We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Really good guide

Just thought this would be another boring castle tour. Far from it- the tour guide was fantastic... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Mike S
via mobile
Opposite the Cathedral on Palace Green

Now part of Durham University where I studied music many years ago, it' was the seat of the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
alec s
,
New York City, New York
Read all 1,040 reviews
306
All photos (306)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
Uncover 1000 years of history in this undefeated castle built in the Norman period as an imposing fortress, Durham Castle’s story is entwined with that of the Prince-Bishops of Durham, whose semi-regal status made them some of the most powerful and...more
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
The Castle Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Website
+44 191 334 2932
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
518
291
85
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
518
291
85
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguided tourstudent accommodationuniversity studentsstudent guidedining hallhalls of residenceknowledgeable guidegreat guidemain hallwell worth a visitinteresting factsprince bishopsinteresting visitopen to the publicharry potterworld heritagesteeped in history
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 944 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Just thought this would be another boring castle tour. Far from it- the tour guide was fantastic and made the tour really interesting. The fact that the high level circular tower is a much later mock addition and is actually student accommodation was very amusing....More

Thank Mike S
Reviewed 3 days ago

Now part of Durham University where I studied music many years ago, it' was the seat of the Prince-Bishops of the Palatinate of Durham.

Thank alec s
Reviewed 6 days ago

I am so glad I decided to do a tour - it is the only way to see the Castle as it is actually a university building with students living and studying in it. The guide was brilliant - very polished but also very passionate...More

Thank Diana H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for my 70th birthday and to lay flowers on my deceased husband's memorial bench within Fellows gardening. We booked the Chaplains suite, amazing character and suitable for a family of four with large rooms. Ample choice at breakfast so fill up before walking...More

1  Thank lyncleary
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not enough to see for the money. Tour guide was rude, distracted, spoke too quickly/softly/mumbling.More

1  Thank ladawncp
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank-you for your review of the castle. We are sincerely sorry that you found your visit disappointing and hope that on your next visit you have a more enjoyable experience. We take all feedback very seriously and will look into your comments regarding your tour...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my son booked onto the castle tour for the amazing price of just £5 each. A graduate (think his name was Chris) took the tour. He was fantastic. So funny, informative, interesting and really brought the history to life. The hour simply flew...More

Thank mikwalshie
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the castle with Chris- all of our guides are very enthusiastic and love sharing the stories and hidden histories of the castle. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked ahead at the visitors centre for a 45min tour. Our tour guide was a grad student-sometimes funny; but a nice personal touch. The castle is actually the University and we entered only 4 areas/rooms on the tour. They were fantastic rooms-chapel, great hall....More

Thank webster09
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for the day. Fantastic place to look around. Very beautiful, I alway walk past but never went in. Then I timed it right for a tour and went. Fantastic place love it here

1  Thank Lisa1781
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love old buildings and this one is a must see, there was a guided tour and the lady was most informative.

Thank pauline w
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The castle was closed for student graduation. There is no way of getting up close and seeing the castle walls from the outside. We took a nice walk on the riverbank to get the best view. Disappointing day

Thank Natasha09
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Christine P
16 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chriscampion2014 | Reviewed this property |
Not inside the castle but outside yes
1
Vote
junebrignall
20 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steven J | Reviewed this property |
The cathedral is free and I cannot remember the cost to visit the castle It wasn't much The tickets were on sale at the university next door
0
Votes
Patricia B
12 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Durham C | Property representative |
Dear Patricia, Thank you for getting in touch to book accommodation unfortunately I can only provide information on the Castle Tours and the Museum. For more information and booking for accommodation, please telephone us on... More
0
Votes