We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour

Features Animals
Cairns, Australia
More
About Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Green Island is a tropical island paradise on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises offers full and half day reef cruises departing daily from Cairns at 9am, 11am & 1pm. Activities that are offered include snorkelling, diving, glass bottom boat and semi-submarine coral viewing tours, relaxing on the beach and exploring Green Island National Park. Transfers are by modern air-conditioned catamaran.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 06:30 - 21:00
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Overview
Discover the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park on a catamaran cruise to Green Island, a coral cay surrounded by spectacular reefs and marine life. Enjoy activities like snorkeling, relaxing in the sun, and a glass-bottom boat tour. Visit Green Island Resort to enjoy a spot on the sandy beach, with the option to add a trip beneath the surface in a semi-submersible and a buffet lunch.
981Reviews16Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 453
  • 293
  • 129
  • 70
  • 36
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephen H wrote a review Jul 2021
Greater Melbourne, Australia11 contributions11 helpful votes
Make it clear when buying on TripAdvisor link whether lunch is included as we thought it was but it wasn’t. Make the ‘option’ obvious. Island itself was lovely. Very accessible, good coral and marine life. Had to walk out 200m plus from shore before got past knee height water! Eventually got to good snorkeling and worth the effort. Thought the croc exhibit and Melanesia museum was also included but it was also an add on price so gave it a miss
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ExperienceCoCrew, Public Relations Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review - we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with regards to the additional extras available. We will take your feedback on board and will address this internally with our team to provide a better product moving forward. Thanks again :)
Read more
Jay R wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions
We recenlty went for a day trip to green island through big cat. The check in staff were very helpful and the boat was nice and clean. We booked the snorkle safari with the marine biologist and it was an incredible tour. We were taken out futher into the reef to see more coral and fish than possible closer to land it was incredible. The lunch on board was very good with a wide variety of options and large servings provided. We also took part in a glass bottom boat tour and would recommend too as it is an easy way to see more of the reef and lots of fish.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from ExperienceCoCrew, Public Relations Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review - we really appreciate it and we are so happy to hear that you had such a great time visiting Green island with us :)
Read more
wadeandnat wrote a review Jul 2021
brisbane45 contributions12 helpful votes
The seas were very rough on the day we sent our and our very sea sick daughter was well looked after by the crew. Green island itself is extremely disappointing and a very underwhelming destination - which is not the fault of this company but they may want to consider this when they are taking hundreds of people there daily for a lot of money. For 5 of us - 3 did glass bottom boat which was quite good. 2 of us chose snorkelling and it was awful. The equipment was completely had it with leaking snorkel and goggles. The reef had nothing to see - I would say too many tourists there for the past few decades. Overall a Nice company but the trip was not great.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris K, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks Wade / Nat for your feedback. I'll certainly pass on your comments to our ops team with regards to the snorkel equipment, we appreciate from time to time that the equipment can become faulty, however our team are more than happy to exchange this and run through the fitting again to ensure all is up to standard. I can assure you that Green island hosts some wonderful reef and marine life but at the same time appreciate the visibility can be heavily affected on high winds days . Thanks for your kind comments with regards to the crew and glass bottom boat tour. We appreciate you getting in touch. Regards, Chris
Read more
Peppa wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions
The boat ride itself was quiet rocky as the weather wasn't spectacular, but couldn't be helped. Once we arrived in Green Island though, the sun came out and was a nice day! However, the island itself is very small. We purchased the semi-submarine and glass bottom boat - however, only opted to do one as they were practically the same thing. Was a great experience, just a little disappointed that they were so similar, and had purchased both. Probably my fault though - I should have realised they were so similar! The pool on the island can only be used by hotel guests or great adventure customers which was a bit disappointing. We just walked around the island, and as the water was too cold did not go snorkelling. Overall, staff were very friendly and helpful - but the island itself was very disappointing. Would be ideal for families though as you can hire snorkel gear, canoes etc.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ExperienceCoCrew, Public Relations Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with regards to the island - a lot of the fun is to be had in the water so it is a shame it was too cold for you enjoy it. We get it though - nothing worse than snorkeling in cold water! The GBB and semi-sub tour are quite similar, although they both offer immersive experiences without getting wet and we are glad to hear it was a great experience regardless. We're also sorry you weren't able to access the resort facilities, unfortunately we do not control this. We hope that your next visit to Green Island is full of sunshine and warm water so you are able to enjoy everything on offer :)
Read more
Katefirmin wrote a review Jun 2021
Lake Macquarie, Australia76 contributions48 helpful votes
We booked the day cruise out to Green Island. The weather was very bad. It was very over cast and windy so the trip there was rough seas. When we arrived there was nothing to do because the tide was out so couldn’t snorkel but didn’t want to anyway as it was a cold day. There was a small pool there to use. There’s little food huts to have lunch in but super over priced. A cheeseburger was $25!! And it made me sick, the beef patty wasn’t cooked properly in the middle. The cruise company told us morning tea with coffee would served to us on board but apparently you have to order this as soon as you get on board and before the boat starts moving. We weren’t told this until after it was too late so that was pretty average! It’s a very over priced activity to do. Green island is very average looking. Blackish dirty sand, very gritty. I wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris K, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Responded 5 weeks ago
Sorry to read of your disappointment Kate, we do encourage our passengers to book our buffet lunch on board Big Cat which is served in air conditioned comfort. We have an extensive menu which is freshly prepared by one of the top restaurants in Cairns and feel this is great value at $28.00 per adult. Unfortunately, we don't own or operate the resort facilities therefore have no control over pricings for dining on the Island. With regards to morning tea and coffee, this is done at boarding as health and safety requirements don't permit us to serve hot drinks whilst moving. I do appreciate the weather conditions can play a big part of the enjoyment of your day and I'm sorry to read the weather was unfavourable on the day you travelled. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, Chris
Read more
Previous
123456