We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Segedunum

Is this your business?
2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
+44 191 278 4217
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Bank Holiday Monday visit

Visited Segedunum for the first time on Bank Holiday Monday with my husband and 4 year old. We... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JLinds72
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Beaver Scout visit

We attended for an organised badge day with our district. Fantastic venue and really enthusiastic... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Andrea S
via mobile
Read all 208 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Part of the Hadrian's Wall UNESCO World Heritage Site, Segedunum is the most excavated Roman fort along the Wall with surviving foundations of many buildings and part of the Wall itself. With a large interactive museum, a section of Wall and a 35 metre high viewing tower providing outstanding views across Tyneside there is also a changing programme of exhibitions. There is also a seasonal programme of events including historical re-enactments with gladiators and artisans, to regular events for families during school holidays. Kids under 16 always go free.
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good43%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“bath house” (41 reviews)
“viewing tower” (19 reviews)
“roman fort” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 278 4217
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bath house"
in 41 reviews
"viewing tower"
in 19 reviews
"roman fort"
in 28 reviews
"hadrian's wall"
in 36 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 3 reviews
"roman bath"
in 2 reviews
"video showing"
in 2 reviews
"worthwhile trip"
in 2 reviews
"roman times"
in 4 reviews
"display boards"
in 2 reviews
"school children"
in 3 reviews
"great museum"
in 5 reviews
"cafe serves"
in 2 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 2 reviews
"interactive areas"
in 2 reviews
"industrial revolution"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 9 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Segedunum for the first time on Bank Holiday Monday with my husband and 4 year old. We thought it was great and my little boy had a great time running around the fort remains and playing in the little play park. There was a...More

1  Thank JLinds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We attended for an organised badge day with our district. Fantastic venue and really enthusiastic and knowledgable staff. Would really recommend!! Great place to take your own kids too :)

1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andrea Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - this is always great to hear. I'll pass your comments on to the learning staff who ran the event. I hope we see you again! Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This site is a very easily accessible part of Hadrian's Wall UNESCO World Heritage Site. From Newcastle it's accessible via metro and bus. It's a few steps away from both. It includes a large site where you just see the foundations of ancient Roman constructions....More

Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Segedunum. It is a heavily excavated site and as you mention it's the history that is significant too - the information archaeologists have been able to glean from discoveries here...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Many of the interactive facilities for children and adults were out of order and most of the excavated artefacts which were spread around the building could have been placed in one small room.More

Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Segedunum. I'm sorry you had such a negative experience. We are in the process of servicing the interactive displays. Segedunum is one of the most excavated sites on Hadrian's Wall...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We visited over Easter holidays. The huge glass viewing tower is a huge asset! You can get a birds eyes view of a Roman fort, from the warmth and comfort of a glass tower. Genius. More places should have these viewing towers! As a vertigo...More

Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your visit to Segedunum and for all of your positive comments. The Viewing Tower does indeed offer breathtaking views and can offer very different experiences depending on the weather. It's great to hear...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We've been to most of the sites on the wall with this, the one furthest east, having escaped us until now. Most of the wall is under English Heritage but this is one of the locations that stands alone, their website advising "Managed by Tyne...More

Thank HHH666Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

If your children are studying Romans, this is a great place to take them. Although it’s quite small, the set up is very good and the staff were great. We went in Half Term with 4 kids ranging from 3-14 and they all found something...More

Thank O5carBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your feedback, I hope you and your family visit the museum and fort again. Thanks Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

What a bummer, arrived too early in the year to visit this but we were able to walk round behind it (avoiding all the litter and dog turds) to see the rear of the baths, some of the wall, and the original bath house foundations...More

Thank Edwardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you were unable to visit the museum and experience everything that Segedunum has to offer, but it's good to know that you were able to see the original bath house remains. Geoff...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Interesting roman site with mockup of a roman bath housr. There is also a replica of part of the roman wall but this is situated about 100 metrs west on ghe other side of the main road

Thank MakemRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I'm glad you found your visit interesting. Kind regards Geoff Woodward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

To see the end of the wall was brilliant. Staff friendly, great viewing point to see the area and also to see what was the shipbuilding area and where the Mauritania was built. We crossed the road to see the reconstructed wall and a piece...More

Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you very much for your great review. It's very frustrating as someone who is very proud of Segedunum to have the Bath House closed. Please be assured we are looking at ways of trying to rectify this issue. Thanks again for your lovely...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wallsend Hotels
City Apartments Newcastle - Quayside
26 reviews
2.44 miles away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
413 reviews
2.47 miles away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
1,100 reviews
2.62 miles away
Village Hotel Newcastle
3,011 reviews
2.69 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sopranos Italian Restaurant
223 reviews
.24 miles away
Bella Pizza Italian Restaurant
28 reviews
.13 miles away
The Kitchen
13 reviews
.30 miles away
The Last Bite
22 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby Attractions
InflataSpace
6 reviews
1.16 miles away
Role Play
9 reviews
1.23 miles away
Gala Bingo Wallsend
28 reviews
1.72 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hermiony199510
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TyneandWearMuseums | Property representative |
Hi, No we do not have a confirmed re-opening dates for the bath house at the moment. It is still closed for essential maintenance. Best wishes - Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager.
0
Votes
;