The Water Mill & Museums
The Water Mill & Museums
3
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The Water Mill is a working Water Mill that has been milling for over 1,000 years. Stunning views and peaceful landscapes, enjoy a homemade cream tea made with our own homemade flour, feed the birds, watch the Water Mill work and take a trip through history in the rural museums. We are set in the heart of the Island’s biosphere, perfect day out for all the family. With a history going back a thousand years, The Water Mill has supplied flour and animal feeds to the people of the Isle of Wight. Driven solely by the waterwheel, the stone mill (the oldest part of the mill) produces flour, using grit stones and burr stones. The mill produces up to sixty tons of flour and oats each year. You can buy a range of flours, oats and mueslis in our gift shop, in shops all over the Island and at our online shop.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
See what travellers are saying
  • rachele840
    Warwickshire, United Kingdom8 contributions
    Over priced for what’s there
    Having looked at the website thought this looked a nice day out. Turned out to be an expensive 2 hours. £18 for 2 adults and a 4 year old. We were then charged a further £3 per person for golf. I had thought this was included due to the high price point and it not being on the website that it’s extra. Very little for children to do, the swings were surrounded by wood chip so couldn’t be accessed. Nice woodland walk but many places to do this for free. The water wheel and small museums are interesting but don’t justify the admission cost. Can’t comment on the cafe as after seeing the price £8.95 for a sandwich we left and went to a pub.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 7 April 2023
  • Max160
    Chichester, United Kingdom17 contributions
    Oh Dear!
    Such a lovely Summer's day yesterday and being in the area, I thought that I would satisfy my curiosity and see what, if anything, was going on at Calbourne Mill. Last time I went, which was about four years ago, I was amazed at how run down and neglected every thing was, particularly the museum exhibits, so this time I went really to enjoy the glorious riverside setting and indeed, to find out if the place was still open after having been put up for sale. Well it looks like the majority of rotting agricultural exhibits have been got rid of as I see that most of the ramshackle long barn has been cleared out. The remaining odd items have been piled up outside on the grass in a heap, maybe ready to be burnt, as they are without exception, too far gone to ever be restored. Pity, as a totally rotted VictorianThreshing machine and Traction engine take centre stage on the bonfire heap. I enjoyed my visit and the lady at the entrance kiosk was very welcoming, but the admission charge for a family is ridiculously high for what you get to see.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 7 June 2023
  • Debbie w
    Ansty, United Kingdom2 contributions
    Tired and unloved accommodation
    We stayed at Goldfinch Lodge at Calbourne Water Mill and I’m sad to say that the accommodation was tired and unloved. Threadbare carpets, furniture which has seen better days, leaking shower, damp floor in the bathroom, lumpy mattresses and TVs either missing or not working. The lodge did not offer good value for the money we paid. Reported a few items on our arrival which the very helpful staff said they would pass on to the owner but sadly no response from the owner. The staff at the watermill were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the facilities at the mill, just deeply disappointed with the accommodation after looking forward to our family holiday.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 29 July 2023
  • bella c
    1 contribution
    Give it a miss.
    Very expensive entry seeing as the actual mill is no longer working. £8.95 each for an adult. Last year it was only a fiver. We (wrongly) assumed that the uplift in entry would mean that improvements had been made inside. Sadly not. In fact now thw actual mill doesn't even work!There is nothing to tell you this before you go in. The mill house was full of doves and consequently everything was plastered in bird droppings. We didn't want to linger as it felt like a health hazard, particularly with bird flu still doing the rounds. There was blood and feathers on the floor in one of the upper rooms where a bird had obviously met its demise. Rather concerningly there was also a broken pane of glass just propped up on the floor in one of the walkways. Outside, the paths in the woods are overgrown with brambles, the bench to sit on look very dilapidated and the ones right at the top where the view is best, have actually gone altogether.The kids play area is still out of action since covid. The old viking reenactment fort is slowly falling to bits as it no longer gets used. It looks a complete eyesore. Where the old open sheds used to be full of old farm equipment, they have largely been cleared out and the "exhibits" piled in the middle of the lawn in what looks like preparations for bonfire night!! The boats still haven't been returned to the river since covid and the only actual thing left to do is crazy golf for which you have to pay an extra £5.95 each!! I can't comment on the state of the gents toilet, but the ladies was horrible. One cubicle was out of order and the floor of the only other available cubicle was flooded with wee. I did tell a member of staff but he didn't seem overly bothered. It's such a shame as the actual location is stunning. The lady on the gate is very friendly and when I asked about the state of things she mentioned that they are now doing weddings. Suddenly all became clear, obviously there is more money to be had in hosting wedding parties than in running a tourist attraction, hence the lack of any care being taken.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 31 July 2023
  • Coastal23286277550
    1 contribution
    Beautiful grounds and building but tired looking
    The place is lovely, however it is a little tired and doesn't warrant the entry price. We went expecting to see the mill working but by the looks of it it hasn't been in use for a while. Would not go back.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 18 August 2023
  • zoerk75
    Carlisle, United Kingdom30 contributions
    Nice for a visit - fab crazy golf
    We stopped off here for a late lunch and a round of the crazy golf we had spotted from the road. We hadn’t realised you had to pay to enter the mill to eat lunch but never mind. We decided to have lunch first and ordered salads in the cafe. Whilst they were nice they were very basic and took forever to prepare, not worth the amount being charged by a long shot. The cakes were more reasonable and all home made - the carrot cake was lovely. Due to having to wait so long for lunch we didn’t have much time to look round the mill as the last time we could play golf was 4pm. So a bit of a quick whizz round the museum which had some interesting things to see. Then onto the crazy golf which was brilliant a real olde world proper crazy golf we all loved it and became very competitive. The lady said we could return to look in the mill again within 7 days for free but we were on our last day on the island. A good find but the speed and pricing of cafe needs reviewing.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 19 August 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.0
419 reviews
Excellent
101
Very good
92
Average
72
Poor
67
Terrible
87

