We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essington Fruit Farm

276 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Essington Fruit Farm

276 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Wolverhampton
276Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 82
  • 21
  • 22
  • 22
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karenlisa66 wrote a review Jan 2021
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom27 contributions12 helpful votes
I cannot understand the negative reviews. This place is fantastic, the produce is fresh and top quality, locally produced. It is quite expensive but well worth the extra cost due to the quality. My only negative is that although you can get items like cream, milk and juice in glass bottles there is still alot of unnecessary plastic used, if this can be addressed it would just make a great place greater. Staff are so helpful and polite and in these covid times I can honestly say its the safest place I've been to shop.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from EssingtonFarm, General Manager at Essington Fruit Farm
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Thank you for your 5-star review, we really appreciate it. We've done our best to keep the shop a safe environment for people to shop during the pandemic so your kind words are good to hear. In regards to the plastic use, we are looking at ways to reduce plastic or find eco-friendly alternatives where we can, for example some of the trays that the butchery use are biodegradable and our carrier bags are compostable. We will continue to improve this and thank you for the feedback. Many thanks, Becky
Read more
Laura A wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
On Sunday myself, my partner and my 2 year old attended the PYO pumpkin event. We have been coming here now for years. This is our fourth year attending this event. Im very grateful that this event still went ahead regardless of the current Covid situation. However, we were very disappointed. The farm is usually decorated beautifully for Halloween and is very good and engageing for children. This year it was very dull and very depressing, it made the current situation feel even more dull. The tent is usually decorated and have areas to take photos with you child. However the tent was empty. It just had some stands with some pumpkins on. You had to pay at a tent which again, was very dull. It wasnt enioyable for children or even for adults in that matter. Understandably the cars and tractor ride were not on due to Covid but im not sure why? Limited numbers were on site as it was pre book only and seats/equipment could of been sanitised between use. Especially when many other places and events were doing things abd had made their event a lot more fun for children. I just feel that this PAID event wasn't worth the money. After picking our pumpkins we headed up to the farm shop. We asked the gentleman on the door if we could leave our paid pumpkins in the wheelbarrow and if he minded watching them. We said if not one of us would remain outside with them. The gentleman assured us he would watch our pumpkins however when we came out of the shop they had all been put back onto the farm! This issue was resolved however my overall experience this year was very disappointing and i will not return next year.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Muqtadir H wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Yesterday I went to the farm with my wife after a very long time. We walked into the shop where they were following COVID SOPs but it seemed like there were different rules for different customers according to race. The staff at the till was extremely rude towards us. We went to pay for our items and we were served by an old lady at the till. She Abruptly told us to stand behind the line. We stood on line, waiting for our things to be scanned. At the other checkout we saw a white man paying for his things but he was never told to stand behind the line. He was standing next to a staff member at the till, not even 2 metres apart. We were quite shocked that we were told in a rude manner to stand behind the line, and this other man wasn’t. We recognised one of the staff members who served us from a previous incident at the farm shop and her behaviour towards us was bad then too. Why do your staff have such discriminatory behaviour towards Asians??? My wife was so upset by this behaviour because she lived in Essington as a child and she visited the farm with her parents all the time, so unfortunately the experience has been ruined by racist mannerisms from your staff. Maybe you should all do equality and diversity training. Please stop this kind of behaviour towards Asians, we are all sensible and educated people. Treat others with respect as you would like others to respect you!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from EssingtonFarm, Public Relations Manager at Essington Fruit Farm
Responded 14 Sep 2020
Hi Muqtadir, thank you for your feedback and we're truly sorry to hear of your experience. We do not condone racism in any form at Essington Farm so it is very disappointing to hear that you felt you were treated in this way. Our current COVID policy is that customers do remain behind the marked lines to ensure a 2m distance and all customers should be asked to adhere to the rules to keep both customers and staff safe during these times. Would it be possible for you to email us your telephone number so we can get a few more details about your visit and the staff members who served you? Our email address is info@essingtonfarm.co.uk. Again, thank you for your feedback and we are sorry about your experience. We hope to hear from you soon. Many thanks, Becky
Read more
MichaelSteph wrote a review Jul 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Staff are rude! Fruit is nice Prices are reasonable Will not be returning until all this nonsense with COVID is over. We only wanted to pick strawberries I’ve been coming here to do just that for the last 25 years and not once have I been in a field FULL of people so I’m not quite sure why it’s been closed get a system in place if it makes you feel better but seriously get some new staff.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
james wrote a review May 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Don't usually go for my meat here but I was passing so thought I would give it another try after not being impressed with a lamb shank I had bought previously. Decided to give the pork ribs a whirl. Can honestly say I have had more meat on a Linda Mcartney sausage. I have had a lot better from supermarkets. I wont be visiting there again.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EssingtonFarm, Guest Relations Manager at Essington Fruit Farm
Responded 25 May 2020
Hi James, thank you for your review. We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment with your meat from the butchery counter. We will take your feedback on board, and I will pass it on to the relevant managers for their review. It'd be good to hear more about what you bought and your experience - please could you email us your telephone number so a member of management can get in touch? Our email address is info@essingtonfarm.co.uk. Again, very sorry to hear about your experience. Many thanks, Becky
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Essington Fruit Farm