We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: November 18th Street | Al Mouj, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
+968 22 005990
Website
Today
06:30 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:30 - 00:00
Description:

International golfing legend Greg Norman is responsible for the magnificent...

International golfing legend Greg Norman is responsible for the magnificent design of the 18 hole, par 72 championship golf course at Almouj Golf.With 36 golf projects currently in progress worldwide, The Shark, as he is affectionately known, visited the site back in 2006 and could instantly see in his mind's eye the course that he wanted to create. After carefully studying the topography and weather conditions of the site, and using his years of experience playing top golf courses around the globe, Greg and his associates from Greg Norman Design produced an inspiring plan.The new Greg Norman course offers truly unique characters with each hole offering something different from the last. He and his design team were mindful of maintaining the panorama of the ocean and the spectacular vista of the Hajar Mountains. On a clear day you almost feel as if you can touch the mountains.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 110 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
The place to be!

The course seems to be getting better and better. Despite some water shortages which have now been resolved the course has played very well. Now the course maintenance team are... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 July 2016
Robin C
,
Muscat, Oman
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016

The course seems to be getting better and better. Despite some water shortages which have now been resolved the course has played very well. Now the course maintenance team are doing a fantastic job to get the course upto scratch and boy what a job they are doing. Over the last two weeks we have noticed a significant improvement and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Robin C, Thank you very much for choosing to play at Almouj Golf and for noticing the efforts of both the maintenance and f&b teams. We are really pleased you enjoyed the Almouj Golf Experience, and we hope to get the course back to tiptop condition for your next round. We look forward to welcoming you back at Almouj... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2016

A beautiful and green golf course with great views of the sea and the occasional wildlife. Food and drinks were great and staff even better. I lost my phone in the clubhouse and within minutes the majority of staff were looking for it. Once found, they returned it to me, will be forever grateful!

Helpful?
Thank Liam_Julia
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Liam_Julia, Thank you very much for taking time to review Al Mouj Golf. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the course, our views and the restaurant and that we could return your phone to you straight away! We hope we can play host to you again soon at Al Mouj Golf. All the best, Emma Quiroga Sales and... More 

Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016

Everything about the Almouj experience is top notch...practice facilities, short course, championship layout, service, setting, etc. It is my preferred course in the Middle East region and I'm happy to make the trip from Dubai just for the golf.

Helpful?
1 Thank WylieKylie
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear WylieKylie, Thank you for playing at Almouj Golf and for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed the Almouj Golf Experience and honoured that you would visit our course from Dubai and rate the course so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back at Almouj Golf in the near future. All the... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

The staff and reception at the club was very good. training facilities are OK. Golf course is very nice and in good condition. We were playing in strong winds so it was a challenging round. Front nine (this day) ran straight under the path of arriving airplanes. that teally took away from the experience with the shadow of the airplanes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris588
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Chris 588, Thank you very much for taking the time to visit and review Almouj Golf. We apologise if the airplanes spoiled your golf experience in any way. There is a small adjustment with the new runway, which we hope will not have too much of an impact once the new airport is open. We are very glad you... More 

Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016

This is an excellent course with a number of tees for differing standards. The green fees etc are on the expensive side but much is included (buggy, water, tees etc). The relative expense is due to the weak Pound Sterling rather than an overpricing by the club. The day we played - starting at 7 am - the course had... More 

Helpful?
Thank RockyRoll
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear RockyRoll, Thank you very much for reviewing Almouj Golf and for your kind feedback on the Championship Course, playing conditions and post round food and coffee. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again to give the front 9 another shot and to repeat your performance on the back 9!... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

I have been here quite a few times to eat and each time the service is awful. Food is ok, just ok however the children's meals are way overpriced- cheapest one is 5omr. Won't go back for a while

Helpful?
Thank Mich2222
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Mich2222, Thank you for your feedback on visiting The Academy Restaurant at Almouj Golf especially on the price of the children's meals. We do have an option cheaper than 5 RO, and most of the meals are priced at 5 RO, but we will look to add more options from your feedback. Thank you very much, Kind Regards Emma... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

I would not recommend this place for a meal of any kind, even to my worst enemies. Just before Christmas 2015, I was asked to attend the Club house for dinner. While the menu looked ok, the muck that arrived, not only on my plate but on one of the others also attending dinner, was beyond belief! I order a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brich57
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Brich57, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We truly value the opinions of our customers and try to address and respond to all of the feedback we receive. Apologies, we did not meet your expectations and you were disappointed with our meals. If you can kindly email me at emma@almoujgolf.com with more details... More 

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
224 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

An absolute disaster, short of sitting arrangements, disgusting food and as far as the crowd is concerned - the less said the better. We walked out within 45 mins. For a great golf club that Al Mouj is, they ought to be careful who they allow to hold such events on their premises. I'm sure Axis, the organisers of the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sudeep W
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Sudeep, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the New Year's Eve party. We are truly sorry you did not have a good evening. We were the host venue for the Axis Events Countdown 2016 party, and we will pass on your feedback on the seating arrangements and crowd to the organizers and... More 

The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2015

This is a very difficult course, we had a lot of wind and a lot of fun. Super long and very good greens. The hospitality is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank John P
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you for playing at Almouj Golf and for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you had lots of fun on our course and enjoyed our hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back at Almouj Golf in the near future. All the best, Emma Quiroga Sales and Marketing Manager Almouj Golf More 

tokyo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2015

The weather was cool and the course is in its pristine condition .All is good on the morning of the Tee off . a few signature holes overlooking the Arabian sea and the turf so nicely kept . The surrounding rough is a real trap and once you hit into the rough , it pays to bring your ball onto... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank calvinchan
Emma Q, Manager at Almouj Golf, responded to this review

Dear Calvinchan, Thank you for playing at Almouj Golf and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you found our course in pristine condition and enjoyed playing next to the Arabian Sea. We appreciate you giving advice to future players as well! We look forward to welcoming you back at Almouj Golf in the near future.... More 

Travellers who viewed Almouj Golf also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Almouj Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Almouj Golf and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Almouj Golf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?