We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries

Review Highlights
Always friendly and actually quite flexible!

We love using WightLink as pedestrians to go over to the IOW. And during my last trip I even... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TJ_HookerTravels
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Annual visit to IOW

Booked again with Wightlink from Lymington to IOW and took the car. It is easy to book on line and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
AngieP49
,
Poole, United Kingdom
Read all 402 reviews
113
All photos (113)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“foot passengers”(26 reviews)
“earlier ferry”(21 reviews)
“day trip”(42 reviews)
About
Wightlink is the leading cross-Solent ferry operator carrying almost five million holidaymakers and Islanders to the Isle of Wight every year. Whether travelling by foot in just over 20 minutes or by car in under 45 minutes, Wightlink’s modern...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
New Forest, Lymington SO41 5SB, England
Website
+44 333 999 7333
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
205
122
36
13
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
205
122
36
13
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foot passengers earlier ferry day trip isle of wight costa coffee car ferry return journey short crossing sun deck smooth journey ferry service loading and unloading comfortable seating passenger deck terminal building takes minutes great ferry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Booked again with Wightlink from Lymington to IOW and took the car. It is easy to book on line and on arrival they scan your ticket and you then get in line to get on the ferry. This time we were on the upper deck...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AngieP49
Reviewed 4 days ago

Walked into Lymington Ferry terminal at 1340 , bought a senior citizen ticket 1 hour later sitting in a cafe in Yarmouth My bicycle in tow

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank kn0t4sail
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love using WightLink as pedestrians to go over to the IOW. And during my last trip I even managed to get 30% off as it was Black Friday! Epic. The ferries are always clean and the staff friendly. They're also very flexible with changing...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TJ_HookerTravels
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi TJ_HookerTravels I'm so pleased you love travelling with us and thank you for sharing your experiences with other TripAdvisor readers - it is much appreciated! I hope it isn't long before we can welcome you back on board again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's comfortable, gets you to the other side and they serve food and drinks. It's mostly reliable however cancelled on me 3 times in the last 6 months. I use it almost every week though... Also take your coat in winter as the heating is...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank galopujacarozkosz
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi galopujacarozkosz Thanks for writing your review. I'm sorry you're experiences of travelling with us have been mixed. I do hope you will continue to travel with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently sat in the queue at 8am Thursday as normal for a days business trip. Once again the terminal Costa cafe is completely closed up!? Do you not think people who have got up in the middle of the night, driven miles to...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank BJWG
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi BJWG I'm very sorry you're unhappy with our Costa outlet. The opening hours aim to match demand but we'll happily pass your feedback about this and the service you tend to receive to our retail management team. Sorry once again.

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We use this ferry often, unfortunately, it’s the most expensive ferry on the island but the location of it makes it the most convenient for us. Cancellations and delays are constant with this company which is very annoying. Even more frustrating though is their complete...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Familythattravels16
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

I'm very sorry you've been affected by the recent disruption to our service while one of our ships is out having repairs made. My apologies also if the communications have not been timely or as up to date as they could have been. You'll probably...More

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Yet again I find myself stuck at the terminal waiting for another ferry that no doubt will be running late, if it hasn’t already caught fire. Unfortunately I have to quite often use this service. More than likely there will be some sort of delay...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank N8468CXphilG
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Rob, If you have been affected by any of the recent delays or cancellations due to essential repairs to one of our ferries on that rout, you could be due some compensation. you can apply for this on the 'contact us' section of our...More

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Wightlink at thier worse again... We live on island and occasionally take day trips to mainland with kids to go cycling for the day... Today we decided to go to the new forest with family (2 adults and 2 kids)... We have had no problem...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 563karln
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Karl Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear that you had issues when travelling with your bikes. Our website does have a vehicle size guide which advises you to measure both the length and the height of your vehicle to include any extras...More

Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

If ferries are going to be unreliable (they are) can we at least have up to the minute information on timing. The ferry is currently over half an hour late due apparently to engine problems. The Wightlink website tells me all services on time! An...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AnthonyEdward
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Hello Anthony I'm very sorry you've been affected by disruption to our service while one of our ships is having repairs made. My apologies as well that the service status wasn't updated all the time yesterday. I received many messages from this system but I'm...More

Reviewed 23 October 2018

We used Wightlink to travel to the Isle of Wight and back from Lymington. Their terminals are clean and efficient. The staff is capable and friendly. We were able to make our bookings on the internet. We had good weather days for both trips so...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank James P
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hi James Thanks for travelling with us and for sharing your review. I'm glad the weather Gods were kind to you and I hope you'll travel with us again before too long!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
1,777 reviews
.24 miles away
The Mayflower
334 reviews
.30 miles away
Stanwell House Hotel
1,791 reviews
.45 miles away
Passford House
854 reviews
2.48 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 124 nearby restaurants
The Elderflower Lymington
674 reviews
.38 miles away
Greedo
97 reviews
.43 miles away
Ciao Belli
228 reviews
.43 miles away
The Kings Head
604 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 nearby attractions
The Solent Way Walk
197 reviews
.20 miles away
Lymington Yacht Haven
110 reviews
.47 miles away
Lymington Sea Water Baths
201 reviews
.31 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DarrenF1185
27 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hi Darren As bonjgb1009 has replied, our teams will always do their best to help get early arriving customers on their way, space permitting. If it is busy you may be asked to return nearer to your sailing time (as space... More
0
Votes
Mandy S
13 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hi Mandy Once you have booked your ticket you will be asked to check-in at least 30 minutes before the departure of your sailing. We ask customers not to arrive more than an hour before their sailing, as space at the port... More
0
Votes
lucasmasters96
25 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hi Lucas There's no need to show a driver's licence when arriving at our ferry terminals. Some of our discounted fares - such as our Multilink Passes, require photo ID so some customers use their driving licence or... More
0
Votes