Janet W
4 contributions
Oct 2023 • Couples
Lovely spot on a nice day a bit uneven for walking if have difficulties, the watermill wasn't working and didn't look as though it had in a while.
Cafe was really good, great coffee and food was excellent service was also brilliant with really friendly staff.
Written 24 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jacqueline H
2 contributions
Sept 2023 • Friends
My experience of visiting was poor; the site in general required some TLC, a good clean up and the services of a Gardener. It would have been helpful right at the start, when I paid my entrance fee, if I had been handed a map of the site.
Written 10 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jill B
Basingstoke, UK409 contributions
Sept 2023 • Couples
I’m sorry I don’t give bad reviews unless I really feel I have to, but this is a place that looks tired and unkept the water mill that says it works I don’t think it has worked for weeks if not months it was broken and mucky, the museum of old cooker etc looked like scrap yard, even the cafe looked tired, we didn’t stay long which was a shame as the leaflet we were given looked lovely
Written 3 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Warren B
7 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
Very poor for the entrance fee, could not go in the mill with my daughter as not dog friendly, the rest of the site was tired and un loved full of junk and trip hazard's, seen cleaner loos at a festival, and the back of the kitchen did not seem much better ,so gave the cafe a miss. Save your cash go else where
Written 29 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

zoerk75
Carlisle, UK30 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
We stopped off here for a late lunch and a round of the crazy golf we had spotted from the road.

We hadn’t realised you had to pay to enter the mill to eat lunch but never mind.

We decided to have lunch first and ordered salads in the cafe. Whilst they were nice they were very basic and took forever to prepare, not worth the amount being charged by a long shot.

The cakes were more reasonable and all home made - the carrot cake was lovely.

Due to having to wait so long for lunch we didn’t have much time to look round the mill as the last time we could play golf was 4pm. So a bit of a quick whizz round the museum which had some interesting things to see.

Then onto the crazy golf which was brilliant a real olde world proper crazy golf we all loved it and became very competitive.

The lady said we could return to look in the mill again within 7 days for free but we were on our last day on the island.

