We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockliffe Hotel Spa

486 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Rockliffe Hotel Spa

486 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
486Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 58
  • 27
  • 10
  • 22
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bharti Glover wrote a review 13 Jan
Horwich, United Kingdom19 contributions20 helpful votes
Covid Mention With the Pandemic bookings changes have had to be accommodated and rescheduled, however this has been managed professionally with care and a particular mention to 'James' who through his professionalism in hospitality gave us the confidence to book into the coming months. We have been coming to Rockcliffe for a number of years and enjoyed the experience from the Spa to the golf including the Academy, I would thoroughly recommend this venue for a stay on so many levels, especially when the time comes when we want a luxury stay and change of scenery.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Julie T wrote a review Oct 2020
Darlington, United Kingdom67 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Just back from spending a lovely night & day away at Rockliffe Hall. The staff were very attentive and on hand to help with your every need. The suite we stayed in was spacious and the bed was super comfy. We had a meal in the orangery with a wine pairing; food was absolutely delicious, compliments to the chef. The sommelier was knowledgable and took the time to really talk us through the wine choices. The hostess really made you feel welcome and took the time to chat to children of other guests. We had a spa day whilst we stayed, it was so relaxing; do not be put off visiting because of COVID it is managed extremely well and you literally get everything to yourself so take advantage whilst you can. We had an amazing time and want to thank the staff for their efforts in keeping people safe but also making it a really lovely stay. Lyndsey in the wedding team is fantastic; if you are planning a wedding I’d definitely look at Rockliffe Hall.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
920sarahm wrote a review Sep 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom3 contributions
Today I had the most amazing back massage followed by an equally amazing facial by a lovely lady called Rachel. I visit many places for these treatments and this is the only place in recent times that I would definitely return to, particularly with Rachel. She is clearly very experienced and knowledgable and goes to great lengths to make sure you are comfortable and that she is applying the correct pressure etc. I will be back to see her again soon! Please don’t leave!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Georgiii wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Wow! What an utter disappointment from start to finish! Breakfast in the Clubhouse: the Clubhouse was full of golfers and was about as far away from luxury as it gets. The food was fine, although we were charged extra for an additional slice of toast! No drinks were included (not the usual glass of champagne etc) and it was a walk through the golf course to reach. Our view eating breakfast was of the golf course, as opposed to the lovely countryside visible from the main restaurant. The spa: don’t bother! The only thing included was the indoor swimming pool - which was cold and full of kids. You can’t use the outside pool without paying an additional fee. You can’t visit the garden room without paying an additional fee. You may as well just go to your local baths for a fiver! There is a robe caste system: the more grey your robe, the worse your experience! 😬 The treatments: no complaints there. Massively overpriced though, of course. Customer service: having voiced our disappointment (when asked by the lady on the spa reception) we were listened to, however nothing was done to improve our experience and the lady seemed all too keen to laugh it off and send us on our merry way. I think the main problem is that, due to covid, many of the facilities can’t be used. So it seems ludicrous that the ones that can come at any additional fee. Not so much as a complimentary cup of coffee by the pool. What a joke! £115 very badly spent ☹️
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rockliffe Hall, Other at Rockliffe Hotel Spa
Responded 20 Sep 2020
Dear 226GGG Thank you very much for your review As you are fully aware covid restrictions are in place as with all spas in the UK and this was outlined when you booked and confirmed in writing to you. Everything included or not as the case maybe was booked by you, knowing what was included, so Im a little confused what you were expecting. The view of the golf course is the same from the clubhouse or the main house, again, im not sure what you are expecting, 365 acres of parkland.... beautiful. The package does not include champagne. The spa Garden is a separate experience and yes has to be paid for which again is outlined in your confirmation so if you wish to upgrade, you can do this in advance, or on the day if we have availability, but availability is significantly reduced to to social distancing. The pool is at 31 degrees as it always is, the hydrotherapy pool was fully open also which it seems you didn't use. The Hydro therapy pool is 34 degrees. I am sorry we didn't offer anything complimentary, but there was no reason too. The team are working tirelessly now and through lockdown and are working to very strict government guidelines so very sorry your were disappointed I hope this clarifies the facts Wishing you a good weekend ahead
Read more
Graeme wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Having had lunch in the clubhouse to celebrate my daughter's birthday we then went to the outside play area - we then came back to the clubhouse and found an empty table outside to then have some coffee and cake for a belated desert. We sat down and a member of staff then came over and said due to some rediculous Covid policy we were not able to sit there. We would have to walk around back around to the front of the clubhouse, to then walk through the clubhouse and then be seated by the staff! Totally ludicrous, as the table we were sat at was free! This doesn't make any sense. A part from the fact that my wife who is 25weeks pregnant was already sat down and would have to make a pointless trip back around the building to then arrive at the same place, we had already spent around £100 on lunch and were existing customers! Is this how you treat your 'valued customers' Rockcliffe Hall, or is this how you treat expecting mothers? Either way you need to revisit your customer service manual. Needless to say we decided to walk around the building back to our car to have coffee and cake elsewhere. It will be a while before we are back. Not 5star service today!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous