We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-409, Portugal
Phone Number:
+351 937 777 913
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.50*
and up
Parasailing from Albufeira
More Info
US$37.63*
and up
Dolphin Watching and Cave Tour from Albufeira
More Info
US$26.88*
and up
Banana Boat Ride from Albufeira

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 253 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 150
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 26
    Terrible
Dolphin safari and caves

The driver was very pleasant and tried his best to make the trip enjoyable and exciting even though we did not catch sight of any dolphins.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 November 2016
Karen K
,
North Wales, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I found this place through recommendations and was hugely disappointed. First of all, the price for just two people on a speed boat was ridiculous and then the fact that the littlest of swell at sea, they refuse to take any type of boat out, not even for a trip out to sea on any of there boats. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl P
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Took the dolphin safari and cave tour last month. It's amazing to see them in the wild. It's just under two hours and only 35€ worth every penny ! Dolphins and caves great fun

Helpful?
Thank Babs R
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

The driver was very pleasant and tried his best to make the trip enjoyable and exciting even though we did not catch sight of any dolphins.

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

This trip is amazing we saw so many Dolphins the skipper had to travel far to find them but he was determined! The tour back down the coast was beautiful our guide was so informative he showed us everything. Would recommend this trip to everyone!!

Helpful?
Thank Sam T
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Went on the Dolphin Safari and Cave tour from Vilamoura Marina. The RIB was well maintained and we were provided with life jackets before boarding. You do get up quite a speed but unfortunately we didn't see any dolphins and they dont have any equipment for tracking/finding them. Paid 35 Euro per person for approx 2hrs and had a skipper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kel D
AlgarveXcite, Manager at Algarvexcite, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not see the dolphins we always try our up most to search for them but they are wild animals. All of our boats have GPS and VHF so we can comminicate with other boats searching for wild dolphins. All of our skippers speak fluent English, Portuguese, Basic spanish and basic french. When the rib goes... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

We took a 4hour boat trip with AlgarvExcite and really enjoyed it! The crew took excellent care of us, especially when one of our party fell seasick, and the lunch provided was delicious and nutritious! The lads were all really knowledgeable and friendly, and impressively fluent in not only English, but French and German too! Given that most Brits only... More 

Helpful?
Thank heysailor00
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Expensive trip to see caves which is not as good a cave and grotto boat trip that we did near Lagos further west. Out for miles from the coast it turned quite cold and no dolphins. We were told when we got back in there had been a number of trips that day and no dolphins. So over 2 hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank Buzleo
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

...And to be fair, Algarvexcite can't really be blamed for that. They say in their documentation that dolphin sightings are not guaranteed, and they're not - ultimately the dolphins are wild which is exactly what you want! We didn't see any, which was a shame but the company is well-run with pleasant, informative staff and a decent price point. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SianGLondon
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

Booked for 4 of us at 35 euros each, was advise Dolphins may show. the skipper took us to caves then told us there was a sighting of dolphins in a area, when we got to the area the dolphins had moved on, so we head back.....then we saw a sighting of dolphins we caught up them and was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy G
AlgarveXcite, Manager at Algarvexcite, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thank you for your review, hope to see you again next year ! Thanks Team AlgarveXcite More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing time doing the parasailing the crew were amazing and we had a great time would defo recommend! It was a great experience and the crew made it very good with jokes and interaction....

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
AlgarveXcite, Manager at Algarvexcite, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thank you for your review, hope to see you again next year ! Thanks Team AlgarveXcite More 

Travellers who viewed Algarvexcite also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Algarvexcite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Algarvexcite and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Algarvexcite staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?