A good find but the speed and pricing of cafe needs reviewing.
Written 19 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Coastal23286277550
1 contribution
Aug 2023 • Family
The place is lovely, however it is a little tired and doesn't warrant the entry price. We went expecting to see the mill working but by the looks of it it hasn't been in use for a while. Would not go back.
Written 18 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bella c
1 contribution
Jul 2023 • Couples
Very expensive entry seeing as the actual mill is no longer working. £8.95 each for an adult. Last year it was only a fiver. We (wrongly) assumed that the uplift in entry would mean that improvements had been made inside. Sadly not.
In fact now thw actual mill doesn't even work!There is nothing to tell you this before you go in. The mill house was full of doves and consequently everything was plastered in bird droppings. We didn't want to linger as it felt like a health hazard, particularly with bird flu still doing the rounds. There was blood and feathers on the floor in one of the upper rooms where a bird had obviously met its demise. Rather concerningly there was also a broken pane of glass just propped up on the floor in one of the walkways.
Outside, the paths in the woods are overgrown with brambles, the bench to sit on look very dilapidated and the ones right at the top where the view is best, have actually gone altogether.The kids play area is still out of action since covid. The old viking reenactment fort is slowly falling to bits as it no longer gets used. It looks a complete eyesore.
Where the old open sheds used to be full of old farm equipment, they have largely been cleared out and the "exhibits" piled in the middle of the lawn in what looks like preparations for bonfire night!!
The boats still haven't been returned to the river since covid and the only actual thing left to do is crazy golf for which you have to pay an extra £5.95 each!!
I can't comment on the state of the gents toilet, but the ladies was horrible. One cubicle was out of order and the floor of the only other available cubicle was flooded with wee. I did tell a member of staff but he didn't seem overly bothered.
It's such a shame as the actual location is stunning. The lady on the gate is very friendly and when I asked about the state of things she mentioned that they are now doing weddings. Suddenly all became clear, obviously there is more money to be had in hosting wedding parties than in running a tourist attraction, hence the lack of any care being taken.
Written 31 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Debbie w
Ansty, UK2 contributions
Jul 2023 • Family
We stayed at Goldfinch Lodge at Calbourne Water Mill and I’m sad to say that the accommodation was tired and unloved. Threadbare carpets, furniture which has seen better days, leaking shower, damp floor in the bathroom, lumpy mattresses and TVs either missing or not working. The lodge did not offer good value for the money we paid. Reported a few items on our arrival which the very helpful staff said they would pass on to the owner but sadly no response from the owner. The staff at the watermill were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the facilities at the mill, just deeply disappointed with the accommodation after looking forward to our family holiday.
Written 29 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jon B
Beaconsfield, UK28 contributions
Jul 2023 • Family
Having passes the mill multiple times on the way to other IoW attractions, we had never previously planned to stop, however due to a road diversion we found ourselves in the proximity and thought - why not give this a visit?

The first thing to note about this attraction is that you have to pay to enter. Considering so many other attractions on the island a free to enter (e.g. Bus Museum), this felt like poor value for money. None of the museums have had any upkeep in recent years, and the mill itself appears non-functional. This in itself is a real shame and should the Water Mill have been working (which it even states on signs as you enter the attraction), I could understand the entry fee - instead all the Water Mills on site appear to have not turned in a few years.

The cafe / gift shop is quite a tired, humble affair, which there is nothing wrong with, however the prices and quality of the food do not align with other offerings on the island.

Finally - the adventure golf (which is not included in the entry fee - and costs more again) is also lacking any TLC, with most of the holes suffering from ripped ground or missing pieces (although the course is playable).

One positive about the Mill was the staff. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and a joy to interact with.

Overall, unless you have time to kill, I would give this attraction a miss until they spend some time improving and fixing the attractions and museums.
Written 19 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Max160
Chichester, UK17 contributions
Jun 2023 • Solo
Such a lovely Summer's day yesterday and being in the area, I thought that I would satisfy my curiosity and see what, if anything, was going on at Calbourne Mill. Last time I went, which was about four years ago, I was amazed at how run down and neglected every thing was, particularly the museum exhibits, so this time I went really to enjoy the glorious riverside setting and indeed, to find out if the place was still open after having been put up for sale. Well it looks like the majority of rotting agricultural exhibits have been got rid of as I see that most of the ramshackle long barn has been cleared out. The remaining odd items have been piled up outside on the grass in a heap, maybe ready to be burnt, as they are without exception, too far gone to ever be restored. Pity, as a totally rotted VictorianThreshing machine and Traction engine take centre stage on the bonfire heap. I enjoyed my visit and the lady at the entrance kiosk was very welcoming, but the admission charge for a family is ridiculously high for what you get to see.
Written 7 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 419
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE WATER MILL & MUSEUMS: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Water Mill & Museums

The Water Mill & Museums is open:
  • Tue - Sun 10:00 - 17:00