Contucci Cantine

Contucci Cantine, Montepulciano: Address, Phone Number, Contucci Cantine Reviews: 4.5/5

Contucci Cantine
4.5
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Contucci Cantine and similar attractions

The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
91 within 5 kms
Attractions
110 within 10 kms
Popular mentions

4.5
484 reviews
Excellent
303
Very good
139
Average
23
Poor
11
Terrible
8

Peter t
20 contributions
Great time!
Jul 2021
Lovely town with an impressive winery. Ducked around the side to do a quick self guided tour of the cellars. Sampling wines (delicious!) we were joined by Adamo, the winemaker. We were delighted to meet him and he was so charming. Couldn't decide which wine we liked the best so ordered a mixed case- great call. Now back in California we can sip the delicious Contucci wines and reflect on this memorable experience. Highly recommended!
Written 30 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Polmike
Düsseldorf, Germany11 contributions
The only place I bought wine in Montepulciano
Mar 2020 • Solo
This review is actually from 2018 but better late than never. :) I saw this cellar as a recommendation from Rick Steves. I did not take the wine testing but went around the cellar and the shop. Bought 3 bottles of red wine back to Germany and it was amazing! I missed this wine and wish that I could buy this online directly from Contucci. Hopefully in the future that I make a return trip to Montepulciano. I migth buy a case!
Written 27 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been a few places
Epsom, UK1,082 contributions
Barrels and Barrels
Aug 2020
These wine cellars are small but are a fascinating place to spend some time. You get to see barrel after barrel of wine. There's an opportunity to sample some of the cellar's wine at the end. Its free but you are encouraged to buy a bottle or more.
Written 27 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Starlightllama
4157031 contributions
Wine tasting
Oct 2019
We almost missed out on the wine tasting and the brief self-guided tour, but after we poked our heads in the door, we were greeted by a woman who spoke English, and were told to come on in and walk through the rows of casks. We stopped into a side room after an older man nodded to us, and in that nod, invited us into the tasting area.
When asked, one of the people on staff verified that not only did he work there, but his family owned the vineyard for 2000 years.

We had no space in our suitcases, and they offered to mail, so for a minimal charge, we had a number of bottles shipped, and as promised, they arrived in plenty of time for the holidays.
Written 30 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank You for Your review. We are pleased that You enjoyed our wines and our winery. Adamo is our winemaker from 1961. Our family produces wine from 1008. We wait You soon
Written 2 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ranny
Gainesville, VA58 contributions
Fantastic Wine
May 2019
Great experience seeing the wine cellar. Even better was the wine tasting. We ended up having some shipped back home. We later ordered more.
Written 5 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank You for Your review. We are pleased that You enjoyed our wines and our winery. Thank You for shipping the wine to home. We wait You soon
Written 6 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dkhf
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions
Wish we bought more wine
Nov 2019 • Couples
We were warmly greeted by an elderly man who has worked with the winery since the 1960s and a lovely young lady (who spoke English) who lead us through a tasting of some fabulous wines. They were curious to find out more about Singapore (where we are from) and us about Italy. We enjoyed sharing about our country and learning more about theirs. Our only regret - not buying more wine (we only bought a bottle as we already have too much wine!) from this historic winery.
Written 16 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank You for Your review. We are pleased that You enjoyed our wines and our winery. Adamo is our winemaker from 1961. We wait You soon
Written 18 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tracy M
Richmond, VA15 contributions
Unforgettable experience!
Oct 2019 • Couples
23/10/19 From our research of Montepulciano, we knew Contucci Cantine would be a definite stop due to the invitation to visit the cellars. We are extremely interested history and culture, and even more interested in wine! Up the hill we trekked and we finally found it!

It was clear we could just enter the cellar area on our own, so that’s exactly what we did when we saw the small, intimate tasting room occupied with other tasters.
The cellars are 13th century and are just fascinating. I could not help but think of the generations of family members and winemakers who walked these hallways—and here We were walking through the same corridors. We kept hearing clinking noises, and finally encountered a gentleman labeling bottles of wine and filling cases. I got a great video of the one-man bottling operation!

