We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Zealand Marine Studies Centre

Features Animals
185 Hatchery Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
+64 3-479 5826
Save
Review Highlights
Dont Bother Its Closed

Not having much luck on the peninsula on the day we visited. The albatross centre couldnt be... read more

Reviewed 17 February 2016
kevingoodwin
,
Perth, Australia
Great aquarium

I loved this place as a kid, and it's nice to see all the work which has gone into it. Brilliant... read more

Reviewed 17 July 2015
Troy M
,
Wellington, New Zealand
Read all 17 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Currently closed to the public for renovation, the Research Aquarium (part of the University of Otago) showcases southern New Zealand marine life.
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good23%
  • Average17%
  • Poor23%
  • Terrible5%
17 Feb 2016
“Dont Bother Its Closed”
17 Jul 2015
“Great aquarium”
LOCATION
185 Hatchery Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
CONTACT
+64 3-479 5826
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016

Not having much luck on the peninsula on the day we visited. The albatross centre couldnt be bothered opening until 11,30 the car park stunk and was covered in bird poo so we came her. No luck either, closed due to an assessment of earthquake...More

Thank kevingoodwin
DunedinAquarium, Manager at New Zealand Marine Studies Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Unfortunately there is no plan to rebuild a public aquarium at Portobello. The good news is that the NZ Marine Studies Centre is open for pre-booked school groups who do get to see the animals that we hold in the Centre as part of the...More

Reviewed 17 July 2015

I loved this place as a kid, and it's nice to see all the work which has gone into it. Brilliant place to bring the kids to exploreMore

1  Thank Troy M
DunedinAquarium, Manager at New Zealand Marine Studies Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments. Unfortunately the aquarium is still closed to the public and no decision has been made as yet by the University about when or where to rebuild. However, the NZ Marine Studies Centre is still open for pre-booked school groups,...More

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my brother loved it apart from the drive it was a bit long but the view was amazing and when we got to feed the fish it was cool. We both wish it would reopen rather soon.

2  Thank Charlotte2654
Reviewed 16 January 2013

real cool, well maintained, interesting fish, nice environment, interesting location, good variety of fish

2  Thank Barbara W
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is actually closed at present to the public as it's being earthquake strengthened, but when it's open it's great. It's quite a drive out there but great for kids once you're there. There are touch pools where kids can feel star fish, etc and...More

3  Thank Frinn
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Hi Frinn - Thank you for your review. Being a small research aquarium we often find that adults enjoy it most when they take a guided tour. The University is planning a renovation/rebuild at present, and hopes the Aquarium will reopen in 2013. We are...More

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were very, very disappointed in this. It seemed very old and tired and grossly overpriced. Kids will probably enjoy the displays where they can touch some of the starfish but other than that I can't suggest any reason for going there.More

Thank Goannas
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Hi Goannas - I'm not sure when you visited, but the Aquarium closed to the public on 1st June 2012 for renovation. The University is planning a new research Aquarium, due to open in 2013. I hope you will check us out on a future...More

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Enjoyed the walk to the aquarium from Portabello and had a good time looking at all of the displays. A great way to spend an afternoon.

2  Thank Kelly M
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I hate to say it but I was so disappointed. We were down for an overnight trip for a concert and this was the one activity I choose to do while we were down. After a reasonable drive to get there it took us about...More

Thank ChchTravellor
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Working aquarium stocked by the university and has a hands on display for young and old.Not a bad effort for small town NZ

Thank KIWIKEITH
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Suitable for all ages and enjoyable interactive activites. Stunning drive out and excellent easy to understand information. Facility for coffee making and pleasant lounge to picnic in too

Thank Dawn W
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
1908 Cafe Restaurant
406 reviews
.93 miles away
The Portsider
70 reviews
1.28 miles away
The Galley Cafe and Bar
24 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Port Royale
27 reviews
1.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Happy Hens
43 reviews
.83 miles away
Port Chalmers Golf Club
5 reviews
2.33 miles away
Port Chalmers' Seafaring Museum
15 reviews
4.36 miles away
Iona Church
8 reviews
1.34 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
emmahendriks
3 August 2017|
Answer
Response from DunedinAquarium | Property representative |
The NZ Marine Studies Centre is not open for casual general public viewing since the old Aquarium has been demolished. In its place, the University has built a state-of-the art teaching lab and improved the research... More
0
Votes