We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Segedunum

2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
+44 191 236 9347
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
For history buffs

Interesting roman site with mockup of a roman bath housr. There is also a replica of part of the... read more

Reviewed 9 November 2017
MakemRon
,
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Excellent site

To see the end of the wall was brilliant. Staff friendly, great viewing point to see the area and... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2017
Darren P
via mobile
Read all 200 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good42%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“bath house” (39 reviews)
“viewing tower” (17 reviews)
“roman fort” (27 reviews)
LOCATION
2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Interesting roman site with mockup of a roman bath housr. There is also a replica of part of the roman wall but this is situated about 100 metrs west on ghe other side of the main road

Thank MakemRon
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

To see the end of the wall was brilliant. Staff friendly, great viewing point to see the area and also to see what was the shipbuilding area and where the Mauritania was built. We crossed the road to see the reconstructed wall and a piece...More

Thank Darren P
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Total waste of £30 - only ever going to have been slightly interesting for very young school kids while doing a Roman project - no reason for anyone else to bother coming here.More

1  Thank robertgarvie
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. We do endeavour to engage and inspire people of all ages and have a wide-ranging offer including: • The World Heritage Site at...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017

This is a very special plsce to visit, because it is the End of Hadrian's Wall! It has a scenic view from a modern tower with an elevator. It has a fantastic museum of Roman and English history. It has interactive displays, such as constructing...More

Thank Helen A
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hello Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about Segedunum; it's great to hear such feedback. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 4 October 2017

I’ve visited many times and it’s always enjoyable. The history is great, there’s always lots to see. My nieces and nephews love going when they visit Wallsend. There is always hands on experiences, and things to do for children young and teens. The Roman bathe...More

Thank Joyceybaby
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to pass on feedback about your visits! It's great to hear that you like to come back, and inspire younger people too. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Some excellent information timelines on the video screens and well presented exhibits. Liked the overview from the tower, and the end of wall sculpture, but not so well mapped or explained as I would have liked. I felt slightly short changed by lack of facilities...More

Thank Marydon2013
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you were a little disappointed by the facilities and some of the displays. We have recently invested in new visitor facilities such as the...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Both the museum and Roman excavations were a pleasure to visit. The museum was suitable for both children and adults as it has exhibits to interest all. There was a wonderful activities room for the children which would be excellent for visiting school groups. We...More

Thank BJN3
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This museum is unusual as there is a main road that runs through the middle of it. At £5.95 entrance fee, it is not the cheapest of museums, but we had a reduction as part of the museum (the bath house) was closed. Our visit...More

Thank HolidayForUs
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I visited with my family and to be honest I felt It could be more interesting for the younger children. I think its batter for teens and above.

Thank sammy jo s
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have been here on many occasions - sometimes as an individual or at other times with parties of school children. Plenty to see and do. You realise how advanced the Romans were in some aspects of life and so primitive in other ways -...More

Thank Isabel W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wallsend Hotels
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
403 reviews
2.34 miles away
City Apartments Newcastle - Quayside
26 reviews
2.34 miles away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
1,057 reviews
2.51 miles away
Jesmond Park Hotel
203 reviews
2.57 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sopranos Italian Restaurant
208 reviews
.27 miles away
Bella Pizza Italian Restaurant
24 reviews
.12 miles away
The Kitchen
11 reviews
.17 miles away
Modern Tandoori
126 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Role Play
8 reviews
1.31 miles away
Gala Bingo Wallsend
20 reviews
1.78 miles away
Centurion Park Golf Course
11 reviews
.82 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hermiony199510
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TyneandWearMuseums | Property representative |
Hi, No we do not have a confirmed re-opening dates for the bath house at the moment. It is still closed for essential maintenance. Best wishes - Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager.
0
Votes