Wolverhampton Racecourse

Wolverhampton Racecourse: Hours, Address, Wolverhampton Racecourse Reviews: 4/5

Wolverhampton Racecourse
4
Game & Entertainment Centres
Read more
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.0
326 reviews
Excellent
154
Very good
93
Average
42
Poor
17
Terrible
20

d_mengella
Preston, UK179 contributions
Dec 2021 • Friends
Paid £23 for the premier suite. Nothing premier about it, needs a serious re furbishment. Very dated with basic table and chairs. Bar staff friendly enough with average prices. Decent viewing area. 2 bookies in the room which was a good idea. Didn’t try the food. Would return but investment is needed.
Written 23 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you found our premier suite to not be premier. I am pleased to inform you that investments are coming to Wolverhampton Racecourse, and we working hard on these investments. We are pleased to read however that you would return. Sam Blount - Hotel Manager
Written 11 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

joannef15
Birmingham, UK85 contributions
Dec 2021 • Couples
We have been visiting this race course for a few years ( when allowed # covid ) with friends for a Christmas night out. We book a meal / disco and nights stay. This year we arrived checked in and weren’t told that despite our room and the restaurant being on the 3rd floor that the lift wasn’t working.
We were seated in the restaurant and the tables were very close together and was a pain when ever anyone needed to get up the people on the next table also needed to move to allow us to get out. The bar in the restaurant needed more stock didn’t have any lime ran out of bottles of lager, the poor waiting staff didn’t seem to have had much training. The only really good thing was the food it was delicious. The disco was good but we decided to pop down to the bar area in the hotel which also seemed to be lacking in stock no Bacardi no Baileys.I get were going through a pandemic but they should have the bar basics. The breakfast was good as usual. It’s always a good night but just a few niggles this time.
Written 19 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read the lift not working at the time hindered your experience with us. I am pleased however, to let you know the lift has been fixed. Unfortunately this was an issue that was simply out of our control. I am sorry you had a poor experience with our Horizons team, I have passed on your feedback to our catering manager. Unfortunately we no longer stock Bacardi White Rum, but now stock Captain Morgan's White Rum. I am pleased to read however our breakfast was good and you had a good food experience in Horizons. I am sorry once again for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay, despite this, I hope we can welcome you again soon. Sam Blount - Hotel Manager
Written 11 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

why_always_me_No1
Northwich, UK99 contributions
Dec 2021 • Couples
Having been marginally disappointed ( mainly down to the return of racing after Covid et cetera) by a trip to horizons restaurant at Wolverhampton races some months ago.
We were kindly offered premier lounge tickets and complimentary drinks on our return . I have to say all staff were absolutely fabulous and did everything to make our return as enjoyable as possible. The staff in the premier lounge were on top form as was the atmosphere despite it being a cold blustery day . Well done to all staff concerned.
Written 4 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is so pleasing to read that we managed to turn a bad experience into a great one. Your review will be posted for all to see :). Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future Sam Blount - Hotel Front of House Manager
Written 13 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Colette
Barlaston, UK56 contributions
Nov 2021
We had a really great night overall however we paid £65 a head to sit and have a meal at the horizons restaurant … the food was ok but cold and served on cold plates
The service for drinks was extremely slow
The whole operation seems to be reliant of staff under 21 while most were very polite and worked hard one young lady was very rude
We had to wait a long time for the bill and a manager … 3 supervisors later the final lady who dealt with our complaint was really good admitted they aphave service issues and reduced the bill drinks significantly
Written 1 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback from your visit. I am sorry you experienced some short falls with your visit, rest assured your feedback has been passed over to our Catering Teams who will ensure action is taken against your points. I am pleased however the supervisor was able to rectify the service issues and made it right for you. I do hope we can welcome you again soon so you can experience our true level of hospitality. Sam Blount - Hotel Front of House Manager
Written 13 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

