the Roman signal station and medieval chapel. The castle's heyday was in the 12th century when it was developed by Henry II and King John. This mighty castle has seen action in some of England's most defining battles. It was twice besieged by Parliamentarians in the Civil War, and has defended king and country from the Jacobites, Napoleon and the German Kaiser, when it came under bombardment during the First World War.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,332 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 714
    Excellent
  • 443
    Very good
  • 129
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Walk around

Ideal to get out of your hotel and have a wander.. This was a real nice walk and interesting read whilst walking around. The only complaint I would have is the hard sell to... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
V2913DPedwarda
,
Leyburn
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,310: English reviews
Leyburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ideal to get out of your hotel and have a wander.. This was a real nice walk and interesting read whilst walking around. The only complaint I would have is the hard sell to join English heritage, We did not expect this and disagree with it. I hope they don't do this with the elderly! Besides this I would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank V2913DPedwarda
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello V2913DPedwarda Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Scarborough Castle and a great walk around the 16 acre headland. It is unfortunate you felt you were reviving a 'hard sell' when it came to membership. This is something we don't want our visitors... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited whilst on a weekend break no parking at the castle although there is pay and display parking nearby my child loved the castle as did my partner and myself. I last visited here about 30 years ago and am pleased to see the preservation efforts that have happened over the years the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Andrew B, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Scarborough Castle with your family. There is no parking directly on site, but plenty near by and the town centre parking a short walk away too. I would just like to take this moment... More 

Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Scarborough Castle came to life for us with Elliot as our tour director. He was knowledgeable and his theatrical descriptions made the castle come alive for us.

Helpful?
Thank rolofadang
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello rolofadang, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your guided tour with Elliott. They really are great ways to experience the site and brings the 3000 years of history to life. They are well worth joining when they are available and I would recommend them to any... More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely loved visiting the castle. The head phones telling you what happened was a fabulous idea. Very windy but sunny day you need to wrap up. We all loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank knightvicky
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello knightvicky, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and the use of the free audio guides. They really are great simple additions to a visit which help bring the sites history to life. The souvenir guidebook is another great way to take in and remember... More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very good place, lots of history !!!,dog friendly which is great, its amazing how they've preserved it, tickets were a fairly good price, lovely little gift shop,,staff very friendly, would really recommend !.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lizloo
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Lizloo Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Scarborough Castle. The site is very dog friendly, that is also a great aspect of a number of other English Heritage site. I hope you can make it back to Scarborough Castle soon and take in... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited today on a cold new yrs Eve, having first visited Anne Brontes grave in the neighbouring church, and then on to here. The main plus point was the view of Scarborough, less so the actual castle, and for what it was, the £6.10 price was a little steep. Still, it blew the cobwebs away, please note, very windy (as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward M
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Edward M Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for choosing to spend your New Years Eve day up at Scarborough Castle. The views for the headland really are spectacular and make a great back drop for the sites 3000 years of history. On a future visit why not take advantage of the... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best way to approach the castle is on foot, either from the path starting at the Luna park on south bay or royal Albert drive on north bay. Either way the climb is steep and you need to be reasonably fit, but it is much nicer than approaching from the town. You can get to within about 50m by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DavidK3
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello DavidK3 Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Scarborough Castle. The natural defences of the castle does make the approach to the headland up hill, but like you said when taken steady its well worth it for the views. It would also be good... More 

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The silhouette of the castle is the distinctive icon of Scarborough. The position of the castle is superb and so has stunning views over sea, town, and both north and south bays. Because of the position access is not always easy by car- with congested narrow roads. But well worth the walk up to it, and in any case the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1949etwall
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello 1949etwall, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit. I couldn't agree with you more when it comes to the position of the castle, it really makes for an iconic landmark and leaves you with views that can not be matched! I would recommend any future visitors... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always find castles interesting - and although our visit was slightly 'at a distance' it was good to see. I've been a few times - never disappoints.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello Andrew E, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. What a shame you didn't make it up to the castle when you were last in the area. The castle really is an iconic structure and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Don't forget to check the website and the opening times before your visit.... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

Too be honest, when I visited the castle as research for my book "Scarborough - The Town In A Day", I was a bit disappointed. There's plenty of info available about the castle on site but do bear in mind the castle is a ruin. Don't forget that you'll need to apply your imagination to fully appreciate these crumbling fortifications... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
Scarborough C, Manager at Scarborough Castle, responded to this review

Hello James B Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry to hear you found your visit to be disappointing, although I was a little confused as you also state we are 'big and impressive'. You are correct, we are not Warwick Castle which is operated by Merlin Entertainments. Here at Scarborough we are governed... More 

Travellers who viewed Scarborough Castle also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Scarborough Castle and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Scarborough Castle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?