Bodmin Jail Attraction
Bodmin Jail Attraction
4.5
Historic SitesPoints of Interest & Landmarks
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
About
The Bodmin Jail Attraction now incorporates the 'Dark Walk' experience; featuring the latest technology & theatrical effects in four linked experiences that allow visitors to immerse themselves in the life & death within the prison walls and the region as a whole. Ghostly voices from Cornwall's murky past will appear alongside highway robbers, smugglers & prolific former inmates; following their journeys through sentencing, life in prison, and finally the condemned cell leading to the Execution Zone. Suitable for 8yrs+ with parental guidance. Pre-booked Guided Tours, Scary Cinema Night, and After Dark Experiences available. SAT NAV device: PL31 2PY Please note: Last entry at 4.10pm
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Lucy H
    2 contributions
    ‘Paranormal tour’ - The name of the tour misled me!
    I have never been on a paranormal tour before, but this was not what I expected. It was a guided tour, with mention of the jails ghosts, famous inmates and unsubstantiated anecdotes of paranormal experiences. It would have been fun if the jail was able to play the recordings of the paranormal activity that was mentioned on the tour, to create a bit of atmosphere but there was nothing other than the tour guides script to suggest that anything paranormal has happened here. The tour guide was very animated and engaging, she dealt politely with a member of the tour group who was determined to be rude and disruptive. But nothing was paranormal about the tour except the name, I left feeling a bit hoodwinked.
    Visited January 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 15 January 2023
  • 0907gee90
    Bath, United Kingdom203 contributions
    Thought it would be better
    It started off really good through the dark walk which was cleverly done and gave us the the stories of some of the people that ended up in Bodmin jail. I found the actual jail quote disappointing and even my parents who came.years ago before it was commercialised said it was better before as the cells felt more authentic and rugged but now they didn't. The condemned cell was definitely eerie and felt like there was pressure pushing on me during it and as soon as I walked out it was released. The execution experience was both well done but also got you really thinking what these people had gone through. It was good, but only took us 50 mins to see and read everything. Would of been nice to have been a bit bigger.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your visit here at Bodmin Jail. I'm sorry to hear you didn't find the cells to feel authentic, however before the building was repaired, it was left in a very unsafe state for staff and visitors therefore major work had to be carried out across all areas. We have tried our very hardest to ensure the cells are as authentic as possible and we feel we have executed this well whilst also ensuring our history can be preserved for many more generations to come. If you decide to come back and visit us again, I would highly recommend booking the guided heritage tour. Our award winning guides are amazing at taking you deeper into the rich history we hold here at Bodmin Jail. Kind regards The Bodmin Jail Team.
    Written 2 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 27 March 2023
  • O1Bobb
    Wangford, United Kingdom108 contributions
    Fairly interesting
    They have made a good little 4D show that lasts about 20 mins but it doesn't seem to relate much to the jail. Nice story and a bit scarey. The jail itself is just a few cells. I would not recommend this for children under 10, that's for sure. It's all a bit dark and scary. Worth the money? Perhaps if you are interested in the history of jails.
    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your visit didn't quite meet your expectations. Thank you for your visit. Kind regards, Olivia
    Written 18 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 9 April 2023
  • Inspiration75512
    15 contributions
    Disappointing which was a shame!!
    The staff were very professional when we arrived into the Entrance as we had booed our tickets online. It was not at all busy when we went which we were surprised about. We were disappointed as it would have been better if you did have actors dressed up keeping in character to the times in history of the Jail. They would enable the story and history of Bodmin Jail to come alive for families and couples alike. We felt even though the attraction was good it lacked the story telling of the history bringing it alive, and children would really engage with the history if it was more interactive. Walking around with us were a couple of families, and the children were expecting a more dramatic dark walk, and even though the cinematic experience was good, you could tell it wasn’t engaging enough for them. I thought it was over priced for what it was and we were disappointed. The shop was very expensive too. The hotel is very expensive and the first impression outside the walls of the hotel Ian’s you drive past you see overgrown shrubs and it is not landscaped in a nice way, it doesn’t look finished which is disappointing. First impressions matter and it was a real shame that outside of the Bodmin jail walls the landscaping hasn’t been finished or kept up. The signage outside the Jail on the main road were good. It’s about the overall customer experience and some areas let that down.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear our staff took good care of you during your visit. In regards to live actors, we do have an event coming up in May called 'The Walls Remember' where we will have live actors in costume around the museum. These will not be scare actors, but are there to give more of an idea to what life was like for these individuals whilst they were here. We're sorry that you're visit didn't quite live up to your expectations, but we'd love to have you back for a Guided Heritage Tour where you can learn more in-depth about the prison, its inmates and the changes Bodmin Jail has gone through over its lifetime. Kind regards, Bodmin Jail Team.
