We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glass Bottom Boat

Features Animals

Glass Bottom Boat
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
30
All photos (30)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“marine reserve”(13 reviews)
“marine life”(9 reviews)
“goat island”(30 reviews)
About
The Goat Island NZ Glass Bottom Boat is a popular, fully commentated 45-minute tour showcasing the area’s abundant marine life, fauna, birds, reefs and caves. During the trip, guests learn about the history, preservation and protection of New...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Goat Island Road, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-422 6334
Call
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
41
33
10
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
41
33
10
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine reserve marine life goat island caves snorkel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I went on the boat a week ago while visiting Omaha. We absolutely loved our tour. The skipper was full of knowledge and was also a bit of a comedian and made everyone laugh. We got to see lots of different fish...More

2  Thank ButterflyKiwi
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The boat takes visitors on a tour from the beach across reefs to Goat Island to view some of the caves. The marine life on the day of our visit was disappointing, We saw quite a lot of curious snapper, a few moki and an...More

Thank Barbara A
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Our young (5 and 7 yrs) grandchildren were buzzing after this amazing experience. Staff were very welcoming, personable and informative. Easy to locate from Warkworth and Leigh.

1  Thank jsmithson2018
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Bought a groupon voucher for 2 people to attend. Had to wait for them to update their website then we tried booking several times, it didnt work,so emailed for help. Received no answer. I have sent 4 emails, the only people helping me was groupon....More

1  Thank corsanto
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the glass bottom boat tour and drove a lot of kilometers. As we arrived (waisted our half day because of the tour) there was nobody so we waited until the tour should start. Unfortunately there was no sign saying the conditions are too...More

Thank Getaway704221
Scott P, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Its unfortunate that people do not read the conditions of purchase, it states to check the web site or phone to insure the boat is sailing due to weather conditions, we also send a text message if we are not sailing due to conditions but...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Great time with the family, we were lucky enough to see dolphins playing and splashing right beside the boat. Would defiantly recommend it to others and take a picnic and enjoy the beautiful view before or after the boat trip or there are many good...More

1  Thank mandyr75
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I had a very nice time and I really would like to come back to glass bottom boat with JMR group and my own family. Thank you. The Guy was very informed and he talked about the diferent types of fishes there are in New...More

Thank NewZealandbear
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The skipper was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the view around was awesome. However, the view under the glass bottom was not as attractive as expected, partly due to too many heads reflected form the opposite bench, partly due to lack of various fish under...More

Thank Sunny W
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Toke the tour with 5 year old son and found skipper very friendly, knowledgeable and definitely made the trip interesting and fun for everyone. Suitable for all ages and fitness levels as comes right up on beach to get on and off.

Thank CurliWinks
Reviewed 24 January 2017

A great way to view the marine life, the visibility wasn't ideal but Scotty the skipper made the trip interesting and enjoyable. Definitely a good idea to book over the phone or on the website if you're going in peak season! Special thanks to Jacqui...More

Thank emilyw1228
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
42 reviews
1.36 miles away
Matakana Motel
170 reviews
7.25 miles away
Snells Beach Motel
169 reviews
11.13 miles away
Warkworth Lodge
96 reviews
11.61 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
Leigh Sawmill Cafe & Accommodation
221 reviews
1.34 miles away
Leigh Bar and Eatery
27 reviews
1.51 miles away
Leigh Eats
45 reviews
1.51 miles away
Ginja Cafe & Restaurant
5 reviews
4.50 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Goat Island Dive & Snorkel
107 reviews
1.34 miles away
Pakiri Beach Horse Rides - Day Tours
83 reviews
4.89 miles away
Clearyak
68 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glass Bottom Boat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines