We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 28 Doctors Gully Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 8 8981 7837
Website
Fee: Yes
Description:

Visit Aquascene at high tide when hundreds of fish approach the shore to be...

Visit Aquascene at high tide when hundreds of fish approach the shore to be fed by onlookers.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.07*
and up
Darwin Afternoon Sightseeing Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 489 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 172
    Excellent
  • 166
    Very good
  • 81
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Fish feeding for the kids

High tide and thousands of fish all into the bread which is supplied for you to use. The kid was happy for over an hour finding different types of fish to feed.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
mgrocks
,
Darwin, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 479: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid $30 for 2 people to get in and all we got to do was feed some bread to fish. Could have done that anywhere for free, ads made it look like you got in water and hand fed more variety's. Boyfriend loved patting them but I wouldn't have paid that amount if I'd known that was all you get

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

High tide and thousands of fish all into the bread which is supplied for you to use. The kid was happy for over an hour finding different types of fish to feed.

Helpful?
Thank mgrocks
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you both had a great dayt :-) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its a bit pricey for what you get, but the facilities are nice and it's a well laid out area. We went on a very wet day and it was cloudy and couldn't see the fish very well. There is a person who stands up in the viewing area and explains what fish come in, and other various facts which... More 

Helpful?
Thank adambR7027KD
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

HI Adam - thanks for the feedback - it definitely has been wild wet weather this past week with the monsoon rains but glad to hear you still had an interesting day with us. More 

Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

Great place to take the kids. Make sure you take towels. They also have the most amazing marble statues ive ever seen.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki Z
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Nikki - glad you had a great time! More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Fish feeding at Doctors Gully is one of our favourite family experiences in Darwin!! We arrived with approx. 20mins to spare and most people were leaving, so we were charged half price as there wasn’t much time left- bonus. Can’t rave about the staff enough, so friendly and clearly passionate about the safety of the animals which was lovely to... More 

Helpful?
Thank BuffaloJade
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post such an informative review and we are all really glad you and your family had such a great time :-) More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I couldn't believe it cost $15 to enter. There were a lot of fish but the highlight was the cockie that let you scratch its neck. I can't see why they charge so much. A lady gave some information over a microphone which added a bit but really, go somewhere else and throw some bread in for free.

Helpful?
Thank ChillyMarlin
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't feel you got value for money - our resident cockie "Jimmy Choo" is quite a popular character. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Loved it! An abundance of bread and soooo many fish of different varieties. The staff were great and very friendly, didn't mind having a chat. Standing in the water with the fish having a nibble was an experience. Come give it a go!

Helpful?
Thank Aussie1881
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

We think it's pretty special too :-) Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience! Thanks for the feedback. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

They charge to much for what it is. The lady running the show seem a bit grumpy and spoke down to people. Better to go to the wharf for dinner and feed the fish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thanks for the feedback - we try to make everything as clear as possible - on the website, the entry itself and other media - Adults are $15 and Children and Pensioners are $10 - sorry to hear you didn't feel that you got value for money. More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

highly priced, open sea in front so I am not sure how we were protected from crocs and Jelly fish , crowded so difficult to feed the fish , even it is not easy to take photos as people keep coming in your photo range. a few fish of one type there which were very friendly, you can even touch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Syed H
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

HI Syed, The actual volume of fish that come in to feed on the tides act as a natural barrier to the jelly fish although we do still keep a close eye out at certain times of the year. You're right - It can be tricky to get photos without people in them as often we have quite a few... More 

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

If you've ever seen a fish before, then this attraction is not a 'must see' and expensive. But, if you haven't seen a fish before, then worth a visit as they come in close. We were expecting a wider variety of fish, but all just big grey ones.

Helpful?
Thank Ali B
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

There is a wide variety of fish that frequent Aquascene, the milkfish are a predominate visitor - unfortunately we have no control over what shows up on the day More 

Travellers who viewed Aquascene also viewed

 

Been to Aquascene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aquascene and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Aquascene staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?