    Written 20 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 14 April 2023
  • TheGeorgesKent
    West Wickham, United Kingdom64 contributions
    Jail Experience good but restaurant very disappointing
    The Bodmin Jail Experience is worth 4 stars - an interesting way to spend a couple of hours on a rainy day HOWEVER The restaurant deserves 2 stars only. The one staff member working outside was obviously under pressure, hence we had to ask for the table to be cleaned, and ask several times for milk to go with the coffee. The food was ok but seriously overpriced eg £10 for 4 medium sized prawns and a salad garnish. The pizza was ok but the expensive ploughman’s was served with two tiny rolls, more like dough balls served by a well known pizza restaurant. We felt disappointed and ripped off.
    Hi, thank you for leaving a review about Bodmin Jail. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the museum. We are extremely sorry to hear the restaurant did not meet your expectations. We will pass your review on to the management team at The Courtyard. They take their reviews very seriously and will be looking in to this. Thank you for the feedback! Best wishes The Bodmin Jail Team
    Written 2 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 28 June 2023
  • Trish B
    Greater Manchester, United Kingdom4 contributions
    Poor experience in Bodmin jail
    Can I say how very disappointed I was when I visited your extraction today. It cost £31 for 1 adult and a concession, we were herded like cattle and depending where you were in the group the digital display had already started when visitors at the back caught up with the group so we missed some of the narrative as well as trying to hear over screaming and upset children. We were stopped from entering one room so that the guided tour had priority which I felt was totally inappropriate but again showed if you paid more you were treated very differently The lights went out twice and although this only lasted a short period of time two elderly visitors stumbled in the dark . I encouraged them to complain but I am not sure if they felt comfortable doing this. It was disappointing that there is hardly any jail to see as the majority of it has been taken with a hotel. It was also disappointing that the Café was not offering an outdoor service and were not allowed drinks outside. It was disappointing that the QR code didn't work for us and delayed our tour starting. The ladies toilets were dirty and there was no soap in the dispenser. I would certainly not recommend this attraction compared to the many great experiences we have had in Cornwall.
    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing. Please email dm@bodminjail.org as we would like to discuss this further. Kind regards, Olivia
    Written 12 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 10 July 2023
  • John
    Cornwall, United Kingdom584 contributions
    Lock them up
    Not what I expected. the tour guide went on and on in the overcrowded bit of the prison you get to see which is not that big, She also expressed her views about prison reform. I think the Victorians had it right. no TV for the inmates There is a restaurant with fish & chips at £17. according to the menu. Parking down the road some way if you are lucky.
    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing. Please email dm@bodminjail.org as we would like to discuss this further. Best wishes The Bodmin Jail Team
    Written 25 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 23 July 2023
  • Martin S
    1 contribution
    Bodmin jail
    The jail experience was very good, very informative. Only downside is some of the information boards were hard to read due to low light levels,well worth the visit though. 5 stars. As for Bistro 0 stars , welcome was good but it went downhill from there.45 minutes from ordering to service for 2 x salads and 2 x beers. Other patrons having similar issues.
    Hi Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the museum! We are sorry to hear about the restaurant though, we will most certainly pass it on to them. We hope to see you again! Best wishes The Bodmin Jail Team
    Written 6 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 27 July 2023
  • Michael F
    20 contributions
    Not the same Experience
    Visited here recently after a few years last visiting. Obviously, the place has had massive investment, and many changes have taken place. The new interactive attraction is good, but unfortunately for us,it had taken away the charm,eerie feel of an old jail. It was nice before to walk around the old floors, and it actually felt like a jail. We would probably not return to the attraction again,but if you've never been before then, you will still have a good jail experience .
    Hi, Thank you for the review! We do appreciate that some miss the old ruins of the jail, however the restoration was imperative as it was condemned in 2018 and would have been bulldozed to the ground if nothing had been done. As I'm sure you can remember, the jail was crumbling to pieces. Thank you so much for your feedback! Best wishes The Bodmin Jail Team
    Written 6 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 28 July 2023
  • gezzer30
    181 contributions
    Disappointed
    I had visited the jail many years back and wanted to revisit since the jail had been revamped. It’s admit I was slightly underwhelmed with it all. The museum goes through an old wing which could have been a bit more well lit, it was interesting to see the stories and people that were once in prison there. Compared to what the museum was like, I did feel a bit disappointed
    Hi, Thank you leaving us a review! We are sorry that you did not enjoy the museum as much as you thought you would. It is dimly lit because its how it would have been in the Victorian period with just candles lighting the way. However, we will take your feedback on board. If you wish to discuss this further, please do email info@bodminjail.org Best wishes The Bodmin Jail Team
    Written 6 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 30 July 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
1,265 reviews
Excellent
858
Very good
147
Average
103
Poor
69
Terrible
88

