We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

British Wildlife Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: British Wildlife Centre Eastbourne Road, Lingfield RH7 6LF, England
Phone Number:
+44 1342 834658
Website
Fee: Yes

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 331 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 217
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
perfect location for the whole family

true british wildlife centre great for kids and adults alike, cheap and so much to offer was great seeing this place on such a nice day

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
jbaccy92
,
Brighton, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Lingfield

Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 331: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

true british wildlife centre great for kids and adults alike, cheap and so much to offer was great seeing this place on such a nice day

Helpful?
Thank jbaccy92
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great place have been before but this time solo with better camera. Not overly abundant with wildlife but great place for learning patience. Love looking at nature in its own environment but down side U.K. Wildlife tends to hide away in the cold till feeding time. If your taking little people and want them occupied follow the keepers talks and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 15debs1963
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited with our three young children despite of the previous negative review of the lack of animals but unfortunately we were also bitterly disappointed. Most animals are in 'hibernation' so there are very few to see and the broadwalk is closed. I feel for staff and customers alike, it would be fairer to have a seasonal calendar, March -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nonsoloinglese
Buxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I decided to visit, we have never been before and were both looking forward to seeing the wildlife. Sadly we were both extremely disappointed. The tickets are expensive at 11.50 each but do appreciate the work that goes into looking after the animals so we didn't mind paying it. One problem, there were hardly any animals to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsEaster
Liza L, Public Relations Manager at British Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

We very sorry to hear you that you were disappointed with your visit to the Centre recently. Please be assured that, unless there is a sign that says otherwise, all our enclosures are inhabited. We apologise that our Wetland Nature Reserve Boardwalk is currently closed due to essential repairs but there is a large notice at the front desk which... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

I have always enjoyed coming to this place. I remember first visiting it on a school trip. Every time I go there is always something new and exciting to see and the place is just beautiful. its especially nice in warmer weathers. Have also recommended this to my friends that have young children.

Helpful?
Thank bridgee03
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Cold on the way round so the tea and cake were welcome at the end. And informative morning with the red squirrels, Foxes and the otters, with a number of pics taken. It's an interesting place to visit throughout the year and the tea and cake is always excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Iain C
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Been here a few times now my little one loves it! Hard to see the talks when it's so busy but with a 2 year old we don't tend to stay in on place for too long haha! Overall it's a Great day out and a lovely little cafeé too

Helpful?
Thank samantha_06xx
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

As a family we had a wonderful and insightful day learning about the diverse and fascinating creatures that inhabit our island. Particular favourites were Flo the fox (an absolutely gorgeous beauty), the wildcats, the red squirrel walk and the adorable little harvest mice. I would advise walking around a few times as we saw the polecats and ferrets the second... More 

Helpful?
Thank Getahead
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

We visited on what must have been the coldest day of the year, but it was totally fascinating. The small people in our party were very cold, but soon warmed up in the cafe and ventured back out once the sun had broken through. Lots of animals and birds to see, from red squirrels to wildcats to owls and several... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmum
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

We visited the BWC for the first time two days ago and it was wonderful, We had been to a similar establishment in the New Forest where the diversity of our own fauna is celebrated, and this is a little closer to home. Great café (all my reviews circle around food,,,) and beautiful animals; owls, foxes, pine martens, deer, badgers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inez C

Travellers who viewed British Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Dorking, Surrey
 

Been to British Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of British Wildlife Centre and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
3 months ago
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from British Wildlife Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?