We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Durham Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Phone Number: 441913342932
Website
Description:

Durham Castle is unique building with 900 years of living history. Today...

Durham Castle is unique building with 900 years of living history. Today not only is it a Grade I Listed Building, a Museum but it is also the home to University College, the founding College of Durham University and over 100 students are resident during term.

The unique nature of the building means that, entrance to the public is by guided tours only. However, this allows a personal experience that brings history to life. The following tour times are a general guide as it is sometimes necessary to cancel tours at short notice due to University or commercial activities. During term-time: every afternoon at 1.15pm, 2.15pm, 3.15pm and 4.15pm.During university vacations: daily 10.15Am, 11.15Am, 12.15am, 1.15pm, 2.15pm, 3.15pm and 4pm.

Please check the tour times with Palace Green Library or the World Heritage Site Visitor Centre to avoid disappointment.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 781 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 389
    Excellent
  • 218
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
A Must see !!!

My partner and me booked ourselves on an afternoon tour of the Castle. This is not a walk in when you want attraction. You MUST get you tickets for specific times with a tour... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Alex M
Add Photo Write a Review

781 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 706: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and me booked ourselves on an afternoon tour of the Castle. This is not a walk in when you want attraction. You MUST get you tickets for specific times with a tour guide during the day. The tour guide was fantastic at imparting her knowledge of the caste to us. the tour took about an hour and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a long tour as there is limited access to the castle as much of it forms a hall of residence for the university. The guide was excellent - had a great knowledge of the history of the castle which dates back to Norman times.

Helpful?
1 Thank 71chris2016
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You can only view the castle on an official guided tour. Although there were only four of us in our group the young lady guide took a lot of time to make us feel welcome and involved. She even substituted one part of the tour which was unexpectedly closed with a new part not normally open to the public. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank chasba
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review of Durham Castle- we are so pleased that you enjoyed your tour. As the building is still a working castle we do occasionally have to change our tours at the last minute but we always try to ensure that you see some interesting. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Durham a few weeks back with my partner. We was excited to see the castle after seeing many pictures and hearing good things. We arrived at the castle sunday morning around 10/11am only to be told that there was only one tour on that day at 4.15pm. Then to be told that we couldn't look around without a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boothy_Geezer
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review of Durham Castle. I am sorry that you were disappointed that you were unable to visit. Visitors can only normally access the castle on guided tours because this is a living building- over 100 Durham University students live in the castle and hundreds more eat and use the castle. We cannot run tours on a Sunday... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The site is amazing with a lot to offer. The only down side is that the students live in the castle, however as our tour guide explained it has been this way for many years and isn't likely to change any time soon. Still very interesting visit, just wish we could see more.

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review of Durham Castle- we are pleased that you enjoyed your tour. I understand you feel you did not get to see all of the castle, but please be aware that the vast majority of what you didn’t get to see was in fact bedrooms- as you mentioned the castle is a residence for Durham University students. More 

London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Annoyingly you can only visit the castle as part of a guided tour. On the day we visited there were two of the tours were cancelled, I'm sure there was a good reason, but there were a lot of dissapointed people.

Helpful?
1 Thank scrltd16
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review of Durham Castle. I am sorry you were disappointed you were unable to join a tour of the castle on the day of your visit. We keep our website up to date with times and availability, as times and access can change. This is because Durham Castle is a working castle, which is home students of... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was a very informative tour which is excellent value for money at £5 per adult. Tours were very busy so would recommend booking in advance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

The only way to see the castle is on a guided tour. This means you're constrained by the 1 hour time slot and only get to see a relatively small part of the castle. That said, the tour was very interesting and the guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Just a shame that you can't take photos inside the castle. Would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita H
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review of Durham Castle- we are so pleased that you found the tour interesting and you thought the guide was knowledgeable are enthusiastic. All of our guides love the castle and enjoy sharing its stories with the public. I understand you feel you did not get to see all of the castle, but please be aware that... More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

The tour of the physical space is very limited but the guide was excellent and made it well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank thbucu
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Well worth a visit. You have to join a tour group, and there are about 3 or 4 tours a day, each lasting about 1 hour, for a cost of £5 (2016). Numbers are limited to about 30 people per tour so it is worth booking early. There are many hidden gems of Durham to be found on the tour... More 

Helpful?
Thank TamAndrejus

Travellers who viewed Durham Castle also viewed

 

Been to Durham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Durham Castle and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Warrington, United Kingdom
Durham, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Durham Castle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?