We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre

155 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre

155 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
155Reviews13Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 7
  • 2
  • 5
  • 11
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shona M wrote a review Nov 2020
47 contributions11 helpful votes
40 years since I last rode a horse but owner made me feel comfortable and secure.Horses are obviously well looked after .Location and scenery are beautiful .Owner showed his expertise in getting stirrups right before I even mounted. A great riding school.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Matt wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Found this place on line wonderful reviews tried ringing and ringing and leaving countless messages they never got back to us totally unprofessional avoid avoid avoid really awful service
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Hanna wrote a review Aug 2020
Öland, Sweden6 contributions
This riding experience was quite disappointing really. Me, my friend and her mother signed up for a 2h hack about a year ago. We have all been riding before and are at a medium to high riding skill, which I stated in my bookning. We were met by a young employee who seemed rather bored and uninterested in us being there. Very little information was given to us unless we asked. I would've recommended that one of the employees gathers the group before each ride and just go through what's gonna happen and how before, during and after the ride and open up for any questions. Anyway, we got our helmets and were paired up with horses, though with little help to adjust the stirrups and just overall bad communication from the staff. No one made sure we were comfortabe or asked if we needed any help. Just because you're an experienced rider doesn't mean that you are comfortable in a new setting, on a new horse in a foreign country. Even our groups most experienced rider, who owns her own horse, was a bit nervous. The staff need to work on their people skills, they need to be able to talk to the customers and make them feel safe, regardless of the customers riding experience. The staff communicated alot amongst themselves but we pretty much felt that they avoided us and just wanted to get this ride over with. Our group was paired up with two others, a couple, of which one was a complete beginner. We were put in a paddock where we were going to just ride around for a bit, getting a feel for the horse and try to walk and trot. The ones who wanted to canter were told to just do that, which was very hard in a small paddock when the other horses were just trotting. The beginner in the group obviously didn't want to canter, neither did the horses since they all wanted to be at the same pace. The instructor even tried to whip my friends mothers horse to make her canter, which caused the horse to buck. This was a very inconsiderate and unprofessional thing for the instructor to do, and my friends mother was not prepared. Of course, this was NOT the horses fault in any way. The scene of the ride was beautiful, though we walked and trotted the whole time because our group was paired with the couple including the beginner. Needless to say, it would've been better if our group of three could just have gotten its own instructor since we knew how to canter and we wanted to canter. When we asked if we could pick up the pace and canter, we were told to hold our horses for a while and then canter to catch up with the others. But as we all know: horses walk in packs, they are reluctant to leave the group and also reluctant to canter if the other horses are trotting. We kept walking and trotting our way back and were told to leave the horses in the paddock and proceed back to the trailer/office to pay our 50 pounds each. The actual ride lasted for about 1h 20min and would've been even shorter if we hadn't asked to trot more than the instructor wanted to. We payed for a 2h hack. Overall, a beautiful scenery and nice horses but the actual service and performance of the riding experience was just disappointment upon disappointment. I'd say that just some simple customer management courses could help this business alot. As a customer I want to feel welcome, I want to be well informed, I want to establish a relationship with my instructor and I want to feel that effort is put into giving me a really good experience.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from HighlandsUnbridled, Owner at Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre
Responded 22 Aug 2020
I am sorry that your experience was not as it should have been. I am not sure when you rode with us last year, and without that information, it is difficult for me to find out which members of staff were responsible for you on this ride. We had a period of about 2 weeks last year when we were very short staffed due to a senior ride leader having to leave us at very short notice, whilst myself and another senior ride leader where away running a long distance ride on the other side of the country and I can only think that maybe you rode with us during this time. It was a very difficult time for the remaining staff having to cover and I know it put a lot of pressure on them, however, it appears that your ride was not managed in the way I would expect our rides to be managed and I can only apologise for the experience you had. As you can see from the many 5* reviews we have, this is not a normal experience for our clients! We have now relocated from our old stables in Tain, to new premises at Aboyne on Royal Dee-side in Aberdeenshire on the edge of the Cairngorms national park. We have much better facilities here and great riding, but no beach unfortunately. We would be very happy to offer you and your party a 2 hour ride, free of charge to make up for the bad experience you had whenever you are in the area. Kindest regards Jan O'Neill
Read more
Brad B wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I joined the Outlander ride in October 2019 and I can’t say enough positive things about Highlands Unbridled. We absolutely had the vacation of our lives – as soon as we got back home we wanted to turn around and go back. After six days of riding, plus two more exploring castles near and in Edinburgh (highly recommended), we grew very attached to our hosts (Dom, Jan, Graham) and the rest of the fun group we rode with. The tour was extremely well organized from start to finish, the bed and breakfasts were all charming and comfortable, and the food and drink were terrific. The scenery was breathtaking - seemed like each mile was more stunning than the last. The horses and ponies were well-trained, patient veterans of those trails. Just a wonderful equestrian experience and a highly recommended adventure. We are ready to return and do more riding with our friends (hosts and horses) across the most beautiful land I've ever seen
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
hoodex wrote a review Nov 2019
Glasgow24 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I'm just home from a 1 week working holiday with the Highland Unbridled team .. Don't even know where to start because I the greatest week I could have imagined with these people. I wanted to spend more time learning about yard life, working with and caring for horses - and got to do all off that with the added bonus of riding each day AND seeing the stunning scenery of Northern Scotland. Couldn't have asked for more. Got to spend my days at the yard, getting the ponies caught, groomed and tacked up for lessons, treks, and day rides. Getting them fed and just generally loving on them. Jan and Dom provided great meals in the evening, plus great company from all the staff too (Janine and Lindy were superstars). And a thanks for Graham, and Mars too! All the ponies and horses were superstars and amazing in their own right;a credit to how well they're cared for and treated by their owners. I was given the chance to ride several different ponies and never once felt unsafe; just always at ease as they paid particular attention to what ponies would be suitable for me to ride and match my style :) I could say more but I'd gone on forever. This place is 1 in a million. True Scottish hospitality at it's finest. Beautiful horses that love thier lives and are well cared for. Great food. Great company. Great riding over forest, beaches, hills and sand dunes. I will track you down next year and hopefully do it all again.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous