We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belfast Zoo

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Lovely zoo

This is a really lovely zoo the only strain is that it is a hilly terrain. The play area is the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
112sandraq
,
Thurles, Ireland
via mobile
Good zoo

Went here for the morning Saturday 9th February. Got there just after the doors opens to begin with... read more

Reviewed 11 February 2019
Z5237VUalisons
,
Godalming, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 829 reviews
500
All photos (500)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sea lions”(26 reviews)
“up hill”(27 reviews)
“floral hall”(28 reviews)
About
Belfast Zoo is located in north Belfast. The zoo's 55 acre site is home to more than 1,000 animals and 150 species. The majority of our animals are in danger in their natural habitat. The zoo also carries out important conservation work and takes...more
Contact
Antrim Road, Newtownabbey BT36 7PN, Northern Ireland
Website
+44 28 9077 6277
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
316
236
137
69
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
316
236
137
69
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions up hill floral hall great family day feeding times play park big cats wide range of animals sun bears reptile house beautiful animals sunny day entrance fee northern ireland elephants picnic belfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to do a Giraffe Experience. It was excellent. We got up close to the giraffes and fed them. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Brilliant experience and worth the money. It was a small group, only five people, so we were given...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank SIMONE M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Set in lovely scenery with some great views. Highlight being the awesome gorillas, which makes it definitely worth a visit. A lot of the areas are quite tired, but generally a nice little zoo.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank DenF51
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Belfast Zoo and look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really lovely zoo the only strain is that it is a hilly terrain. The play area is the best and so much fun for all ages.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 112sandraq
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a fun day out at Belfast Zoo and that you enjoyed our play park! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There seemed to be a lot of empty cages throughout the zoo which was disappointing considering the gradient scaled to see certain exhibits. Also had a very long wait for a cup of tea in the restaurant as one poor woman served everyone while her...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank KoshJeene
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We endeavour to make the enclosures as natural as possible for the animals in the zoo. As such, there are certain areas in their enclosures where they can go for privacy, resulting in them not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Zoo has lot of animals that i had not seen before thus definitely enjoyed the whole trip. What i like about the zoo was that it was very clean and ability to see animals being fed was an added bonus. overall a must watch if...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank atyagi86
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to Belfast Zoo and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled 1.5hrs to take our 5 children on a family day out to the zoo. On arriving at the zoo @ 2:25 the car park was very busy so it was 2:40 by the time we were paying for our admission. The staff told...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank pauric-1
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The winter hours for Belfast Zoo are 10am-4pm (last admission being 2.30pm). Our opening times are clearly displayed on our website and through our social media platforms. It’s unfortunate you weren’t aware of the closing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurant is so badly run. Terrible choices, and complete and utter disorganisation. Visited this week with four kids and two adults. Queued for twenty mins to order food - suggestion have another person at counter taking orders so that by the time you get to...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Beaded
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to We were disappointed to hear about your experience in our catering facilities. The catering is operated and managed by an external company, called Amadeus. We can assure you that your feedback will be passed to the zoo’s contract...More

Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

Went here for the morning Saturday 9th February. Got there just after the doors opens to begin with we thought it was a waste of money as the first 2 enclosures were empty or maybe they were inside where we couldn’t see them which was...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Z5237VUalisons
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Belfast Zoo, in regards to your comments about our asian elephants : A number of years ago we became a sanctuary for elderly non-breeding female elephants...More

Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Went here on a Saturday afternoon, 4 of us. Was a cold day so animals were hiding inside. You can still see the animals from the window. The place is very long and very hilly so wear comfy shoes! X

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank GN0509
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit to Belfast zoo and look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

It took us exactly 3 hours to walk through all the sites. Follow the map! Comfortable rubber sole walking shoes are a must since the roads were a little wet, being winter and all. There is a very good selection of animals to see with...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank MwateVR
BelfastZooInfo, Owner at Belfast Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day out at Belfast Zoo and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Corrs Corner Hotel
461 reviews
2.69 miles away
Citi North
39 reviews
2.91 miles away
Chimney Corner Hotel
326 reviews
2.92 miles away
Titanic Hotel Belfast
1,041 reviews
3.73 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 122 nearby restaurants
Cafe Cosh
8 reviews
.70 miles away
Bridge Bar & Grill
38 reviews
.58 miles away
Synge & Byrne Abbeycentre
84 reviews
.98 miles away
The Throne Cafe
9 reviews
.39 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 37 nearby attractions
Cave Hill Country Park
429 reviews
1.02 miles away
Hazelbank Park
10 reviews
1.34 miles away
Glengormley Library
16 reviews
1.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
katw447
9 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BelfastZooInfo | Property representative |
Our Concession begins from the age of 60.
1
Vote
hannahbethanywilson
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from JaneGoddard | Reviewed this property |
I’m sorry I have no idea prob best to look at their website or contact them 👍
0
Votes
Bktodd
26 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BelfastZooInfo | Property representative |
Belfast Zoo is home to three Asian elephants, called Yhetto, Dhunja and Tina!
0
Votes