We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
15Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Stuart B wrote a review Mar 2018
2 contributions
I have been to Place House Hall for the teas several times over the last few years and it never disappoints. This medieval meeting hall has a special atmosphere and together with a very interesting and long history makes for a lovely afternoon outing. The cream teas are scrumptious, very reasonably priced and all home made and you can even have a glass of Prosecco too.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
carotyr wrote a review Jan 2018
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom65 contributions28 helpful votes
Hired this venue for an event but had to send people home because it was soooooo cold. Shame as it is a truly beautiful building in a beautiful location.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from HBPT, Owner at Place House Hall
Responded 25 Jan 2018
Thank you for hiring the hall for your event and we are so sorry that you had to send people home. If you had read the "Important Information For Hirers" sheet or called the emergency telephone number we could have told you where the switch for the heating is located. As anyone who has hired the hall in the winter months will testify, the hall has extremely efficient heating.
Read more
Fouldentraveller wrote a review Jun 2017
21 contributions7 helpful votes
We visited for Father's Day and enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea in the historic surroundings. The cakes are homemade and fantastic - they even had fat free apple cake but I had to go for the scone and clotted cream....
Read more
Date of experience: June 2017
Helpful
Share
Linda T wrote a review Jun 2017
Bushey, United Kingdom189 contributions40 helpful votes
We visited Place House Hall on Fathers Day for tea. The sat nav tried to take us to the front door of this hall but it is down a small lane and there is no parking for visitors. We had to reverse back onto a busy road and on the other side of the road is a car park. It is well hidden and a real gem behind the shops. As you go through the gateway there are some quaint cottages on the left and Place House Hall is through a garden to the right. Steeped in history its an interesting place but it really does not take long to see everything. We sat down and had cream tea and home made cakes which was lovely. The ladies who provide the refreshments are friendly and helpful. We sat in the hall and were able to read the pamphlets about the garden and hall. We also took a little walk around Ware village and went into a sweet shop that sold ice cream and milkshakes that kept the kids happy.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2017
Helpful
Share
juanita b wrote a review Jul 2016
Ware, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
An interesting insight to good people who gave poor children of London education, a house with a home mother, regular food and care along with six other boys in the neighbouring cottages. Now offers morning/afternoon tea, sandwiches and cake on particular days in the then Assembly Hall.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2016
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Place House Hall