daltonblue
Dalton-in-Furness, UK369 contributions
Nov 2021 • Couples
We arrived at the racecourse just at a point it should have been opening. This was delayed due to an inspection so we decided to have a drink whilst waiting. I went for Bombardier but it wasn't available so shipyard it had to be. Well overpriced even for a racecourse.
The racing was given the go ahead and so the advanced tickets on my phone were shown to get access to the premier enclosure. Three machines later it actually worked.
Up to the premier enclosure and the first thing you noticed was how cold it was. Yes it was cold outside but the radiators weren't switched on and the little heaters didn't put out much heat.
The vast majority of people sat in a lounge all afternoon wearing coats, hats and scarves. This isn't ideal for the extra cost of premier tickets.
Who knows if we go again it will have to be the summer because we won't be putting up with that again.
Written 1 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I am sorry to read you were disappointed by your visit. As you may be aware the hospitality industry has been experiencing shortages of many kinds, and unfortunately the Bombardier was short on this occasion, we can only apologise for that. I am sorry that you found the Premier Enclosure to be cold. We have experienced some issues with out heating and have temporarily rectified with this with electric heating, unfortunately this can not always be as effective. We are currently waiting for our engineers to be able to fix this issue. I do hope you will consider visiting us again so you can experience our true level of hospitality. Sam Blount - Hotel Front of House Manager
Written 13 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amy J
2 contributions
Nov 2021 • Friends
Unprofessional staff members, only a handful of staff were polite & did their job properly. The rest of them didn’t have a clue or were too busy flirting with the race goers! The man in the flat cap was miserable & rude. The food was an absolute disaster from starter to dessert! Missing items on each course so even though different people on the tables had ordered the same dish the food served was completely different. We had to ask numerous times for our food. The Food was cold, drinks were overpriced & warm! We were a party of 50 quests dining in the horizon restaurant we used to attend yearly before Covid & always enjoyed the evening but we have all said we will never return. So AVOID AVOID AVOID! Only gave 1 star as couldn’t leave 0/5
Written 29 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, It is extremely saddening and disappointing to read your visit was not a great one. We always strive to give the best experience at Wolverhampton Racecourse, and clearly we dropped the ball here. I ask, if you could email some more details of your visit to info@wolverhampton-racecourse.co.uk and one of our team will be in touch with you. Kind regards Samuel Blount Hotel Front of House Manager
Written 30 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

psteer
Prescot, UK353 contributions
Nov 2021 • Family
Just writing in to inform of some concerns we had over the standard of service at the Horizon restaurant 13/11/21. We booked a party of six, four adults and two children to celebrate a belated 40th birthday after Covid restrictions were relaxed. We suffered numerous issues on this occasion. Firstly the started arrived and the kids starters were missing. After we had already finished ours still no sign of the kids food. Asked repeatedly and were told they were on the way. We then asked for the manager who went to the kitchen himself and brought out the starters for them. They waited over 30 minutes which was not really acceptable. Main meals passed without issue. Then asked for deserts in which the adult deserts arrived but no signs of the kids deserts. Again and again we were told they would be coming but no sign. Again the manager went to the kitchen and brought them out around 30 minutes after we finished ours. We ordered a bottle of wine and prochecco for the meal which arrived 30 minutes after we finished and only arrived after another supervisor got involved and brought them personally with more apologies. We ordered a second bottle of wine and two pints of larger, never arrived for an hour after multiple complaints, to be told yours are the drinks we didn’t know which table they were for. Towards the end of racing we ordered more drinks but we never got them. We did check the bill at the end of the night and they hadn’t been added so paid what we owed.

This whole experience did ruin the birthday celebrations overall as we felt frustrated during the whole evening. We have been so many times previously and spoke so highly of previous experiences that we decided this would be were we wanted to celebrate. After travelling to race meeting up and down the country for last 20 years this has been the worst experience. I do feel the whole experience has made us think twice about trying this service again.

We have emailed in our concerns/complaint but have heard nothing back.
Written 19 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, I am sorry to read of your poor experience in our Horizons restaurant. I ask you email your concerns to info@wolverhampton-racecourse.co.uk with your details and a member of the team will be in touch Kind regards Samuel
Written 20 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David B
25 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
Thank you very much for an excellent evening service at the race meeting it made my wife's 70th birthday so special the rooms as normal spotless again many thanks see you very soon Dave and Pat Burrows
Written 5 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback from your visit. It is always pleasing to receive feedback of such a positive nature. We certainly hope to welcome you back again. Best wishes Samuel Blount - Hotel Front of House Manager
Written 8 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

stephencrossley47
14 contributions
Oct 2021 • Friends
Not Covid safe Awful food Awful service Rude staff that don’t have a clue my food was spilt over the waiter one hour wait between starters and main
Written 2 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I am sorry you experience issue's during your visit with us, and we ask you email us with more details to info@wolverhampton-racecourse.co.uk, so we can investigate further Kind regards, Wolverhampton Racecourse
Written 8 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

stuart m
Willenhall, UK20 contributions
Oct 2021 • Friends
Had a great night here at the races..toilets could do with a spruce up..quite a few there so a great atmosphere..couple of negatives though...firstly the bars and food stall didn't take cash ..card only..even though the bookies pay out in cash..secondly..the queues at the bar were ridiculous..missed two races due to queuing
Written 4 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you taking the to time to leave feedback. It is pleased to see overall you had a good visit with us, I am sorry about the negatives though. As a company we have made the decision to become a cashless venue as have many other stadiums and stadia. I am sorry you had to queue at the bars, and we have taken measures to ensure we staff the bars appropriately. Hope we can welcome you back Sam Blount - Hotel Front of House Manager
Written 8 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 325
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wolverhampton Racecourse

Wolverhampton Racecourse is open:
  • Mon - Sat 09:00 - 17:00


Restaurants near Wolverhampton Racecourse: View all restaurants near Wolverhampton Racecourse on Tripadvisor