By the time we returned to the tasting room, we were greeted warmly(I’m embarrassed to say we did not introduce ourselves properly, and we did not learn the name of our gracious host. 😔) and informed of how the free tasting would commence. Two wines, and if we planned to purchase, 2 additional.
Each wine was unique and of very high quality. We loved them all. Halfway through the tasting we somehow got on the subject of schooling in Italy. Being a teacher I was very curious about how it compared to the US. I appreciated her willingness to share Italian knowledge and culture with us. It was a fun experience! Grazie mille
We ultimately decided to ship a case of wine home. These wines age well and if you cellar, I recommend buying a 1/2 or full case. Shipping is very reasonable.
When our case arrives, we already know which wine we will drink and what we will pair it with : Filet Mignon. 😉
Written 23 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank You for Your review. We are pleased that You enjoyed our wines, our winery and that our staff was bee helpful during the wine tasting. Thank You for shipping the wine to home We wait You soon
Written 24 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sgupta2030
52 contributions
Simply the best!
Oct 2019 • Friends
We stumbled upon this cantina by absolute chance! We met the most helpful lady who started us with a lovely wine tasting of the fantastic wine they make. The first three wine tastings are free, and still free after that if you buy a bottle. The lady at the wine tasting was so knowledgeable, told us everything about the history of Montepulciano, the wine and the vineyards. As a bonus, having studied in Bologna and when we told her our next stop was Bologna, she helped us with the best recommendations of things to do in Bologna and food to eat! We spent a good 30 mins just talking to her about Italy and the Tuscany region!! Definitely a must do when in Montepulciano, the staff is just so helpful and the wine, well my friend and I bought two bottles each so that speaks for itself! Do visit!!
Written 5 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank You for Your review. We are pleased that You enjoyed our wines and our winery. We are pleased that the staff was been helpful We wait You soon
Written 24 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Noah
1 contribution
Avoid this one
Sep 2019
We went to do a tasting and the person doing the tasting was helping another couple, so told us (somewhat curtly) that we were not allowed to taste until we had first looked at their cellars. We, somewhat confused, took a quick stroll through the (pretty cool, very old) cellars. We then returned and were told by the employee (in perfect English) that the tasting was "only for those who intended to purchase something". I said I couldn't say without first trying the wine. In many cases, a winery will offer a paid tasting, but waive it if you buy a bottle (which is fine and customary), but that did not seem to be the case here. I had understood their tastings to be unconditionally free. I tasted one wine (in a plastic cup), thought it was OK, and then when I asked if I could try their other wines (which were open and sitting on the counter), I was told I could only taste the rest if I planned to buy something. I left.

What I found a bit odd was that my wife wrote a similar review (she was with me), and the winery responded to her review, saying that we were making the incident up ("such a thing has never happened"). I would not have written a similar, duplicative review but for their surprising response. Either indeed we are lying and there is a grand conspiracy against Contucci Cantine, or maybe one of their employees treated us like crap and they can't own up to it. The winery is welcome to contact me privately if they wish; we were in the winery at about 1:30PM on September 18, 2019.
Written 19 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Before reading Your review, we imagined it could be someone who was together with Mrs. Kathleen. We confirm what was written to Your wife and we make additions to give further explanations: - on September 18th we used plastic glasses because there was the maintenance work on the aqueduct therefore the water was interrupted so we could not use the glasses, in the tasting room there was a sheet where this was written, maybe You didn't see it - we DON'T CHARGE the wine tasting, it is always free, both with and without purchase - we DON'T OBLIGE ANYONE TO BUY, but before to star the wine tasting we explain how we do the wine tasting, if one has intention to buy will taste more wines if instead one just wants to taste will taste less wines, but this is a normal and logic thing not paying anything for the tasting, maybe You didn't understand - about what is written "such a thing has never happened" refers to the fact that the our employees are KINDLY , HELPFUL and SERIOUS with everyone: young people, not so young, Italians and foreigners, they don't turn away anyone, cuddle the people giving all the explanations about the company and the wines - we know how our employees work because they work with us for several years. Fortunately the customer are always very satisfied and happy and they give lots of compliments for winery (we are the oldest winery in Montepulciano, we are produce wine over 1.000 years), wines and staff, but we know that we can't satisfy everyone, even if we are sorry. We are always open to dialogue but we don't accept when someone says things that are not true about our company and our employees who work with passion. We will not contact You privately because You have expressed Your thoughts publicly and therefore we respond publicly because we are sure of how our employees work and about we are, if You wanted to speak privately You could have sent an email.
Written 24 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kathleen
Palo Alto, CA12 contributions
got turned away for a wine tasting
Sep 2019
We had such a bad experience today (18 Sept 20) that I created a Trip Advisor account to share what happened. We went in for a wine tasting (late afternoon...roughly 14:00) where the woman gave a sample for my husband. He didn't love it, so he poured the rest in the bucket as is customary. When he asked to try one of the other wines, the worker asked him if he was planning to buy. When he said he wasn't sure since he needed to sample first, she cut off the wine tasting. I have gone to countless wine tastings throughout the world. Never have I been asked to commit to buying a bottle before trying. Literally the point of tasting is to help you figure out what to purchase. I doubt this is how a standard tasting goes at this place based on the reviews below. My guess is that this employee saw a young couple and assumed we weren't being serious. It was very unprofessional. We simply walked right to Talosa where we had a fabulous experience tasting a wide variety of wines. I recommend that travelers on the younger side avoid this place and go somewhere that doesn't treat you rudely.
Written 18 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
What we read it makes us very angry, we don't accept absolutely that things that are not true are written, our staff is KINDLY , HELPFUL and SERIOUS with everyone: young people, not so young, Italians and foreigners, the reviews written in all these years attest to this. About 60.000 visitors pass every year, this is the first time that someone has said such a thing because such a thing has never happened, fortunately we see from the reviews and all the people can see our professionalism, the customers are always very satisfied and happy and they give us lots of compliments for everything (winery, wine and staff) !!! We don't turn away anyone, but we cuddle the people giving all the explanations about the company and the wines. Unfortunately if You don't like our wine and our reality we are sorry, we can't satisfy everyone! !! We point out that the VISIT AND WINE TASTING ARE FREE, we DON'T OBLIGE ANYONE TO BUY, let's say a few things before the wine tasting, maybe You didn't understand them.
Written 19 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 161
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing