We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bluebell Railway

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Sheffield Park Station, Uckfield TN22 3QL, England
Phone Number:
+44 1825 720800
Website
Today
10:15 - 17:15
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:15 - 17:15
Description:

Founded in 1959 and still steaming! We run steam trains between Sheffield...

Founded in 1959 and still steaming! We run steam trains between Sheffield Park and East Grinstead on over 200 days each year, and are open even when no trains are running.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 910 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 601
    Excellent
  • 202
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Awesome

Me and my brother (my brother especially) enjoyed coming here to see all of the trains and it was fabulous, all the staff smiled and waved and gave all the precise information we... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
Sophia R

Similar Things to Do in Uckfield

Add Photo Write a Review

910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 903: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my brother (my brother especially) enjoyed coming here to see all of the trains and it was fabulous, all the staff smiled and waved and gave all the precise information we needed.

Helpful?
Thank Sophia R
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely appalled- having done this for 10 years and become a bit of a family tradition!!! Firstly obviously have less trains running as booked 2 days into lines going live and no 1st Class left so booked 3rd class for 9. On arrival our seats had been allocated to someone else and with no apology we were ushered to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank caggyg
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, caggyg, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. We are sorry to read of your disappointment in your visit. Regrettably, seats are occasionally double-booked, and we would like to apologise if the issue was not resolved in accordance with your expectations. We assume that by "the amusements that you pay extra for" you... More 

Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went on the train from east Grinstead the other day. Was a lovely way to spend the afternoon. Was bit pricey at £35 for 2 adults. My advice bring a wee lunch and have it on the journey.

Helpful?
Thank barneygumble06
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, barneygumble06, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your trip. Your ticket allows you to travel all day, and discounts are often available for advance booking. Our visitors are welcome to bring their picnics, and there is a picnic area available at Sheffield Park, although this... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed. As other reviews said Santa breezed through train, but did give a nice present which went down well. At the Grotto have to say worst Santa ever. "Have you got a list" no we said we've already posted it, so not even a Ho Ho Ho from Santa just pushed back out again! Also had to then spend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Mark S, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. We are sorry to read that you found your visit disappointing. We value all passenger feedback, both positive and negative, and your comments will be taken into consideration when we plan next year's Santa Specials. With best wishes from all at the Bluebell Railway. More 

Uckfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter in law and myself took my three grandchildren for this special treat on the Panto special. We were very disappointed. It looked promising when walking through the 'grotto' with reindeer and snow etc but from there on it went downhill. The special 'observation' carriage was cramped and uncomfortable particularly when trying to deal with a beaker of tea... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy415
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Maddy415, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. We are sorry to read of your disappointment during your visit. Your comments will be taken into consideration as part of our ongoing review of all the products we offer, so that we can enhance the day out we offer to our visitors. With best... More 

Ringmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was booked to go out on a train with a group of friends and my husband (for a meal), but on the day we were due to go, my 6 month old son was taken into hospital with meningitis. Fortunately, after a week he was better, but when I phoned up the Bluebell Railway, I was informed by a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Sharon C. We are firstly very sorry to read that your son was taken ill, and are glad that he has now recovered. The terms and conditions for our Golden Arrow dining train (we assume this was the trip for which you booked) state that refund cannot be given for cancellations less than one month... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bit disappointed with this trip. Santa raced through the train and at his grotto we were rushed through and referred to as ' the next lot "! Ten years ago I went on the same service and had a very different experience. Carol sheets handed out with a violin player . A glass of wine included rather than extra. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilaccake
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Lilaccake, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. Unfortunately our violinist is no longer with us, and although we aim to make all Santa trains Special, we are disappointed to read that your journey did not meet your expectations. We value all feedback, and will take your comments into consideration when planning our... More 

Horsham, Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took our two young girls on the Santa Special expecting a magical experience for our daughter's first time meeting Father Christmas, but we were disappointed. Like an earlier reviewer said, he walked through the train just giving out the presents and not stopping to talk to the children. I don't think he even made eye contact with my girls.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Laura M, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. We are sorry to read that your trip on our Santa Special train did not meet your expectations. We review all customer comments, both positive and negative, and your comments will be taken into consideration when we plan next year's service. With best wishes... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have had Sunday lunch twice on the Bluebell railway and also took the grandchildren on the Santa express. Both attractions are really well run and great fun. They are ver dog friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My in laws like to take the children on a santa train ride every Christmas and we usually go to Tenterden. Bluebell is closer to us so gave it a go this year. I have to be honest, if the in laws didn't like to do it for the kids it's not something I would pay for and it does... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lianne83
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Lianne83, and for your recent visit to the Bluebell Railway. We are sorry to read of your disappointment following your trip on our Santa Special. We aim to provide a great day out, and your comments will be taken into consideration when we start planning for next year's Santa Specials. With best wishes from all... More 

Travellers who viewed Bluebell Railway also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
Hadlow Down, Uckfield
 

Been to Bluebell Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bluebell Railway and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
West Sussex
Southam, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bluebell Railway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?