We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Daintree Discovery Centre

Features Animals
Closed Now: 08:30 - 17:00
Open today: 08:30 - 17:00
Share
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
442
All photos (442)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide”(142 reviews)
“aerial walkway”(29 reviews)
About
The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Contact
Cnr Cape Tribulation Rd & Tulip Oak Rd, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Website
+61 7 4098 9171
Call
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,378 results
Traveller rating
782
293
160
87
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
782
293
160
87
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide aerial walkway different levels entry fee own pace climate change great introduction bush tucker ground level flora and fauna self guided rainforest canopy couple of hours great place to visit wealth of information board walk take your time
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,378 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Oct 17 - The Daintee is truly amazing and there is lots of free amazing board walks around to take in its magic. This center however was a little underwhelming, I think we really should have gotten the audio tour to enhance our experience but...More

Thank travelculturepassion
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes the Daintree is truly amazing and our audio guided tour with the guide book is the best way to get the most out of our Rainforest Interpretive Centre as we are all about access and information from the forest floor to the top of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

must do intro to the forest. self guided walks take you through the eco-systems and the flora, including climbing through to above the canopy. Brilliant. Ticket is good for returns over 7 days.

Thank reddinouk
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the awesome rating and we really appreciate your review. Happy holidays.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The discovery centre has some good information and is a great place to start your trip into the rainforest. The boardwalks are interesting and the tower gets you into the canopy. The dinosaurs could do with some love and attention but i bet kids love...More

Thank Richard M
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great rating and review, we really appreciate your visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really not worth the $70 (two adults). Go straight to all the other boardwalks, beaches and more. Unless you like NOT seeing a cassowary (cause you wont), you like to see animals in terraria and aquariums and like to see fake dinosaurs.More

Thank KLvD
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to express your view, Cassowaries are an ENDANGERED species so we cannot guarantee you will see one here at our Centre or in the Daintree on a day trip. However we do have regular sightings, our last was on Wednesday...More

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We were fleeced by this place, $85 for 2 adults and 1 child to see/do/learn not a great deal. The narration was slow, the dinosaurs were tacky. Not much to see from the top of the tower and no mobile phone reception up there as...More

1  Thank natmouse
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our Centre and we are sorry you feel this way. We would have liked to have spoken to you regarding your experience before you left the Discovery Centre rather than here and we appreciate our facility is not...More

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Finally after 14 years of coming up to Far North Queensland, we made the trek up to the Daintree. It’s a great place to spend as much or as little time there as you would like. For a first time visitor, the self guided program...More

Thank jennygK3631WT
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Wow! Thanks for the fabulous review, we are so pleased you had a wonderful time and we really appreciate your visit. Happy holidays.

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

The Daintee is amazing and there is lots of amazing walks, this center was ok and the dinosaurs were fun however entry just wasn’t worth it. Overall ok, personally next time I would give it a miss.More

Thank Britty1507
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to express your views, our Centre is the only opportunity to access the Worlds Oldest Lowland Rainforest from the forest floor to the top of the trees whilst learning about this unique and amazing part of the World. Being...More

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed learning about the amazing park and all the ancient history in this region. Excellent staff and very clean- kids enjoyed it as well and loved doing the hikes in this region.

Thank bb9000cde
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thanks for the awesome review, we really appreciate your visit.

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Had visited the Daintree several times over the years and was not really expecting much but the experience was just amazing! Staff were so friendly and helpful and the audio self tours were just brilliant, really informative. We had several children in our group, aged...More

1  Thank Genevieve N
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thanks so much for a wonderful review, our staff are really passionate about the Daintree and we are so pleased when our visitors love it as much as we do. Thanks again and happy holidays.

Reviewed 1 October 2018

I was keen to visit during my Daintree visit and wasn't disappointed. It was not a big as I expected but it was very informative and a great way to learn about this pristine environment. The skywalk was a great way to visit the Daintree...More

Thank Bev H
Abi R, Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thanks for the awesome review, we are so happy you had a wonderful time here at our Centre and in the Daintree. We hope you had a great holiday.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
143 reviews
8.87 miles away
Cow Bay Hotel
43 reviews
10.74 miles away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
178 reviews
10.83 miles away
Daintree Ecolodge
659 reviews
15.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Whet Restaurant
1,072 reviews
.96 miles away
Turtle Rock Cafe
127 reviews
.78 miles away
Tides Bar & Restaurant
156 reviews
.85 miles away
The Cassowary Cafe
59 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Daintree National Park
819 reviews
.29 miles away
Marrdja Botanical Walk
139 reviews
.46 miles away
Cape Trib Farm
88 reviews
.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Libby0708
19 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from JJ R | Reviewed this property |
I can't recall parents wheeling strollers about however for the most part the board walks are wide and flow into each other. It would be impossible to reach the top of the viewing tower with a pram as you climb steps from... More
1
Vote
LindaJohn87
22 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Abi R | Property representative |
Its an hour north of Port Douglas or 2 hours north of Cairns, you will need to hire a car.
1
Vote
Loralyn W
8 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DR1313 | Reviewed this property |
Hiring a car allowed us the freedom to move around and see a range of attractions - without the worry of following a timetable. We were able to enjoy this attraction at our own pace.
0
Votes