We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
Phone Number:
+44 1723 373414
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 16:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8...

New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8 armed friends in our incredible new feature opening this February Half Term. Now Open: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their babbling waterfall! Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 2,050 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 626
    Excellent
  • 607
    Very good
  • 447
    Average
  • 228
    Poor
  • 139
    Terrible
Loved seeing all the animals

We arrived as it opened at 10am and pretty much had the place to ourselves for an hour! It was good fun to see the otters, seals etc as well as all the fish.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Chris C
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

2,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 2,047: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived as it opened at 10am and pretty much had the place to ourselves for an hour! It was good fun to see the otters, seals etc as well as all the fish.

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us here at Scarborough Sea Life and paticulary enjoyed looking at our Otters and Seals. We hope to welcome you back again at some point in the furture. Mnay thanks and kind regards Hayley More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here as we were staying in the Yorkshire Moors and this was only 15 minutes away. I'm not normally keen on zoos or aquariums but after reading up about the rescues they do and breeding programs, we decided to give it a go. The cost on the door is £18, if you book online it's 'half price'. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay N
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Kay Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed looking at our animals and that you found the talks and staff to be very informative. I will be sure to pass this great bit of feedback on to the rest of the team. Regarding the car park it is in fact council owned and we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The general place is dirty cold food replaced by inedible asked for refund but was refused they just wanted a 3rd stab at cooking it. The 3 people on the surrounding tables all still trying to get refund as i write this. The animal shelters look about as clean as the cafe.not a compliment. £18 each for entry is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Ashley I am sorry to hear you was disappointed with the food in our restaurant. I am fully aware of the day in which you refer to and can confirm you was in fact refunded for the food. Our Chef did cook your order for you again however you were still unsatisfied as you stated 'you did not like... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We paid just short of £50 for a family of 4 of us. The family day out we had planned turned out to a few hours, we were round the whole thing in about 30 mins. It was to busy to see any of the animal shows and there where very little animals out to see. The kids did however... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank daisyh2012
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear daisyh2012 Thanks for your trip advisor review. We would welcome your specific feedback to our customer services team so that we can understand your review better. Please email our team at the following address: slcscarborough2@merlinentertainments.biz Thanks Sophie More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here in November, very disappointed, had to wait ages to get in, the whole place is tatty and desperately needs cleaning. Cafe closed. Don't think I'll bother going again...😢

Helpful?
Thank TravellingMattBrid
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear TravellingMattBrid Thanks for your review following your visit in November 2016. I am saddened to learn of your disappointment. As November is off peak I am very surprised to see that you state that you waited ages to get, to confirm as volume at this time is very low and this is not something we have had stated before... More 

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absurdly expensive for the amount there is to see. Even with 40% off we paid £32 for two adults a 4 year old and a 15 monther. Attempts made to cover up the shortage of marine life through the (virtually compulsory) group photo experience, crazy golf, restaurant and merchandise centre,.Easily the worst of the 10 or so Sea Life Centres... More 

Helpful?
Thank NIGEL586
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Nigel586 Thanks for your review on Trip advisor. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment. With tickets starting at £9.50 when booked on line and in advance we believe we offer a competitive price for a visitor attraction. Our centre has over 50 marine tanks and over 1000 marine animals including, 22 Humboldt penguins, 7 resident rescue seals... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a fab few hours here on a recent stay near Scarborough. Perfect for families. Good price if booked in advance online.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Vicky H Thanks for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your day with us. Regards Sophie More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first visit to this Sea life centre and was very impressed with the different species of fish, seals and penguins, but found the restaurant very expensive, Cheese and Tomato Panini £4.95 and a 750ml bottle of water £2.00 Take your own its cheaper

Helpful?
Thank STUART W
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Stuart W Thanks very much for your recent review. We are so pleased to learn that you were impressed with the exhibitions and variety of marine species on display. We note your feedback surrounding Panini prices, to confirm this price of £4.95 includes a tub of Pringles and a drink which we feel represents good value for money. Our... More 

lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic from the moment you walk in until you leave.Plenty to do and see,it is worth reading all about the creatures on the wall mounted info.You cannot just go in gorp in a tank and move on,like some did.YOU NEED TO READ THE INFO TO GET THE MOST FROM THE VISIT .Watching the animals being fed was informative and fun... More 

Helpful?
Thank stevensteve67
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review SEALIFE Scarborough. I am really glad to hear you had such a fantastic time with us! we hope to see you back again soon, Kind regards, Steph More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As it's half term I let my younger sister choose where to go for a 'day out'. She picked to go to the Sealife Centre (worst day to choose it really as it was blowing a gale and pouring it down). So I rang the centre just to double check it was still open, which it was but they might... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann_Mary1
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review SEALIFE Scarborough. I am really glad to hear you had such a fantastic time with us! we hope to see you back again soon, Kind regards, Steph More 

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Stanley, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?