We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
Phone Number:
+44 1303 212070
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 49 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Lovely Setting

Nice selection of drinks and lovely sea views. Quite expensive but worth it with the views you get and the people in there when you compare it to other places to drink in the... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 January 2017
pembleK
,
Canterbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
great missenden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect for a cocktail,or two !, before eating in the restaurant. Perfect for a coctail or two even if not eating in the restaurant !!

Helpful?
Thank raymonddaley
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Nice selection of drinks and lovely sea views. Quite expensive but worth it with the views you get and the people in there when you compare it to other places to drink in the immediate vicinity.

Helpful?
Thank pembleK
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I wound not be returning to RockSalt. A spontaneous trip to which is usually a pleasant place for friends and I to socialise, was completely ruined due to rude and disrespectful staff. I on this day was wearing gym shorts and a t-shirt, like I said a spontaneous visit, so didn't dress for the occasion. I was looked up and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack T
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your feedback which will be passed onto the team. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent experience. If you would like to discuss this any further with one of our managers please do call in on 01303 212070 and ask for Jack or Sarah. The Rocksalt Team More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Moving down to the Folkestone area, soon. Decided to have a wander around and ended up heading for the Rocksalt restaurant, as had heard good reports, from our current neighbours. Was were instructed to go upstairs as we only wanted a light snack / lunch. Thereafter, we waited 10 mins before any member of staff came across asking if we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your first experience with us wasn't all we would want it to be. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday. The Rocksalt Team More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016

We had lunch on the terrace on a glorious sunny day. It was comfortable with a nice outlook, a very pleasant location. Sadly the food was disappointing - actually, really disappointing. Looked promising on the menu but the foccacia sandwiches were dull, the chicken wrap was drenched in sweet sauce (my young companion said it was like one she had... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephnh
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your food with us and we sincerely hope you change your mind and decide to give us another try someday. The Rocksalt Team More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We had a friend from out of town visiting a and it was our mums birthday, so we thought we would bring them to have a lovely cocktail with brilliant views. Unfortunately waiting half an hour for a cocktail, also with a reminder after 15 minutes, we had to leave! Leave alot of time if you want a drink

Helpful?
Thank Fran S
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your feedback which will be passed onto the team. We are so very sorry that your wait time for drinks was unacceptably long. I would like to assure you that this is not usual at all and unfortunately was a combination of staff letting us down and the sun bringing lots of people into... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

Popped into the bar for lunch on Wednesday with my wife - fancied fish and chips while we was out and spotted this bar just round by the harbour- staff were very nice and after placing our order only had to wait 10 mins until it was served - Fish was lovely as were the chips - had heard a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jasemfc
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We are regulars at Rocksalt and other cocktail bars and have been for a long time. The cocktails at Rocksalt have gone considerably down hill - a lack of effort by the staff. The cocktails arnt presented very well anymore and you get the feeling that the bar staff don't enjoy thier job! A smile wouldn't go a miss. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank FromLondonto-
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your feedback which will be passed onto the team. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent dining experience. If you would like to discuss this any further with one of our managers please do call in on 01303 212070 and ask for Jack or Sarah. The Rocksalt Team More 

Saint Mary in the Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Visited this bar for the first time recently after eating in the restaurant many times but what had let it down was the noise of everyone conversing loudly. The drinks were great, though the cocktails choice was limited; the prices very good indeed, the view at night over the harbour when the lights are on is fantastic, the seating with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roman S
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday. The Rocksalt Team More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Visited the Rocksalt Bar on 16th February with a colleague. We both ordered the beer battered cod. Unfortunately, time constraints meant we didn't send a disappointing meal back, but I wish we had. The rock hard beer batter was disguising a floppy and watery cod. We did tell the waiting staff who said they would pass on the comment to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer D
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal in the bar. We do wish you had come and spoken to the team at the time who would have dealt with your complaint. We get many compliments about the food in the bar and are so sorry to hear of your experience. We do... More 

Travellers who viewed Rocksalt Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rocksalt Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rocksalt Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?