We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Half Moon Lane | Pepperstock Near Slip End, Luton LU1 4LL, England
Phone Number:
+44 1582 872001
09:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun 10:00 - 16:00
Mon - Wed 09:00 - 17:00
Thu - Fri 09:00 - 18:00
Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 35 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
  • 9
    Very good
  • 5
  • 7
  • 0
Lunchtime with treats

The dangers of sitting among the groceries are you have plenty of time to consider all the things you might buy after lunch. If you just want a toasted tea cake, a jacket potato... read more

Reviewed 23 February 2017
Sallyann P
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 35: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We popped down to Harper's as not far from us and spud loves their pasties and cakes !!! Normally a Friday after school kind of treat. Whilst your down there you can pick up lovely deli bits for the weekend and they have an on site butchers - Gorgeous is all I'll say. A nice place to pop down to... More 

Thank Clare C
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Discovered this place by chance on Saturday afternoon. It looks very inviting as you drive up, for me, the goods for sale were good, over priced but good. We decided to stop and have a cup of tea and a piece of cake, surprisingly this was good value. I found the staff and atmosphere to be lifeless. At 3pm on... More 

Thank Andrew C
Level Contributor
475 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice farm shop and deli with a well laid our coffee shop but sad to say, expensive for what you get.

Thank Alan P
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I am fortunate to live very near Harper's. I regularly meet friends for a coffee or lunch. The car park is very big, so have never had a problem parking. There is a pleasant area outside the main shop with tables so you can enjoy your drinks and food outside. The food in the cafe is all home made. The... More 

Thank Hertfordshire2014
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

The dangers of sitting among the groceries are you have plenty of time to consider all the things you might buy after lunch. If you just want a toasted tea cake, a jacket potato, quiche and salad or lunch of the day you won't feel out of place if you only order a sausage roll or sandwich but whatever your... More 

Thank Sallyann P
Debbie C, Customer Sales & Marketing at Harpers Food, responded to this review

Thank you for your very appreciative comments. Our aim has always been to offer a relaxed, friendly place for shopping & eating! The aroma of our summer BBQ products was just one of our popular monthly tastings, where we ask visitors to"Taste & Try" our old & new products, and we value all comments. Our forthcoming open days are always... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Went here 18th feb with my girlfriend.made to feel very welcome and stuff were very friendly and helpful to find me al seating in cafe so i could elevate my broken foot.food and coffee was really nice and they had a great selection to choose from.prices were good to.was my first time visiting here and shall be returning

Thank Darren E
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Farm shop is very good .. However the restaurant was very slow service and the macaroni cheese and salad was just about adequate as the macaroni was very strong tasting of leek, which keeps repeating ,and not very strong tasting cheese, and the salad had a lot of brown lettuce suggesting that it may have been old. The ice cream... More 

1 Thank Davej S
Debbie C, Manager at Harpers Food, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention your view of our shop & coffee shop. Please accept our apologies for the very slow service. However, from Monday to Wednesday this week we did have 3 members of staff of sick - which would account for the slow service. Lessons have been learnt, and training is being put into place for... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017

My first and last visit to Harpers Food - just of the main A1081 Slip end turning. Fair sized car park upon arrival. Once inside the layout is of a café area, frozen foods, fresh cakes, etc plus butchers shop. Frozen items did look costly, but are not your usual supermarket brand . There was a long wait to be... More 

Thank henlowboy
Debbie C, Customer Sales & Marketing at Harpers Food, responded to this review

We do appreciate all comments and act on them accordingly. We are aware of the queue at lunchtime periods in our coffee shop, and are in the process of employing extra staff. We take customer service very seriously, if possible please let me know: time/date of your visit, the meal you chose and a description of person who served you.... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017

I came to lunch here today with family and on the whole the food was not that good. My son had sausage and mash with TINNED peas and carrots, my cheese sandwich was the most un-generous sandwich i have had, very little cheese, scraping at best of margarine and the lasagna had a piping hot dish but cold (from frozen?)... More 

Thank sindymagnum
Debbie C, Customer Sales & Marketing at Harpers Food, responded to this review

We do appreciate all comments and act on them accordingly. Slip End, is a village which comes under the town of Luton. As we are near Luton Airport & junction 10a of the motorway quoting Luton seemed the best option. We are very concerned your cheese sandwich was un-generous, we are looking into this further as in over 40 years... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Always a lovely place to visit with friends and on your own, where you are welcomed by the owners and the food to eat in or take away is first class too. Susan & Cindy

Thank Susan B

Travellers who viewed Harpers Food also viewed


Been to Harpers Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harpers Food staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?