Dylan C
1 contribution
Dec 2023 • Friends
Love it me and My mate done the ghost hunting they first took us around on a tour then we went off and dome our own investigations got loads of activity in all parts of the jail especially the court room where the cat toy which lights up when touched was very active ended up speaking to a 17 year old boy who was hung for a burglary and a 23 year old South African man who got jailed for murdering his wife definitely recommend will be going back
Written 1 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paul Simon
2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
Rhiannon was an excellent tour guide. Really informative and engaging tour. We learnt lots. 10/10 recommend.
Written 30 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mark B
Newquay, UK11 contributions
Aug 2023 • Friends
What a fantastic place! Did the VR thing, pretty good, then into the jail itself, wow, spooky, scary, not a place you want to spend years in. Pretty good, ready to leave and it's been very good, then found the museum as well. Excellent, very interesting. Ready to leave thinking it's been really really good, then found the last part of the exhibition... holy cow.

Incredible. Honestly, incredible. Very, very well worth going. I'll definitely go again and next time I'll stay to eat as the restaurant looked very impressive.
Written 30 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LAD63
Shepton Mallet, UK2,443 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
As we were staying not for from Bodmin, I booked afternoon tea for my husband and I on a Wednesday.
Definitely has the wow factor when we checked in at reception and entered the chapel for our treat.
We booked for 3pm and only one other couple dining. Greeted and shown to our table. Ordered one tea and one coffee with our food. Arrived promptly and a lovely selection.
All food was great and the waitress, half way through, refreshed our drinks.
Great atmosphere in the chapel with a lot of original features.
When we were leaving we asked the receptionist if we could view a room as it was so quiet sadly no as she didn’t want to leave reception unmanned, I’m sure there would have been other members of staff available.
We do recommend the experience and would book again when in the area
Written 23 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the five star review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great time with us here at Bodmin Jail. We will pass on the lovely feedback to The Chapel . We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Bodmin Jail Team.
Written 26 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angela
Ilfracombe, UK1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Couples
A wonderful experience immersed in history, a must to see when visiting Bodmin, Up there with many London attractions and much less expensive, a truly couple of hours immersed in living history
Written 22 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the five star review. We are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time with us here at Bodmin Jail. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards The Bodmin Jail Team.
Written 26 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brycey
Southampton, UK2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Friends
Ghost Hunting at the Jail. What a wonderful experience. 2 lovely gents who guide you who clearly know the Jail well. Was a bit worried about the part where you being left alone in the dark at times but I actually found it great.

Ouija was quite spooky though.
Written 19 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the five star review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great time on the Ghost Hunting Evening with our Paranormal Team. I will pass on the lovely feedback to our Paranormal Team, Hope to see you again. Kind regards, The Bodmin Jail Team.
Written 19 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carrberry
Surrey52 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
An outstanding way to learn about Bodmin Jail and its history. Really enjoyed how you were made to feel like you was part of the experience and particularly liked the real life stories from start to finish.
Written 19 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the five star review,We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the visit with us at Bodmin Jail Attraction. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards The Bodmin Jail Team.
Written 19 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wendy B
3 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
Bodmin jail is a great day out I'm a local and have been there twice. Decided to go for a coffee in the restaurant but waited 30 mins so walked out strange x need to up their game.
Written 18 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the lovely review. We will pass on the feedback to the restaurant. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Bodmin Jail Team.
Written 19 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michelle H
2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Friends
We were booked on a ghost hunt, however bodmin jail messed up and booked a haunted tour on the same night. So 2 tours at the same time. Didn't really work. There were 2 guides but they split us into 3 groups. This is supposed to be tour guide lead. We were left to do whatever we wanted
So very disappointed. Save your money and just do a day time tour as this wasn't what was described.
When contacting bodmin jail to book they were very poor in responding and have never heard back after complaining. 9 of us went all disappointed from the experience
Written 15 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dawn E
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Couples
Bodmin jail was a brilliant experience for us.
Obviously taking the tour in November, we had more of a personal tour, with the lovely and very informative Rianne, who made the tour more interesting and interactive.
We thought that the way the buildings have been restored was very inkeeping with the original prison.
The hotel/restaurant is beautiful restored inside and out. Plenty of inside and outside seating. Prices are very similar to other restaurants in Cornwall. Coffee was delicious.
All the staff were very helpful and cheerful.
We do intend to return next year with other family members.
Written 13 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the five star review, We are pleased to hear you had such a great tour. We are very proud of our award winning Heritage Guides and will pass on this lovely feedback to Rhiannon. hope to see you again. Kind Regards, The Bodmin Jail Team.
Written 19 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,248
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

BODMIN JAIL ATTRACTION: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Bodmin Jail Attraction

Bodmin Jail Attraction is open:
  • Sun - Thu 09:30 - 18:30
  • Fri - Sat 09:30 - 17:00


Restaurants near Bodmin Jail Attraction: View all restaurants near Bodmin Jail Attraction on Tripadvisor